We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #62 of 148 Hotels in Hoi An
sydney australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

we stayed at the Betel for 5 nights recently and wish we could have stayed longer. the rooms are large and comfortable, the bathroom very large and clean and the pool area is wonderful for relaxing with a cold drink after a hot day touring around the area. they provide free use of bicycles which is the best way to get around the town and to the beach and also held a wonderful dinner for all the guests while we were there. one little thing which stuck with us was , this must be the only hotel in the world where the minibar prices are cheaper than the prices on the street. to Mrs Vang, Duong and the rest of the staff, thanks for making our stay in Hoian a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loudo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
394
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Betel Garden Homestay for 6 nights and had high expectations due to the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We made the most of the free bicycles provided, cycling into Hoi An alongside the river, to the beach, and - not to be missed - cycling through the padi fields to the herb gardens.

Hoi An is a truly beautiful city - lit up by night by hundreds of lanterns - and is a must to visit for anyone planning on a holiday in Vietnam.

We enjoyed two dinners hosted by Betel Garden where it was good to meet the other guests and pick up various tips on what to see and do.

A restaurant that we really liked in Hoi An was the Morning Glory - but the others we ate at were also very good. Two local dishes to highly recommend are the fried wantons and the Cao Lao.

Back to the Homestay. Everyone went out of their way to make us very welcome, especially Tom - ultra polite, efficient and extremely helpful. The villas are large and comfortable and set in tropical gardens. However I would agree with some previous reviews that they are a little worn and dated, especially the bathroom. The swimming pool is lovely although on the smallish side.

Breakfasts are very good and individually made to order with a variety of choices.

We arranged transport to and from the airport through Betel Gardens.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed three nights at The Betel Garden and after staying in Hoi An on four previous occasions and am really pleased we've discovered this little gem. It feels like you are in your own little oasis on the edge of town but within an easy bike ride to the old town so as you're not too far away from the action. The rooms are huge and immaculately clean with fresh fruit supplied daily, and everyday something a little different. The breakfasts were fantastic, and the dinner put on for the guests was such a lovely touch. No doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Betel is a beautiful little place on the edge of HoiAn with lovely gardens and pool to relax in. It is a bit of a walk to the centre of Town but with all the beautiful food they serve you need the walk. Rooms are large and the staff were very helpful. We did have a bit of trouble with the water pressure in our room but would stay there again. We had a nice private balcony to take in the peaceful atmosphere and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Just finishing off another wonderful fortnight stay with our friends at BGH. The staff Ms Li, Ms Vang, Mr Dong and Mr Tong are fantastic and made our time relaxing and exploring so nice. This is our second stay at BGH and hopefully not the last. The breakfasts are great with lots of variety and the rooms extremely tidy and very comfortable. Add to this free daily snacks and occasional dinners with guests and we've certainly been spoilt. The staff also are very helpful with tours, transport and local advice. Thanks BGH for making another visit to Hoi An so enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitara, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Betel Garden was by far our favourite place to stay in Vietnam and we stayed in some lovely hotels along the way. Betel Garden is only a short distance from busy Hoi An town but feels very quiet, private and relaxed. The rooms have a traditional look, own space outside, beautiful, spacious, clean, serviced every day, mini bar stocked, bathrobe, slippers and fresh fruit daily. Free bikes to explore all the little back roads (so cool). Massages, nails etc, no problem the girls come to your room (so relaxing). Betel staff are amazing, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They made us so welcome and even put on a FREE family dinner for all the guests which staff attended and their fantastic chef served some of the most memorable food we had in Vietnam. Thank you Vang, Chong and all the staff, you should be very proud of yourselves and Betel Garden.

Room Tip: Check that photos you are seeing are what you are getting, i.e. standard rooms are not always the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The beautiful garden is the first thing you notice as you enter Betel garden homestay. The lush green plants help to make all the bungalows private so you seem to have your own little oasis. We had a large bungalow which was plenty big enough for our family of 4, the a/c was cold, bathroom large, beds comfy and mini bar adequate. Breakfasts were tasty and made to order and served in their outdoor dining area overlooking their lovely garden. All staff are very friendly and so attentive and answered emails promptly. It was a few minute and few $ taxi ride into town. A good short stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank suemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 148 in Hoi An
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#89 of 148 in Hoi An
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Boutique Villa
Green Boutique Villa
#56 of 148 in Hoi An
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#45 of 148 in Hoi An
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing