We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror in Da Nang”
Review of Prince Hotel

Prince Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Da Nang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Hotel
Ranked #142 of 262 Hotels in Da Nang
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horror in Da Nang”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Please DON'T stay here. I was here for one night after an easy rider tour and it was awful. Unfortunately my tour guide was paying and this is where he took me. The staff were not helpful - could not give me a map or directions, did not give me any information about breakfast (was there one?) etc.

The room was small, no windows, mouldy and musty and smelt horrid. The bed creaked and was terribly uncomfortable and I felt as though I was being bitten by insects. All my clothes smelt musty the next day.

I stayed in a slightly less central hotel two days prior for $20aud a night with breakfast and it was lovely - Nhu Minh Hotel. Some may say for the price you get what you pay for but you can pay the same and get much much better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM_Travel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    10
    10
See reviews for
2
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and i decided to stay in this hotel since it was the recommendation of lonely planet. We just wanted to spend a night or two in da nang.
We came to the prince hotel which seemed quite ok at first. So we took a room, dumped our stuff and went for a walk. My girlfriend was not feeling to well, so we went back to the hotel so she could lie down. The room we had was very dark with no windows. Not so bad, but on the other hand 18$ seems to be a bit much for a room with no windows.
My girlfriend fell asleep and i was sitting on the bed (feeling every spring of the matrace) with the computer. Suddely i noticed something crawling on the floor. I turned on the lights and there were cockroaches running under the bed. One was even climbing up the wall next to the bed.
It happens at times you have a dead cockroach in your room. But there are so many of them so thats not a big deal. But if a hotel is spraying and so on there are usually not several running around.

I kept my cool at first and went to the front desk and asked for raid (bug spray) to Smoke them out. I thought we'd spray and go for a walk and come back and get rid of the dead ones. But as i asked for raid the woman at the desk replied "ah a rat in you room". It sounded like that would be quite a normal thing. I then explained and aksked for spray again. So she got up and left the room and me standing there. After 15 or 20 min she had not come back and i had enough. I went back to the room, my girlfriend and i packed up and left a couple o hours after we had checked in.

At the front desk i asked for our passports. The woman refused to give them back to us and wanted us to pay for the room. At that point i got mad an told her the hotel is a disgrace for the lonely planet and they should be ashamed. I also told her she's not getting a cent from us. She them went out on the street to get the manager. In that time i went behind the desk myself and took the passports and we left.

Bad enough there are cockroaches in the room. But we actually stayed cool and wanted to take care of the problem. But the staff didn't care at all. And them they expect us to pay for a few hours in a cockroach infested room. No way!

The only good thing is the location, pretty central. But i still didnt rate higher cause there are many hotels just there without bugs.

I hope the information provided is sufficiant. I really would like no one to go there. Notmally the lonely planet is right and hotels/restaurants are proud to be named in the book. But these people seem to have taken it for granted. Hopefully many people read this before going there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee-Bonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Da Nang hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The only reason why I'm not giving this hotel a one-star rating is because the receptionist was quite friendly to us. This hotel was not part of our itinerary/plan. My friend and I mixed up the dates of our flights, and therefore, asked the cab driver to drive us to a nearby hotel for the night. The room was extremely musty when we first stepped in. I did not feel very comfortable in the room. Also, we didn't like that there was a bunch of cab drivers waiting outside the hotel to bring us to nearby attractions, we felt harassed whenever we had to walk past them. Apart from that, I must warn that my friend and I actually had an eerie experience at this hotel - it happened to my friend, then immediately to me. Both of us were pretty creeped out and could not wait to check out the second day. We will never return to this place again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and had a creepy encounter - ask for a change of room if you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed there because it was "specially recommended" by lonely planet, but I think we will never follow their suggestions again.
The staff was not helpfull at all and their attitude was very rude.
The room is normal for the price, but we woke up with several strange bites and we found bed bugs, disgusting!!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here as recommended in Lonely Planet.

Never again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999plunger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamaga, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

There isn't one positive thing I can say about thus hotel! Staff are dodgy, rooms filthy & smelly! We didn't get the room paid for & then got into an argument when we brought it up with the 'manager'. We didn't even stay one night. We ended up going to the hotel next door (can't remember name) which was much better. I would not trust any good reviews of this hotel as I would be pretty certain they are either paid for or staff have done them. Don't stay here, whatever you do!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VeganMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

There is almost nothing positive that we can say about this hotel. We stayed there in late October 2011, and at that time, neither of the receptionists spoke very good English. The room was quite musty, the towels and sheets were stained/dirty, the floor mat to the bathroom was filthy, and there was a large, dead cockroach in the middle of the floor when we walked into the room.

When we asked if we could get a street map of Danang, we were told by the Manager - "you just go out into the street"!! Great service - not!! In fact, the Manager seemed to place a much higher priority on spending his time talking to (presumably) his friends, either in the lobby or out the front on the street, than providing a service the hotel's guests - of which we think we were the only one's at the time!!

Needless to say, we checked out the next morning, and moved on.

The Internet access was very, very slow, and kept "dropping out".

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, the rooms at the back are away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Cherie Hotel
Cherie Hotel
#199 of 262 in Da Nang
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thoi Dai Hotel
Thoi Dai Hotel
#173 of 262 in Da Nang
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Green Riverside
Bamboo Green Riverside
#149 of 262 in Da Nang
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Song Thu hotel
Song Thu hotel
#195 of 262 in Da Nang
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dai A hotel
Dai A hotel
#53 of 262 in Da Nang
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Stargazer Hotel
#187 of 362 in Da Nang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hotel

Property: Prince Hotel
Address: 60 Tran Phu Street, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 262 Hotels in Da Nang
Number of rooms: 349
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Da Nang
Da Nang Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing