We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!!!”
Review of Sun River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 372 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just spent 1 night at sun river. There was a miscommunication when we booked and we had two single beds. we told recption and they sent housekeeping up straight away (at 10pm ) and they pushed the beds together and fixed the sheets for us. rooms are a little smokey, we are non smokers but it wasnt too bad. rooms arenice and spacious and bathrooms are very modern.

Breakfast had a huge selection, although alot of the 'hot' dishes arent hot, they just sit on the bench, but they were still very tasty. check out is 12pm which is handy. the man in reception organised a return trip taxi for us to bana hill for a lot cheaper than it would've cost with the meter.

it is a 3 star hotel for a cheap price. its clean, beds are comfortable and a nice spot on the river . i would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    55
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
24
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Pretty ordinary, terrible breakfast, food cold both mornings we were there,noisy rooms, there was a crack in our door so you could see into our room from hallway.air conditioning was great. Would not use again. Could not get decent tours organized and staff English was really bad

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in August. Our room was tiny and had no window, but was very clean and well appointed and quiet (probably due to no window!). It's in a great location right on the Han River and central to heaps of great (western and Vietnamese) restaurants and cafes with an ATM right outside the door. The reception staff were really lovely and even the bell boy was super friendly when we ran into him at the nearby market buying fruit!

The only down side of our stay was that the room reeked of cigarette smoke, even though it had no smoking signs in it ( we were travelling with a group and another room also had the same problem). We were traveling with my 2 year old so were not happy about it, but when we requested a change of rooms we were told there were none available in the same standard but that we could pay to upgrade to the most expensive room. As we had requested a non smoking room, I would have thought that if another room of the same standard was unavailable we should be given a free upgrade, but there seemed to be no wiggle room. In the end we were given a second key to leave in the slot to keep the aircon and bathroom exhaust fan on, but the cleaners turned them off! After we complained about it being turned off the reception girls promised they would instruct housekeeping to leave them on. Most days this happened, and it did reduce the smell, although it didnt eliminate it entirely.

I would stay here again for sure, and would highly recomend it for the location, cleanliness and friendly staff, but if you're sensitive to cigarette smoke as i am, make sure to demand a non smoking room that is actually a non smoking room and state at the time of booking that it is not acceptable to just put up a no smoking sign!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Loumattam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I only stayed for one day, but it was lovely. the rooms are comfy and large. very clean. the bathrooms are also larger than average. -mine had a 2 person jacuzzi tub! -per some of the other reviewers, yes, there seems to be a problem with odor coming from the bathroom drains, esp. if you have the ac on... but closing the door does the trick... view from the 9th floor restaurant is awesome! great drink selection from their bar, and ok prices. only 5 minutes from the airport!

Room Tip: Should choose the VIP room with very nice river view. 6 or 7th floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

First time in Da Nang and stayed here for 3 nights. The location is very convenient and is on the main strip with restaurants, markets and stores all around. The river right in front of the hotel is very nice and clean. Perfect place to relax and take a stroll. Stayed in the VIP room and had a panoramic view of the city along with the river. Unfortunately we weren't facing the beautiful bridges that light up during the night but it was still a nice scene to wake up or end the night with. The bathroom was fairly clean. There was a sauna/bathtub that I didn't bother to use, only for showers. Room service came early every morning and would be a pain when I forgot to put the DND sign on the door. The only thing was the wooden floor in my hotel room, it looked like it was only swept and not mopped. If it was mopped then the wooden floors are in need of a new polish. The bar/cafe on the 9th floor I believe was nice and also had the same view from my hotel room. The staff there was very helpful when I asked where I was able to find a certain kind of authentic Vietnamese food. They took the time in finding it and also typing in the address on my phone so I can give it to the taxi. Really helpful in that sense! I would definitely come back when I return to Da Nang, such a beautiful city!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beb3g1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week. May 5th -May 12th 2012 on business.
Great Hotel, Nice location, rooms were clean, not spic and span, but clean, though the bathroom could have used a little work.
The showers are hand showers, and were mounted at a much shorter height than I was. Had to take them and attached them at a greater height to get an actual shower. Worked out very well.
Hotel staff were VERY friendly and VERY helpful and a few girls at the counter were VERY beautiful.
The food was okay, not the best, but was good. Coffee was awesome as always ^_^.
However at $70/night I expected a gym and a proper shower.
There was wifi on every floor (YAY ^_^) but did not work to well some of the time (Boo >o<) and the cable internet was not working (Grrrr >,,,,,<)
Location was right on the River so had a pretty good view especially at breakfast
What I definitely loved about the hotel was that if you were out late at night, they would go leave a bowl of fruit in your room which tastes awesome.
All in all great hotel, if it had a gym would definitely stay there again (Did I mention some of the front desk girls were hot :D)

Room Tip: Ask for room with a window and to face the riverside. Also stay out late at night so they will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights from April7th. The hotel is near the Han river and local market. The room is not big but full equipped. (mini bar, coffee and tea, amenity, hair dryer, shoeshine, slippers etc.)
We've had welcome drinks on the top floor with very nice view of the Han river. Free Wi-Fi in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyepineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
1.3 mi away
Lion Sea Hotel
Lion Sea Hotel
#173 of 270 in Da Nang
40 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mango Hotel Danang
Grand Mango Hotel Danang
#44 of 270 in Da Nang
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
One Opera Danang Hotel
One Opera Danang Hotel
#35 of 270 in Da Nang
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#134 of 270 in Da Nang
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoang Linh Hotel
Hoang Linh Hotel
#77 of 372 in Da Nang
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Day Hotel Da Nang
Happy Day Hotel Da Nang
#25 of 372 in Da Nang
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun River Hotel

Property: Sun River Hotel
Address: 132-134-136 Bach Dang Street, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 372 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun River Hotel is a three-star hotel in Danang. It is located on the banks of the charming Han river and has 50 rooms. Staying at Sun River Hotel, guests will fully enjoy a memorable lifetime experience. With the exterior designed by modern architecture and the interior by international standards, the rooms offer views of the charming Han River and the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing