We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Son Tra Resort & Spa
Ranked #68 of 286 Specialty Lodging in Da Nang
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ended up staying in Da Nang after our travel plans went a bit awry and, after a stay in a cheap place off China Beach my sister and I hired a moped and came across Son Tra resort. We dropped in on the off chance of somewhere to stay on our last night in the area and the receptionist was amazingly helpful. She spoke excellent English and offered us a sea view villa for the price of an ocean view villa and further discounted it as there were only 2 of us staying.

We couldn't have asked for more - huge space inside the villa with all modcons and the view was breathtaking - right over China Beach and the giant Buddah on Monkey Mountain. The private pool was a bonus and we pretty much had the beach to ourselves (possibly down to the fact that it wasn't overly sunny). We did think that the discounts were due to the resort being fairly vacant but the next day at breakfast there were quite a few people there. Speaking of, this was one of the best breakfasts we'd experienced in Vietnam with a huge choice of pretty much anything you can think of.

We'd originally tried to get into another resort on Monkey Mountain but were so glad that they were rude enough to make us move on and find this place. It was a one-off luxury that most travellers won't justify spending out on but for one night of comfort and luxury we thought it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

The 2 storied villas are very spacious. Bedrooms are downstairs, so they are cooler. One bedroom with a kingsize bed, and one with two singles. Excellent for our family with two boys. Each bedroom and the living room has TV. We had a beachfront villa: below our villa we could hear the waves breaking on the big boulders, a very relaxing sound. Great to have a private pool and a shadowy terrace with a thatched roof. Sun terrace for tanning activists was also available ;-)
The seaview is really nice, and we could also see the big statue of the Son Tra Buddha from our terrace.
Our vegan oil-free breakfast options were met by some salad choices and veggies, bread and juices, sometimes by veggie & noodles. After a few veganized breakfasts and dinners the kitchen staff volunteered to make us special breakfasts - so nice.
Our sons liked to play beach volleybal (balls & net provided) and looking for sea shells on the beach and in the sea (bring your goggles!).
There are several standard trips available, but they were too long for our boys (aged 8 and 9). We decided to have a car and driver for half a day, costing about 60 USD. We went to Hoi An, an amazing old town, and we visited the big Buddha at Son Tra peninsula.
We stayed at Son Tra Villas for 5 nights - before and after we spent a few nights in Ho Chi Minh City (Norfolk Mansion) to give us a nice balance of city and sea.
For each flight we arranged hotel pickups from the airport, to make family travel a lot easier.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront villa for an amazing view and the relaxing sound of the waves breaking on the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nienkedepienke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

First the good: The beach is really great! Private with very small waves so the kids can easily play right at the shore. The private villa pool (Ocean Front Villa #110) was no more than 25’ from the ocean and great fun for the entire family. The small waves are easily heard from the bedrooms when going to sleep. The villa has two nice size rooms with one king and two twin beds. The view from every room is really fantastic. The small kitchen and medium size fridge were great for making snacks and sandwiches but was not really adequate to cook a real meal. The staff was very friendly with great English spoken by the front office manager. The breakfast buffet was pretty decent although the breakfast was often not completely set up until about an hour after the posted start time. Pho’ was served at every breakfast and there was a wide range of fruit and eggs cooked to order.
Ok – now the down side. The first unit we checked into (Villa #108) smelled so bad (Mildew) we had to change. In fact we were planning to check out and go the Hyatt (Much more $) but the front office manager who was delightful lead us over to look at two other villas (110 and 111). Both were nicer (Much better room layout and much larger ocean front pools) and had no mildew smell. Internet was sporadic the entire time we were here but active enough for our needs.
The place must have been spectacular when it was built but I’m afraid that without some serious investment and expert hotel management staff this hideaway will continue to fall into disrepair. Preventive maintenance is just not adequately being completed.
So while we really did love our stay, I’m afraid we will not be returning or recommending the property to our friends. Who knows – perhaps they will be able to improve the maintenance and bring the villa’s back to an acceptable level. If it is a very relaxing stay with an amazing beach and you don’t get too worked up about the details then definitely check out Son Tra. If you want 5 (Or even 4) star service, I don’t think you’ll be happy here. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Villas 110 and 111 seemed to have the best room layout and the ocean front pools are larger with gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom ocean view (no ocean view that i could see) villa through agoda. It was a nice, huge apartment, with its own plunge pool (with dead bugs floating in it, it didn't really appeal). How disappointed we were to be told "sorry you can only use one of the two bedrooms. To use an extra bed will cost usd$35 roughly. So my daughter and I slept top and tail, hubby in other bed, whilst just through another door was a nice bed we would have loved to use but honesty remains our policy. It seemed very odd though and I'm still scratching my head over the logic. Restaurant not very good. Daughter chose French fries from menu... they didnt have, pizza? They didn't have. Mocktail? Sorry we have run out of grenadine. Brekky, great Asian selection. Nothing appealing for westerners. Nice small clean beach to swim at. Deck chairs all broken and sad looking. Pool in front of restaurant very small. Taxis on hand to go to danang town if you want. This place could really be something. Just Needs some attention.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A nice quiet resort, about 30 minutes drive from Da Nang Airport. We stayed only a few days after chinese new year so it was obvious they were low on staff. Half an hour to make a cocktail is a bit long.. and dinner even longer. The villas were spacious and the day spa was relaxing and the massages were fantastic.

After requesting a late checkout (past 12pm) was denied (which is fine, they had more guests coming) and being woken up at 6AM for a "room inspection" with a knock on our BEDROOM door (they were already inside our villa).. I was left a bit speechless.

Beautiful location, quiet beach, close to the giant buddha statue (which you can see at night, what a sight!) - the stay was a nice relaxing stop during our vietnam trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised to find such a nice peaceful uncrowded jewel of a resort not far from the hustle and bustle of Da Nang City. The management and employees at this location took very good care of us and fulfilled our every needs. The staff is very professional and helpful. The food in the restaurant is exceptional and of great variety The villas are modern and comfortable with all of the features of a private condominium. The private pool and outside cabana provide a perfect place to relax. Thank so much Ms. Hanh to you and all your staff. I'll see you next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieMooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Son Tra has changed hands and is gradually deteriorating.
For most; there are NO stores, not a single one. No Pharmacy, no restaurant ... no nothing. There is ONE small extremely overpriced restaurant, specially for Vietnamese standard up the hill from Son Tra. It is a climb and specially with little children, it becomes too much. The resort advises to take a taxi instead of climbing up as it is a 10-15 minute climb. There is one restaurant inside the resort and your only choice, prices are high; it's one of those, take it or stay hungry plan.
There is one girl that speaks Russian at the reception desk, the others speak something I don't know what it is called. I don't want to label it as a language but I have been explained that it is ENGLISH...hmmm.
Son Tra is approximately 45 - 55 minutes ride from the city. Depending on how cunning your taxi driver is, the average ride will cost you between VD 200,000.00 to VD 350,000.00 (Sorry, don't want to get misunderstood - VD is Vietnamese Dong). That is quite high for Vietnamese standard when a man's one days wages is VD100,000.00 approx.
Free Wi-Fi...you can get free wi-fi in the reception area or the restaurant; which is behind the reception.NO WHERE ELSE!!
There are several trips/tours available from Son Tra but you are much better off buying in the city. The same tour bus will come to Son Tra to pick you up for the tour but the price would be less than half for some of the tours.
It is after all a Spa. Once you are in the room, you will find a menu with a list of spa services but no prices. I am told by local friends that the prices have hit the roof. Spa is usually empty; most people stay for the beach.
The Beach is breathtaking!! It is quiet and it is there for you to enjoy. One of the best beaches in Northern Vietnam...nature gave the beach everything it could think of to make it heavenly.
One word of advice; you may want to leave the airport and go directly into Da Nang city and stop at Big C. It is a supermarket with all kinds of provisions; food and toiletries. The security will keep your luggage and give you a ticket for it. Once you are finished shopping, the security guard will find you a taxi from the taxi stand right in front of Big C and help you with your things. Give him VD 10,000.00 and he will be more than happy. Buy plenty of snacks and water if you are a family with children. Son Tra provides you with two bottles of water a day for free and charges you double for extra bottles of water. Case of water is very cheap in Big C.
Enjoy the beach, it is beautiful. In less than an hour you can be in Da Nang and there is plenty to do there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hzy16c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
4.2 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#28 of 285 in Da Nang
1,000 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Danang
Grand Mercure Danang
#12 of 285 in Da Nang
655 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Danang Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
7.7 mi away
Centara Sandy Beach Resort Danang
9.2 mi away
The Ocean Villas
The Ocean Villas
#45 of 285 in Da Nang
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Tra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Tra Resort & Spa

Address: Bai Nam - Bai Con | Tho Quang Ward, Sontra District, Da Nang 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 286 Specialty Lodging in Da Nang
Price Range: $137 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Tra Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Son Tra Resort & Spa is located along the crystal clear bay and private beach. Behind is the tropical misty forest mountain that adds to the place’s charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Son Tra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra Resort And Villas
Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra Resort & Villas Hotel Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing