We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room”
Review of Sea Wonder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Wonder Hotel
Ranked #22 of 411 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Very large spacious room. We arrived at 2.30am and there was someone waiting for us. Breakfast was included in our price. Just average breaky but does the job. They organized a private car to hoi an for a cheaper price than a meter. Would come back and stay

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Beckybrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Good news for all travellers !!! THE FISH HAS JOINTED THE TRAVELER’S WORLD !!! Today 23.12 is the last day of Vietnamese Lunar Year. According to the local customs, people bring the best fishes to the river who will report to Heaven what had happened in the past year. The fish has been living at Sea Wonder for over 3 years and today he was assigned this serious task. From a 0.9kg litte child he became an actual mature 3.2kg boy. During the time he has met so many travelers from all over the world, sharing their joys and sorrows and emotional life experiences. From today, the fish starts a new life of freedom with exploration of the new world, joins the travelers’ world. Good luck to the fish as well as those who travel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall our stay here was fine and the staff at the hotel were very helpful.

The breakfast was fine and they also rented us a bike to get around.

Its quite close to the beach but you need transport to get to the city and resturants.

Would stay here again though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Turtleman1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014 TO EVERYBODY !!!
The new 2014 year is coming; we would like to send all travelers our best wishes, wishes of peace and joy for the New Year. Hope your staying at Sea Wonder Hotel is great and your New Year 2014 is a prosperous one. We believe that to travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries. Please try to discover all the best things and unusual things for you when travelling: accommodations, food, nature, beach, people… And New Year 2014 is a Happy Year to everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Coming from Sai Gon , I thought I could use my summer dresses on Da Nang beach...
The smile of em-An, who runs this lovely hotel, made the sun shine for me during Da Nang winter time.

The people are just friendly, the food is freshly cooked, the ginger tea keeps you warm.
I have a room with ocean view. The Sea Wonder hotel offers you a homely family feeling, not the sterile atmosphere of the standard hotel.

Walking on the lonely beach up to the Monkey montains is a delight, even if the sun does not shine. It takes about 10 minutes to get to the beach, Yes, the surrounding might not meet our ideas of a beach area, but I was just happy to be near one of the most beautiful beaches.
I could walk barefeet along the beach, was greeted by fishermen and fisherwoman, and saw hundreds of fisherboats hopping on the waves, an almost psychodelic view.

The staff took me to My Son ("beautiful mountain") by motorbike. I will never forget the beautiful monuments of the Cham people. I recommend the trip to the Cham Museum in Da Nang after having seen My Son. I am looking forward to visiting Hoi An with em-Chau, one of the friendly staff members. I could possibly take the cheap public bus and discover Hoi An all by myself, however I appreciate the insight view of the staff, who speak English fluently.

A nightly walk along the river Han is lovely (and I felt safe), with the bridges and the street lamps illuminated.
There are some nice shops on Le Duan Street in the center of Da Nang, where I got my woolen hat and a scarf for teh harsher temperatures in Ha Noi.

The Sea Wonder Hotel might be a bit off the beaten paths, but it offers the lovely scent of the ocean and the warm smile from helpful welcoming people. Da Nang beach in December might look deserted, but you don't feel like a tourist, I felt like a temporary local. As a single traveller I treasure these gifts.

Yours sincerly
Paola Rauscher
Germany

Room Tip: Take the ocean-view rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Paola – Happy New Year to you and your family. We believe that you were happy to enjoy Danang staying and My Son temples and Hoi An old houses. Actually, you are a real tourist because you felt like a local person to enjoy life. Our staff miss you and look forward to seeing again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very friendly and reliable staff, extraordinarily good service, clean room, good food and lastly close to the sea.
I also hired a motorbike from this hotel to explore danang and the area around; very cool.

This hotel is definitively worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ymbtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Yes, the staff is friendly and helpful and the room is of good size. There are a couple of good (seafood) restaurants nearby.
The location is not the best, being far away from the city center and about 1km from the beach. While I stayed there construction work was going on close by and you could hear every word spoken in the lobby. The bathroom is clean but there is an ugly smell coming out of the drains and there's barely enough hot water to shave and take a shower afterwards. The breakfast is poor, coffee instant. The view from the room is very depressing.
#1 on TripAdvisor? Not for me!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear R Gene: ___
Yes, we are #1 for travellers on TripAdvisor for Danang B&B and Inn from 2012 until now, and we have tried our best to meet all comers with our open heart.
We are an average 2-star hotel, not more. That’s why our room rate is very low, just $12-14 for a private double room, $8-10 for one bed in spectacular doms to all traverlers around the world . We serve high-quality Europen standard breakfast, included in these low room rates, and offer a huge options on Vietnamese and western meals. Even some western guests can cook by themself for relax in our kitchen for free. You can enjoy also some homemade local specialities, lunch/dinner with staff, exploring local market and cooking lessons at a small amount extra payment. For standard breakfast drink we serve and instant Nestle café or instant Vietnamese G7 black coffee, Lipton tea, Vietnamese homemade green tea …, the same things that are regularly offered in even 5-star hotels. Furthermore we serve very good and tasty Vietnamese coffee on request. And you are not happy !!!
We serve at very low price rooms of good size (too large) and very clean. Our staff is friendly and helpful, all of them are English-speaking and always try to hepl you without any extra money. And you are not happy !!!
We knew that you had checked and seen a lot of hotels in Danang by motorbike. That’s why we were happy to wellcome you back after your carefull checking and seeing several rooms in our hotel and more than a halfday driving to see many other hotels nearby. You came back to our hotel to stay because it was your best choice for its location, room rate, condition and view ... And you are not happy ?
We are about 300-350m (please check google map) from My Khe beach, which is among the 6 most luxurious beaches in the world according to US Forbes magazin. You can relax with in its tropical air, sun and breeze, beautiful long wide sandy beaches, dark blue water and wide roads. You can walk 1.2km to Danang city center to enjoy exciting life of Danang city. Some our travellers even walked with backpacks from airport to Sea Wonder hotel (5km) and they were happy. You are very easy to go around all day on your motobike. And your are not happy !!!
Danang is a peacefull and beautifull city with beaches, mountaints and nature. People here are very polite and always friently to you without any care about your money. Open your mind and heart, epxplore best things in life instead of paying attention only to false things. And we are sure you will be happy then. Good luck to you.

Kim An – Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the fact it was no.1 on trip advisor and spent two nights here. To be honest I struggle to understand how it has got to that position. The rooms are spacious although the bath in our room didn't work (plug broken) along with a shower that sprayed everywhere. We seemed to have a strange adjoining door to the next room which was somewhat unnerving. The inclusive Breakfast is served between 6.30-8.30, so get up early. I can't eat eggs so was stuck when it came to the all egg choice. I explained and tried to ask for just toast with some beans but was told no. There is no point looking at the main menu as they only seem to serve five dishes and will deny everything else. Our room was serviced then left unlocked which we didn't appreciate as I left ipad and money in there. We rented a scooter which broke and we had to push back. The staff seem pleasant enough but nothing amazing at all. They also have the a huge sad looking fish in a tank no where near big enough for him to even turn around. Every time I entered the hotel I felt miserable looking at him. We were also lied to about the cost of the public bus to hoi an - 120,000 when we know it was 18,000. Then offered a car to hoi an for 400,000, we agreed as we were stuck in torrential rain, and later found out you can get cars for cheaper than this. We were told it was impossible to get cheaper. Look at taxidanang . net
We were woken on the morning we were due to leave for hoi an to be told hoi an was severely flooded and barely accessible. To their credit they rang our hotel in hoi an to confirm this. However, we were charged 100,000 dong out of our 400,000 to cancel the taxi, as the driver 'had already left to travel to da nang from hoi an)...which was meant to be flooded?

Also....ONLY Stay here if the weather is good as there is literally nothing to do if it rains....everywhere seems to shut! If it's forecast rain stay in the city, river side

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaWonderManager, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Genny,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We understand that bad weather make people bad feeling and bad looking around. Unfortunately, you stayed at Sea Wonder right after super-typhoon Haiyan and strong flood. It was so bad.
Regarding breakfast: We are very sorry that we don’t have spare beans to serve in breakfast for you. We try to serve the best breakfast for most of travelers. In time from 6.30AM to 9.00AM (in some cases to 11.00AM if reserved earlier, but not after mid day) we serve standard breakfast including in very limited room rate: 2-4 toasted bread, 2-3 eggs at any style with tomato, cucumber and veggie, Anchor butter, Nescafe and Lipton tea at any style. We also serve other meals but you have to pay extra. Please understand that for your $14-room for 2 persons, you just have to pay less than $5 for person for 2-star accommodation after breakfasts.
Regarding accommodation: You are right that our hotel accommodation is average, because we are not 5-star. But we try our best to maintain very clean room in spectra area with clean amenities. All of our pillow cases and towels in your rooms are carefully washed by hand. After your feedback, we have fixed technical in bathroom. We probably can serve you better if you just let us know immediately if something wrong, not after leaving. We have also asked housekeeping to lock rooms immediately after cleaning, sometimes they forgot it just because your property is very safe in our hotel.
Regarding Danang-Hoian transportation: We think that something is misunderstanding. Actually, you can go to Hoian by public bus for 18,000VND, and then you have walk 3km to Hoian center from bus station. It’s a good experience if you prefer to joint local people in this bus. But if you use a tourist bus, the cost is higher than the public. The most expensive and deluxe service is taxi from Danang to Hoian, officially from 400 to 450,000VND depend on taxi providers. The service offered in your website is not licensed taxi even under taxi-name. We very sorry that in your case, you asked to order a private car from Hoian hotel to Danang to pick you up. Our receptionist carefully confirmed with you before they send the car, and they have to run 2-way 60km under your request just for your $5 (100,000VND) is not a big matter.
We always try our best to make Sea Wonder your home, and we need co-operation and understanding from every travelers. Open your mind. Let us know if you are not happy in somethings. We try to settle and fix them.
Good news for everyone that our big fish is very happy this week. Some travelers came to look and smile with him, so he even tried to jump from the tank and have some shows.
We hope you come to us again in any weather. Come to us with your smile, and you’’ll see happy fish in a very friendly hotel.

Kim An - Customer Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Quiet street for quiet evenings, 2 blocks from the Beach. The staff will make it so you don't want to leave. We will be returning on this trip and look forward to seeing our friends. The rooms are nice and good value and the shower is plenty hot and powerful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Girdwood_AlaskaSgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Girdwood,
We hope you and your brother have met the New Year at home after unforgettable trip to Vietnam. We have learned that recently Hercules storm makes big damages to American territory, especially to Alaska area. We wonder if the storm makes any bad impacts to your family. Let us know. All of us miss you and wish you a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
2.1 mi away
Hava Hotel
Hava Hotel
#80 of 291 in Da Nang
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dang Ha Hotel
Dang Ha Hotel
#23 of 411 in Da Nang
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mango Hotel
Mango Hotel
#30 of 411 in Da Nang
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Touch Danang Hostel
Touch Danang Hostel
#18 of 301 in Da Nang
21 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Danang Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Wonder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Wonder Hotel

Address: G55-56, An Cu 3, An Hai Bac, Son Tra, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range: $10 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Wonder Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Wonder Hotel Danang is located in the heart of Son Tra peninsula, a fragile gem in beautiful Danang, looking over the Mykhe beach, one of the six most luxurious beaches in the world according to the US-based Forbes Magazine. Sea Wonder Hotel Danang is a modern 30-room accomadation which is equipped with excellent facilities consistent with international standards for a 2-star hotel. Interior decoration, lodging, restaurant facilities, IDD telephone and in-room wifi internet, guest services reflect our motto: "The best seaside hotel for travelers". The hotel is conveniently located for travel and business, only 5km from the Danang internaitonal airport and the railway station, and 1.5km from the city center. The located area is very attractive with the beautiful beach which is able to reach in short distance walking & the surrounding is safe for any personal outdoor activity. Just by short driving from Sea Wonder Hotel Danang, you can get to four UNESCO-listed World Heritage Sites: The former imperial city of Hue (2 hours), the ancient 'Silk Road' trading port of Hoian (30 minutes), the spiritual centre of the Champa civilization, Myson (90 minutes) and the mystical Phong Nha Caves in Quang Binh province (4 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Wonder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing