We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & quiet but a little jaded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Son Tra Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Da Nang
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful & quiet but a little jaded”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

These two days were booked for relaxation at the end of a busy 2 week stay in the Southern half of Vietnam. After getting over the initial confusion and disappointment of booking an "Ocean View Villa" which only had views of the ocean from the master bedroom, we were upgraded to a "Beachfront Villa" which was more in keeping with our expectations. This would be an excellent place for a family or couple just to chill out away from the rat race and in that sense it suited our purpose and was enjoyable. Having said that however we had to pay $20 US for a taxi to take us to a supermarket in Da Nang for a few basic supplies as there were no local markets or small restaurants within walking distance of the resort. In fact the resort is completely isolted with no neighbouring resorts until the Mercure down the road is completed. The alternative to eating at the resort each night was to taxi about 10-15 mins to a selection of restaurants on the waterfront at DaNang and if you want to just chill out that can be an obstacle. If you are looking for 5 star accomodation and service, it is sadly lacking. While the Beachfront villas are huge and well designed they look somewhat old and tired. Most rooms had lovely views of the beach however this was the most uncomfortable bed we slept in (besides the plane seat) all trip. To be honest all 4 hotels we stayed at in HCMC, Can Tho, Hue & Hoi An which were rated around 3-4 stars were better maintained, had a better selection of food and had staff who spoke fairly fluent English. While the lady at reception was great at communicating, hardly any of the other staff were really on the ball when it came to taking food or drinks orders. If they are really serious about attracting overseas tourists at this price they need to lift their game in the communication department so proper service can be provided and they need to start employing staff in the quiet times to re upholster furniture and repaint walls etc.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Beachfront Villa and fill it up with your friends or family to make the price mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2011

It is rare for any resort to live up to its own description and pictures, but the Sontra exceeds both. It is a very beautiful spa with lushly gorgeous landscaping. The villa in which we stayed was large, glamorous and steps away from the beach where lounge chairs were already set up and waiting. The wait staff was always helpful and friendly and no request was too little or too great to be immediately responded to. I must single out the resort's manager for his attentiveness and informativeness. Because of his suggestion, we experienced one of our happiest days at a local diving center located in the lovely little city of Hoi An. Unlike many resorts, Sontra is a quiet and tranquil place for those who enjoy such an atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarasota26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed two nights in the middle of our 2 weeks touring in Vietnam specifically to give our kids (6 & 7 yo) a bit of "time out" and that is exactly what we got.
We booked a Ocean View villa which has the living room, dinning room & kitchen downstairs and the bedrooms upstairs. The Villas are spacious & come with a plunge pool which our kids loved. The Ocean front villas have the living room upstairs & the bedrooms downstairs and come with a bigger plunge pool.
The resort has one restaurant with a pool and a small private beach next to it. We ate at this restaurant for all our meals and the food was quite yummy. Price wise most meals ranged from US$5 - $8 with the most expensive thing on the menu US$15. Breakfast was included in the room rate.
There is also a Spa on site which was offering 50% off deals to in-house guest (did not use). Bikes available free to use & free wifi.
The resort is located about 15 mins away from Danang and lies between the mountains (National Park) and the ocean. There is not much else around it - a few restaurants on the beach which you could walk along the road to (we were told only open during the day). We knew the resort was isolated so we brought supplies with us (drinks & snacks).
The kids wanted to have a go on the Vietnamese style round boat so a staff member kindly took them & hubby out for a half hour site seeing paddle.
The resort has 26 Villas and only 3 were occupied when we were there so it was super quiet (just what we were looking for). The other options we looked out for our two days of chilling were on the beach strip between Danang & Hoi An but we were very glad we stayed where we did. When we left Sontra & travelled to Hoi An, the whole beach area was one big construction site after another (new beach resorts).
We almost did not at Son Tra due to difficulties in trying to contact them. We had seen on wotif.com that the were villas available and decided to try to contact them directly. The Son Tra contact email listed on the Swiss-Belhotel site bounced back to us several times, the Swiss Bel online booking system was not working so I contacted the resort directly by phone to book. Since our return I see that Son Tra resort now has its own website (www.sontra.com.vn) and there is no longer any info about it on the Swiss-Belhotel website!
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday with a very spacious Villa then Son Tra Resort is perfect

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Imagine a place away from the crazy hussle and bussle of asia, direct beachfront villas- they are massive!!, your own pool, million dollar views, nice genuine staff.....all for around $140/night (Wotif). This place is special and for some reason just has not 'taken off'.

The restaurant was quiet and directly overlooked the beach, staff were attentive, the food could be inconsistent. Happy hour cocktails were good. Our kids loved the staff in this place, they were so kind and happy to play with them.

We stayed 4 nights, but will come back and stay longer. It is quiet, and a good 20min cab trip to Da Nang, but thats the best bit about it!. And for us, a holiday villa right on the beach is priceless with the kids!....no spending an hour packing up to go somewhere- just walk out your back door!. For action and amusement you can't go past Nha Trang, but for some quality family quiet time- this is the place!.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iluv2travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changchun, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

It's often hard to get a true grasp of what a hotel or resort has to offer just from the reviews and pictures online, so we did not know what to expect until we stayed here ourselves. If you like your own private ocean or beachside villa, if you like friendly staff and great service, if you like cleanliness and modern facilities, then you should give this resort a try. If you want to wake up to the sound of ocean waves crashing on the beach right outside of your private villa or swim in your own private pool, then give this resort a try. They offer a spa, a small beach side (outdoor) restaurant with bar, a fitness center (which was under renovation and not available when we visited), and little amenities like room service, washing and pressing of clothes, yoga classes on the beach, private car or taxi service, private or group tours, satellite TV and high speed wireless internet, and weather-pending water activities. It is a quiet, tranquil place to stay away from the busy mainstream city and hotels, but still close enough to easily drive to shopping and tourist attractions which were between 10 and 20 minutes drive depending on where you want to go. We truly enjoyed our stay at this resort and look forward to our return visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at the Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra Resort & Villas for a few days on our honeymoon and it was absolute bliss!!! While the villa we stayed at was a little bit worn (as is expected for anything beach side because of the salt water), and the shower had poor drainage, the views, service, and architecture made it all well worth it! They were very sweet and spread rose petals on the bed and in the shower/jacuzzi to celebrate our anniversary and gave us complimentary fruit. We arrived late into the evening, but they stayed up and gave us a wonderful tour of our villa, and were eager to please.

We had also stayed at the Furama resort, but found Swiss-Bel to have more English speaking staff who were extremely helpful and courteous without an air of condescension that we sometimes experienced at Furama. The breakfast was a little confusing (we rarely got everything that was included, but that was okay since everything was tasty regardless). Maids, maintenance, and the pool person were around repeatedly cleaning, keeping the grounds meticulous and our needs were met expediently.

The villa itself is huge for 2 people, well appointed, and beautiful. All of the views from each room were amazing, and I loved falling asleep and waking up to the view of our infinity pool fading out into the sea. There is only one full bathroom, one half bath upstairs, and an outdoor shower next to the infinity pool. The only issue we had was with the shower/jacuzzi bath, which looked discolored and had poor drainage... but otherwise the bathroom was huge and evoked a spa like sentiment.

We utilized the laundry service which was great. Had we had more time at the resort, I would have taken advantage of their half off special on spa services. The infinity pool was always perfectly heated. The wireless internet was speedy, and the air conditioning more than sufficient.

The location was a little far from town, but nothing a >$10 USD taxi ride wouldn't get you to. The ride itself up and down the mountain was spectacular since you get the view of the beautiful beach and illuminated kwan-yin statue from the mountainside... which is a wonderful experience in itself.

Overall, our experience was wonderful and I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for some relaxation and your own bit of paradise. It is a great value for all that you get!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yello815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed 3 nights in one of the smaller beach front villas. Check-in was slow and we had to wait 25 minutes even though it was already past the published check-in time. When we arrived at the villa the maid was still cleaning and the floors were wet. On the surface the villa looked very nice but it soon became apparent that they are simply not being maintained to an acceptable standard. The door to bedroom 2 was coming off its hinges and although reported to reception, was never fixed. The ridiculous outdoor bath and shower to bedroom 1 was filthy and stained plus the pebble based shower made a fabulous home for large cockroaches (which are not what you want appearing when taking a shower) The private pool and surrounding area was dirty and in need of some TLC. The exterior woodwork and doors of the villas should have been re-stained years ago. The air conditoining to the living area was desperatley inadequate for the floor area and there should have been 2 or 3 units instead of just 1. The master bedroom, which was at the back of the villa, was very dark and dreary with no views, whilst the second was bright with superb sea views. Awoken every morning by knocking sounds on the side of the villa. The beach here is ok but nothing speacial. The power failed temporarily 5 times during our 3 days here. We found this hotel to be far too removed from Da Nang and the long taxi ride cost $8 each way. Check-out was painfully slow whilst the villa was inspected for damage and breakages. They said a beer glass was missing and that we would have to pay for it - I insisted there wasn't and upon further inspection it was found in a bedroom, 40 minutes later we departed for the airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
4.2 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#27 of 269 in Da Nang
950 reviews
7.1 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Danang
Grand Mercure Danang
#14 of 269 in Da Nang
604 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Danang Hotel & Resort
5.3 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Tra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Tra Resort & Spa

Property: Son Tra Resort & Spa
Address: Bai Nam - Bai Con, Tho Quang Ward, Sontra District, Da Nang, Vietnam (Formerly Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Tra Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Son Tra Resort & Spa is located along the crystal clear bay and private beach. Behind is the tropical misty forest mountain that adds to the place’s charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Son Tra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra Resort & Villas Hotel Da Nang
Swiss-Belhotel Son Tra Resort And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing