We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful course to play on with fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montgomerie Links

Montgomerie Links
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful course to play on with fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We played on this course twice whilst staying in Hoi An. The course is extremely well maintained and wonderful to play on. The course fits well with the natural landscape and the facilities are of a very high standard. As one can imagine there are numerous bunkers and the course is very rewarding for the straight hitter. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the caddies some of the best we have had whilst playing golf around Vietnam. We used the same caddies on our second day of playing and had a lot of fun with them and learning a little Vietnamese at the same time. We would highly recommend playing at this course whilst in Hoi An. We certainly can't wait to get back and play again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomerielinks, Manager at Montgomerie Links, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Nic H

Thanks so much for posting your comments , we are very pleased that you had great time with us and that you enjoyed the overall experience. I have taken your positive comments regards our caddies and passed them on to the Caddy Master who will certainly use it as postive reinforcement in further training. Once again thank you for taking the time to post and we wish you good luck and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Taylor Murphy
Director of Golf
Montgomerie Links Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    58
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Golf Expierience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were two guys on holiday with our wifes, found the course on the web site during our holiday planning. Had a very enjoyable experience on the first occassion that we played again 2 days later. The course was in excellent condition, caddies knew their distances,and had a good sense of humour ( Aussie style ) . The club house facilities are 5 star including change rooms, bar and meals. Found all staff to be friendly and aproachable, we found the cost was very reasonable for the 18 holes including hire clubs, caddie and golf cart.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomerielinks, Manager at Montgomerie Links, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Glen D

I would like to thank you for your comments on your recent visit here with us, we are very pleased to note that you had a great time and chose to play a second time with us on your recent holiday. I am very pleased to here that not only were you happy with the golf course and caddies but also chose to use our restauraunt, its a great place to sit and relax after golf and watch the players coming up the 18 hole here at Montgomerie links. We hope that you may have the chance to vist again in the not to distant future and again thank you for your positive comments.

Taylor Murphy
Director of Golf
Montgomerie Links Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were group of 5 and stayed "stay and play golf package for 4 nights and 5 days"

1. Golf Course : Both Green and fairway are well maintained and it is no doubt that one of top class course in the region.
2. Caddie : no other option but to use as it is course policy. However, they are quite friendly and helpful. I saw many caddies are under training in the driving range by course management and i am sure that it will enhance reputation of club as well.
3.Pool villa : it was beyond my and my family's expectation. it looks quite brand-new and well maintained. quite roomy and cleaness of villa and pool is superb!!!
4.Club house restaurant : I can not say the menu is variety but they do have reasonable selection for vietnamese, Korean and other western cuisine.
5. location : it is middle in betwween Danang downtown and Hoi an. it will be great If there are more frequent shuttle service for both direction. Especially for guests stayed in the villa.
6. staff : All the staff in the club are so freindly and supportive. I would like to thank to villa operation team led by Ms. Hang and special thanks to Ms. Lich

Overall : I can not say this is in-expensive considering the price of Vietnam area. However, it is for sure worth to pay it both for playing golf and staying pool villa with the great hospitality from the staff as well!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SangminHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Resort course golf at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were a group of 28 playing Montgomerie Links twice but ended up playing it a third time because of the condition of the greens at Danang.

I thought this course was a really good resort course. Quality of the fairways and greens was good. The course itself from the members tees (not the back ones) was eminently playable with fairly generous landing areas but good bunkering around the greens making approach shots something to think about.

The caddies were, in general, reasonably good and most of our guys booked the same caddies for all three rounds. If you are playing more than one round this is a good idea that allows you to get to know them and their lives a little better.

The locker room facilities are great, practice range terrific and the beer is icy cold!

Just be careful what time of the year you visit because we did find the heat and humidity to be quite oppressive when we toured from May 3-10. thank goodness for the cold towels every four holes!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Colin 'Sandy' Montgomerie, as he shall now be known”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were a group of six who had booked 3 days golf, playing Danang Golf Club, Laguna Loc and The Montgomerie Links. So it was Faldo versus Norman, versus Montogomerie!
And perhaps, unlike in past history Montgomerie came out tops - just.

I think we also had the distinct advantage of coming on a weekday, when it was extremely hot, so the course was pretty much empty which we didn't feel rushed to make our tee time and also there were more than enough staff to get us ready for the game and make sure we followed the system.

the course itself seemed extremely well maintained and in pretty pristine condition. The bunkers look great in the pictures - less so if you keep finding yourself in them! Why I shall now refer to my fellow countryman as 'Sandy' Montgomerie. We were all 12- 20 handicappers and some of the tough pin positions tied in with the tough bunkers to make it a pretty damn challenging course : but yet still extremely enjoyable.

I think with all the 3 course the standard of Caddy might be a little bit of a lottery - all of our players had mixed reviews - though at the Montgomerie we though the general standards were a little higher. The level of English wasn't the main factor - rather the level of experience and expertise - as the good caddie doesn't necessarily have to communicate too much info - just a little -accurately.

Ours were generally very sweet and pretty clued in.

Prices - well, easy to check out before you go, so surprised that people are surprised here? We booked ours through a Golf Tour Group and it clearly stated that though green fees and caddy fees were included in price - Buggy rental and Caddy tips were extra (though regarded as pretty much obligatory) Buggy: say US35 and tip $10 -$20.

All in all we had a really great day. And will definitely come again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomerie Links also viewed

Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Montgomerie Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing