We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Life is somtimes not all it is cracked up to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #62 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Family Life is somtimes not all it is cracked up to be!”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Food is not much better than OK - breakfast is particularly generous in proportion if not all that wide in choice (Ha An much, much better).
Rooms (I was shunted throgh 3 rooms during my admittedly 3 week stay) were large enough, although just a little grubby. One room I had had a ceiling that was infested by Death Watch Beetles that chomped for quite long periods during the night, another had one or more rats in the roof industriously scratching away. If you don't like rats be aware they are almost regarded as family pets in Vietnam. There are certainly plenty to be seen in the garden.
Wi-Fi haphazard, as is TV reception.
Location is just some 15/20 minutes walk into town. The definition of countryside is a builyup area that looks exactly like the scruffier parts of town except the roads are lanes only wide enough for one car.
Service is generally friendly (the staff address you by your first name).
They have a male receptionist who is both nosy and evasive, however.
The ownerr's wife has a nasty side to her - I witnessed a screaming match between her supported by 2 or 3 of her staff when a female Vietnamese visitor was set upon and reduced to tears for not observing protocol by first reporting to Reception. I might add the lady concerned was known to me and was in the hotel in her own time (daytime!) on my invitation to help sort out an Internet problem she had. She might just as well have been a prostitute for all the hoo hah! The owner's wife subsequently talked to her brother, the lady's employer and she duly lost her job! Great family, not!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
190
395
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This place is a tremendous value for the money. Our room was large with a full bath with both a tub and large shower. There was lots of hot water and good water pressure although some other guests said they didn't have as much hot water as they wanted. The rooms were new and well appointed and there was free internet at the front desk.

The setting was lovely with nice gardens and paths - very quiet. It is located away from the downtown but the bikes provided for free get you there in about five minutes and it is a 20,000 D taxi ride. The cost was only $35 per night including free laundry and as we stayed three nights they included a free dinner with the family which was fun as we met some other guests as well as having a good meal. The included breakfast was great as you ordered from a menu rather than the usual tired buffet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We have just spent another six weeks at Vuon Trau ( our third stay in three years), and are happy to report that once again we were treated like members of the family, but with the added luxury of beng pampered!
The menu has been expanded and all the meals that we ordered were delicious
Being at Vuon Trau as a guest over Tet, means that one shares with the famiy and learns about all the rich traditions of this special time in Vietnam.
The garden becomes more lush and colorful each year and the bird songs are enchanting.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jothvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwerin
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2010

it was a very relaxing stay with a very very fantastic service. we enjoy dinner or breakfast in our room and feel like princesses. the alround service including internet, bycicle, familar service, helping to organise trips and tours was perfect.

we really enjoy the beach, the market and the villages, also the cham island. we are looking forward to come back for a real long tẻm stay :))

unforgettable the birthday cake for guni and the birthday dinner. thank you for having a very good time.

guni and inga

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunhild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Just being a bit off of the city (10-15 minute walk to the old part of the city), that hotel might not e for everyone. But it was perfect for me. It is in a very quiet environment that is broken from time to time by the local rooster. The personnel does everything to make you feel part of the family. My only regret is to have stayed there only for four nights. I would have stayed there a lot longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papillon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We thoroughly reccomend this lovely comfortable and friendly home/hotel accomodation. We stayed there three nights and enjoyed coming 'home' to Betel.
Staff are natural, helpful and friendly. Great breakfast etc ........When we return to Vietnam and partcularly Hoi An we would not think twice about saying there again.
I agree with all the other reviews.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejaylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We were recommended this homestay by our friend from Austria and were not disappointed . From The first day we were warmly welcomed by Vang and Dong and all staff. Everyone of them treated us so well .They are honest and go out of their way to help us . The homestay has a big and nice garden for our children playing around. We got bicyles, internet, laundry for free .The organized tour which Vang did for us to Cham island was brillant.We wish them well and many happy year ahead .We will certainly recommend them to our friends and family back home , I will highly recommend this homestay to every one, especially who travel with kids!"

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank michb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#56 of 153 in Hoi An
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ruby River Villa Hoi An
Ruby River Villa Hoi An
#18 of 153 in Hoi An
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#39 of 153 in Hoi An
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing