We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average - not more”
Review of Sea Wonder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Wonder Hotel
Ranked #18 of 385 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Eusserthal, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“average - not more”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Yes, the staff is friendly and helpful and the room is of good size. There are a couple of good (seafood) restaurants nearby.
The location is not the best, being far away from the city center and about 1km from the beach. While I stayed there construction work was going on close by and you could hear every word spoken in the lobby. The bathroom is clean but there is an ugly smell coming out of the drains and there's barely enough hot water to shave and take a shower afterwards. The breakfast is poor, coffee instant. The view from the room is very depressing.
#1 on TripAdvisor? Not for me!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear R Gene: ___
Yes, we are #1 for travellers on TripAdvisor for Danang B&B and Inn from 2012 until now, and we have tried our best to meet all comers with our open heart.
We are an average 2-star hotel, not more. That’s why our room rate is very low, just $12-14 for a private double room, $8-10 for one bed in spectacular doms to all traverlers around the world . We serve high-quality Europen standard breakfast, included in these low room rates, and offer a huge options on Vietnamese and western meals. Even some western guests can cook by themself for relax in our kitchen for free. You can enjoy also some homemade local specialities, lunch/dinner with staff, exploring local market and cooking lessons at a small amount extra payment. For standard breakfast drink we serve and instant Nestle café or instant Vietnamese G7 black coffee, Lipton tea, Vietnamese homemade green tea …, the same things that are regularly offered in even 5-star hotels. Furthermore we serve very good and tasty Vietnamese coffee on request. And you are not happy !!!
We serve at very low price rooms of good size (too large) and very clean. Our staff is friendly and helpful, all of them are English-speaking and always try to hepl you without any extra money. And you are not happy !!!
We knew that you had checked and seen a lot of hotels in Danang by motorbike. That’s why we were happy to wellcome you back after your carefull checking and seeing several rooms in our hotel and more than a halfday driving to see many other hotels nearby. You came back to our hotel to stay because it was your best choice for its location, room rate, condition and view ... And you are not happy ?
We are about 300-350m (please check google map) from My Khe beach, which is among the 6 most luxurious beaches in the world according to US Forbes magazin. You can relax with in its tropical air, sun and breeze, beautiful long wide sandy beaches, dark blue water and wide roads. You can walk 1.2km to Danang city center to enjoy exciting life of Danang city. Some our travellers even walked with backpacks from airport to Sea Wonder hotel (5km) and they were happy. You are very easy to go around all day on your motobike. And your are not happy !!!
Danang is a peacefull and beautifull city with beaches, mountaints and nature. People here are very polite and always friently to you without any care about your money. Open your mind and heart, epxplore best things in life instead of paying attention only to false things. And we are sure you will be happy then. Good luck to you.

Kim An – Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
29
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the fact it was no.1 on trip advisor and spent two nights here. To be honest I struggle to understand how it has got to that position. The rooms are spacious although the bath in our room didn't work (plug broken) along with a shower that sprayed everywhere. We seemed to have a strange adjoining door to the next room which was somewhat unnerving. The inclusive Breakfast is served between 6.30-8.30, so get up early. I can't eat eggs so was stuck when it came to the all egg choice. I explained and tried to ask for just toast with some beans but was told no. There is no point looking at the main menu as they only seem to serve five dishes and will deny everything else. Our room was serviced then left unlocked which we didn't appreciate as I left ipad and money in there. We rented a scooter which broke and we had to push back. The staff seem pleasant enough but nothing amazing at all. They also have the a huge sad looking fish in a tank no where near big enough for him to even turn around. Every time I entered the hotel I felt miserable looking at him. We were also lied to about the cost of the public bus to hoi an - 120,000 when we know it was 18,000. Then offered a car to hoi an for 400,000, we agreed as we were stuck in torrential rain, and later found out you can get cars for cheaper than this. We were told it was impossible to get cheaper. Look at taxidanang . net
We were woken on the morning we were due to leave for hoi an to be told hoi an was severely flooded and barely accessible. To their credit they rang our hotel in hoi an to confirm this. However, we were charged 100,000 dong out of our 400,000 to cancel the taxi, as the driver 'had already left to travel to da nang from hoi an)...which was meant to be flooded?

Also....ONLY Stay here if the weather is good as there is literally nothing to do if it rains....everywhere seems to shut! If it's forecast rain stay in the city, river side

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaWonderManager, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Genny,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We understand that bad weather make people bad feeling and bad looking around. Unfortunately, you stayed at Sea Wonder right after super-typhoon Haiyan and strong flood. It was so bad.
Regarding breakfast: We are very sorry that we don’t have spare beans to serve in breakfast for you. We try to serve the best breakfast for most of travelers. In time from 6.30AM to 9.00AM (in some cases to 11.00AM if reserved earlier, but not after mid day) we serve standard breakfast including in very limited room rate: 2-4 toasted bread, 2-3 eggs at any style with tomato, cucumber and veggie, Anchor butter, Nescafe and Lipton tea at any style. We also serve other meals but you have to pay extra. Please understand that for your $14-room for 2 persons, you just have to pay less than $5 for person for 2-star accommodation after breakfasts.
Regarding accommodation: You are right that our hotel accommodation is average, because we are not 5-star. But we try our best to maintain very clean room in spectra area with clean amenities. All of our pillow cases and towels in your rooms are carefully washed by hand. After your feedback, we have fixed technical in bathroom. We probably can serve you better if you just let us know immediately if something wrong, not after leaving. We have also asked housekeeping to lock rooms immediately after cleaning, sometimes they forgot it just because your property is very safe in our hotel.
Regarding Danang-Hoian transportation: We think that something is misunderstanding. Actually, you can go to Hoian by public bus for 18,000VND, and then you have walk 3km to Hoian center from bus station. It’s a good experience if you prefer to joint local people in this bus. But if you use a tourist bus, the cost is higher than the public. The most expensive and deluxe service is taxi from Danang to Hoian, officially from 400 to 450,000VND depend on taxi providers. The service offered in your website is not licensed taxi even under taxi-name. We very sorry that in your case, you asked to order a private car from Hoian hotel to Danang to pick you up. Our receptionist carefully confirmed with you before they send the car, and they have to run 2-way 60km under your request just for your $5 (100,000VND) is not a big matter.
We always try our best to make Sea Wonder your home, and we need co-operation and understanding from every travelers. Open your mind. Let us know if you are not happy in somethings. We try to settle and fix them.
Good news for everyone that our big fish is very happy this week. Some travelers came to look and smile with him, so he even tried to jump from the tank and have some shows.
We hope you come to us again in any weather. Come to us with your smile, and you’’ll see happy fish in a very friendly hotel.

Kim An - Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Quiet street for quiet evenings, 2 blocks from the Beach. The staff will make it so you don't want to leave. We will be returning on this trip and look forward to seeing our friends. The rooms are nice and good value and the shower is plenty hot and powerful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Girdwood_AlaskaSgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim An N, Manager at Sea Wonder Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Girdwood,
We hope you and your brother have met the New Year at home after unforgettable trip to Vietnam. We have learned that recently Hercules storm makes big damages to American territory, especially to Alaska area. We wonder if the storm makes any bad impacts to your family. Let us know. All of us miss you and wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I extended my initial booking and was happy to do so.
Sea Wonder is a good, low budget, friendly hotel where the staff will ensure your stay is happy and comfortable. It is close to the beach but further from the city. There are some local restaurants close by but it is essentially in a quiet street.
The hotel will organise motorbike rental, or anything for that matter.
A half-day city tour is worthwhile and enjoyable.
Decent breakfast is included, including local options, and other meals are available to order from a menu at any time.
The delightful Ms Thuy will take your order, cook your meal, and deliver it to your table... all with a lovely smile.
If there is a problem, the staff will attend to it.
The manager (owner) lives on the premises and also offers friendly conversation. Most speak very good English.
The rooms are big and airy and, most importantly, kept very clean.
I think "cheap and cheerful" sums it up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nostratamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a late flight from Saigon before moving on to Hoi An the following day. We arrived pretty late and they offered to cook us up some food as there were not any restaurants close by. The staff were full of information and advised us to get up early for sunrise at the beach which was about a 5 minute walk away.

The room was clean and had everything you need.

The only disadvantages to staying here is that you are away from the centre of Danang so feel a little isolated. Next time I stayed in Danang I would probably stay somewhere in the centre of town near the river, but if you want something near the beach and you are on a budget than this is the BEST choice.

Can't fault it apart from location, and that is just a personal preference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust_Tarrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the best value hotel ie ever stayed in. Locate about a 7 minute walk to the beach ad local bars. About 60,000 dong intown. Hotel will arrange taxis quickly do you. Rooms are big and clean. Toilets clean and very powerful shower. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Worth a stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

very good staff helped me a lot with my traveling to the next destination. when I asked at the receptionist Ì they could get me a scooter to the trainstainon they ofer themself that that they will take me thêre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thuy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofia Boutique Hotel Da Nang
1.2 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
0.3 mi away
Hoang Sa Hotel
Hoang Sa Hotel
#56 of 274 in Da Nang
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hadana Boutique Hotel
Hadana Boutique Hotel
#9 of 274 in Da Nang
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
New Hotel Da Nang
New Hotel Da Nang
#27 of 274 in Da Nang
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cali Hotel Da Nang
Cali Hotel Da Nang
#13 of 385 in Da Nang
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Wonder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Wonder Hotel

Property: Sea Wonder Hotel
Address: G55-56, An Cu 3, An Hai Bac, Son Tra, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 385 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Wonder Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Wonder Hotel Danang is located in the heart of Son Tra peninsula, a fragile gem in beautiful Danang, looking over the Mykhe beach, one of the six most luxurious beaches in the world according to the US-based Forbes Magazine. Sea Wonder Hotel Danang is a modern 30-room accomadation which is equipped with excellent facilities consistent with international standards for a 2-star hotel. Interior decoration, lodging, restaurant facilities, IDD telephone and in-room wifi internet, guest services reflect our motto: "The best seaside hotel for travelers". The hotel is conveniently located for travel and business, only 5km from the Danang internaitonal airport and the railway station, and 1.5km from the city center. The located area is very attractive with the beautiful beach which is able to reach in short distance walking & the surrounding is safe for any personal outdoor activity. Just by short driving from Sea Wonder Hotel Danang, you can get to four UNESCO-listed World Heritage Sites: The former imperial city of Hue (2 hours), the ancient 'Silk Road' trading port of Hoian (30 minutes), the spiritual centre of the Champa civilization, Myson (90 minutes) and the mystical Phong Nha Caves in Quang Binh province (4 hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sea Wonder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing