We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but not amazing”
Review of Mango Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mango Hotel
Ranked #35 of 346 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Decent but not amazing”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I think 4-5 rating for this place is a bit over the top - too many people rating an ok place where nothing went wrong as being outstanding!
Staff were friendly, but weren't all that great at proactively advising about things - e.g. they didn't tell us about where/when breakfast was, until we asked on the 2nd day. When we got to the breakfast room (in the "Grand Mango Hotel" 2 doors down), it appeared to be just a buffet and the two staff working there didn't say anything... it wasn't until the third day that we asked about whether anything else was available, as we saw other people eating an omelette.
The aircon filter in the room was filthy and causing the aircon to make a lot of noise (I cleaned it myself to make it quiet).
Be careful about which room you get - booking through Agoda we got a rear-facing one with a tiny little window high up, so the room was quite dark.
The location quality depends what you're after. The beach is just across the road, there is an Aussie bar a couple of doors down, an expensive seafood restaurant across the road, and a cheaper restaurant next door to that. That's it though - if you want any more action, you need to get a cab or ride a scooter.
Speaking about scooters, that and the laundry are overpriced here. They charged us 200,000dong per day for an old automatic scooter (which they replaced on the 2nd day - it didn't feel safe - didn't want to ride in a straight line!), price other places seemed to be half that. Their laundry is charged like top-end hotels, on a per item basis, which would make for a VERY expensive load of washing. Everywhere else in Vietnam charges $1/kilo.

Room Tip: If you don't want a dark room with one tiny little window you can't see out of, make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
29
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The beach is just around the corner and a very easy walk, very convenient. The beach is absolutely amazing with warm water, soft sand and nice, but not overwhelming surf.
Budget food is a bit further away and might require some walking.

The room was fairly nice with a refrigerator, closet, bedside table, chairs and a coffee table. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. The room was stocked with some reasonably priced snacks and a tea kettle.

The staff was genuinely friendly and eager to help, but not very aware of guest temperament as the receptionist tried to have an in depth conversation with us about leaving as we arrived very tired and stressed from a 15 hour overnight train. They are able to arrange fairly priced transport into Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mango for two days when we visited Hoi An.The Hotel is only a short taxi away.I had asked prior to our visit if we could have a room with a sea view.When we arrived We were given a front facing room on the 5th floor and it was amazing with a panoramic view of china beach.This for an extra 5 dollars which was an absolute bargain.The staff at the Hotel were brilliant nothing being too much trouble for them.Breakfast at the new Grand Mango a couple of doors away was very good which added to the Hotels amazing value.The hotel is yards from the beach and a nearby Hotel served excellent food.All in all would definately recommend the Mango.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tounsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was clean, had hot water, AC. It was a great place to stay on the beach. There are a few options for food and there is a street food vendor that sets up shop on the corner during dinner time. Other than that you'll have to walk about 10 minutes to get to a strip with restaurants, cafe's and karaoke! It is pretty far outside of the city center (10k) so if you are looking for something closer to all of the action, this is not it. I loved the location because it was nice to wake up early, take a nice jog on the beach and exercise with all of the locals. The beach is bustling at 6am and 6pm. The rest of the day its pretty empty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayded44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly & helpful. The place is very clean. It's right beside beach,literally 20 yards.There is a super restaurant on the corner nearby,the Chu Inn I think it is. On the downside the ATM is about 25 miuutes walk away so bring cash. Also the cleaners will be cleaning iin the morning so doon't expect to be abe to sleep-in! It's the perfect place to stay if you just want to check out the amazing beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

First of all, the value of the room was great. Not even comparable to anything nearby. Only $22 for private bed and bath.

Location is good- IF YOU WANT TO BE BEAR BEACH. There are tons of hotels a little uptown in city center, where most of the nightlife, shopping, and restaurants are- but that's only about a five min motorbike/taxi away. It's nice and quiet here, still near a few bars and eateries, and ACROSS the the street from beach- which was our ideal spot.

The customer service was amazing. The receptionist hooked us up with an all-day bike rental for less than 10 bucks. They delivered the bike to the hotel and everything. She gave us great advice on where to go, what to do, what to eat,
Etc- making the best of our 24 hours here in danang. She also arranged our transport to Hoi An afterwards.

There's free wifi- that's fast and password-free, and works throughout hotel, not only lobby.

Rooms are small, simple, but clean with all essentials- kind of like the whole hotel. It's a tiny place, nothing over the top about it- but has everything you need for a one-two night stay.

Overall, great value for beachfront place. Perfect for quiet stay, away from the busy city center. But easily accessible at any time (we went out there all night).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the mango hotel in November 2012 for 3 nights whilst we were travelling the coast from Hanoi to saigon, and we really enjoyed our stay here..

The hotel is a stone's throw away from my khe beach, which seems to be in the process of being an up and coming area.

Although there is the beach to spend time relaxing, there isn't a lot to do in surrounding area..

However, the hotel hire scooters/motorbikes at a v.reasonable rates and this opens the door for it to be quite a convenient location...(all the roads around danang and even down to hoi an are in great condition!)

We hired a scooter for 2 1/2 days and with the help from one of the staff at the mango hotel, (thanks, Ly!) who was incredibly kind and helpfull and spent as much time as we liked, patiently explaining what there is to do and see, we were able to make day trips to Hoi an (18miles/40mins/ just follow the coastal road) and then on the next day we rode to My son temples (33miles/1hr 40mins) managing to get there and back using a piece of paper that Ly had written for us in Vietnamese, reading "please can you point me in the direction of My Son" and then the opposite with Danang to get back, (also with the help of a lot of typically friendly Vietnamese people who found it very funny) we made it there and back all within the day! Then biking 10mins down the coastal road to see the Marble Mountain on our last half day.... All 3 are all well worth seeing!!!
There is also Hue, which is further up the coast, but that is a a bit further, but is still a possibility if you was prepared to set off early!

I would say it was how helpful the staff were at this hotel that really made our stay so enjoyable, but the rooms are really clean, rooms are cleaned daily and everything is to a high standard, the rooms also include breakfast! :-)
if you are looking for something that is more mid-range, there is always their sister hotel 'the grand mango' that is next door...

Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
1.5 mi away
Hoang Sa Hotel
Hoang Sa Hotel
#58 of 255 in Da Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Mango Hotel Danang
Grand Mango Hotel Danang
#42 of 255 in Da Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.0 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#114 of 255 in Da Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dragon Sea Hotel
Dragon Sea Hotel
#76 of 255 in Da Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lion Sea Hotel
Lion Sea Hotel
#155 of 255 in Da Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Castle 2 Hotel
Sea Castle 2 Hotel
#59 of 255 in Da Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Hotel

Property: Mango Hotel
Address: 50 An Thuong 1, My Khe Beach | Ngu Hanh Son District, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Hotel located right at My Khe Beach, just 2 minutes walks to the most beautiful beach of the world. Ideal location for travelers who are looking for a base to visit three world heritages. Just 1/2 hour to Hoi An Ancient Town, 45 minutes to My Son Holyland or 2 hour drive to Hue Citadel. Mango Hotel offers wide range of service including tours, airport/train/bus tickets, money exchange, motorbike/car rental...Well-furnished rooms with free wifi entire the hotel with great service together with our smiles will make your stay memorable and comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing