We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant experience”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #234 of 393 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for around six weeks and was pretty well satisfied. The hotel is located is a quiet part of town close to the Han river and only 15 mins easy walk to the city centre. Several nice restaurants and coffee houses close by. While the staff didn’t speak a lot of English they were friendly, very nice and helpful and we managed well. The air conditioned rooms were generally pretty good for this standard hotel, large and with good views from the higher floors at the front of the building, along with comfortable beds and free WiFi. My first room was quite run down and I changed rooms the next day, with no hassle, to a similar one in better condition at the same price. Later I saw that some repairs were being made to several rooms, including my first room, which then looked a lot better. The elevators were also being renovated.

The rooms on the lower floors had white tiles, while the upper floors still had old carpets. Security was quite good with a full time "guard" and cameras on each floor corridor. Guests need to remember in Vietnam you have to turn on the water heater to get a hot shower which was over the bath. Unfortunately the hot water heater had its connection pipes protruding into the bath space but you soon get used to avoiding them. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and pleasant. The included breakfast was basic but okay. The offerings improved according to how many guests were staying at the hotel at the time.

The facilities stated on the Agoda website for this hotel need to be taken with a grain of salt, as many of the less important items were either closed at the time I was there, or were just not provided. However, would I stay there again, absolutely!

Room Tip: The 5th floor at the front have the best views.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

Very basic room, no hot water, not cosy at all, no Wifi.
The staff was ok but didn't speak english so it was difficult to communicate.
A very noisy wedding was going on in the restaurant of the hotel when we arrived.
No information at all about the train or buses at the reception.
When we checked out they wanted us to pay 35$ instead of the 26$ announced when I booked by email... She had to call someone else apparently more aware of the bookings.
It was ok for one night, but I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millie-HCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We had not planned on going to Da Nang but found ourselves there for one night and chose this hotel on the basis of price and tripadvisor review. The hotel is quite large and past its heyday but the place was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. For U$32 we got a large room with 4 single beds, and breakfast so it was great value for money. I'd stay there again if ever I was in Da nang.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel (cheapest room type) in October 2009 for a couple of days for our work. The hotel was a relatively cheap and unknown so we were a bit worried about our stay, but we all were satisfied with the stay at this hotel at the end.

First of all, the room was clean and spacious with big windows, which you would not be able to expect in other cities like Hanoi and Saigon for this price (we've paid USD18 for a single use and USD21 for a double use including breakfast). The room came with all major international TV channels and WIFI, which worked pretty well. A closet and desk also made my business there easier -- what else you could expect for this price??

There was no complementary water in the room, but there was a mini bar (in a fridge) with reasonable price, which we liked also.

The service was also quite good at the reception and housekeeping, which was to our great surprise as it is not the case in many of the Vietnamese hotels. They were all warm and attentive to our needs and requests.

The breakfast was minimal but included, but again for this price, can't expect more.

Only suggestion I could have was to change the carpet in the room to tiles as the carpet looked a bit old and more difficult to maintain, but probably it was good to prevent noise from upstairs!? Anyway, this wasn't a big minus for our stay.

Location-wise, the hotel was in the nearly the northen end of main downtown of Danang where many Japanese restaurants gathers. It is not the busiest areas of the city so it was not noisy at all, which was good for us.

If you like wines, the hotel is next to the best wine shop in Danang.

We will surely come back to this hotel for our next visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaji1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPWS757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kok2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
6.5 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
3.5 mi away
Furama Resort Danang
Furama Resort Danang
#17 of 283 in Da Nang
2,287 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Danang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bin Star Hotel
Bin Star Hotel
#155 of 393 in Da Nang
43 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman Danang Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Fusion Maia Da Nang
Fusion Maia Da Nang
#4 of 283 in Da Nang
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Address: 6 Le Loi Street, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range: $18 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel is located right in the center of Da Nang City, on the intersection of two major roads Ly Thuong Kiet - Le Loi and only 10 minutes by taxi from the Danang International Airport It consists of 50 spacious, well-equipped rooms that are always ready to serve you. Magnolia Hotel’s accomodation is a generous idea when you need to save residing in the central of Da Nang city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing