We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #63 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

After the madness and heat in Ho Chi Minh City, we were looking forward to a relaxing time in Hoi An. Betel Garden certainly provided that for us, the welcome chat sitting in the gardens with a cold juice was done at a relaxed pace and immediately made us feel comfortable. When we were taken to our room, we were amazed at how big both the room and the bathroom were, and both were spotlessly clean. The swimming pool is lovely - a lovely, tranquil place to read and swim. The staff were all really friendly, and nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble for them. The family dinners were great and all the nicer for both the food and drink being free. We also had a free river cruise with 2 other guests which was a lovely way to spend a morning. We would definitely recommend Betel Garden highly to anyone visiting Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatle, Người quản lý at Betel Garden Villas, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear our travellers,
We appreciate your feedback .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your staying with us
We hope to serve you again
Best regards
Ms Vang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
395
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset.Uk.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights - what an amazing place! So tranquil & pretty, villas dotted around a lovely peaceful garden a beautiful warm swimming pool, this place felt very relaxing. Our villa was spotless and very large with a verandah overlooking the garden. Our hosts here made our stay though, nothing was too much trouble and in our 2nd night they hosted a meal for all of the guests, providing all the food and as much beer as you wanted, but they didn't expect anything in return for it! Outside of our room was a little private garden with a pond underneath our window in which there were many lillies growing and a huge abundance of fish & tadpoles! There were plenty of bikes to rent and hoi an is very flat so easy to cycle we also hired a moped here for US $8 per day, great fun, the roads here aren't as chaotic as elsewhere in vietnam! We spent 3 weeks touring vietnam and Betel Garden was definitely the best place we stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfox19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

What a great place. Staff are amazing nothing a problem . Had 2 free meals with all the quests, they put on so we can get to know one another . Seems to happen every 4 to 6 days. Good location clean units, lovely grounds . Would recommend betel garden home stay .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulieEL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatle, Người quản lý at Betel Garden Villas, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear our friends,
Do you know what we are happy?
We provide our best service for you . Thank you very much
We are looking forward to seeing you again
Best regards
Ms Vang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We spent 7 nights in a Bungalow, a beautiful large room with verandah, lounge chairs, fresh fruit each day and free wifi. The staff are wonderful, so friendly and helpful - they will assist you with anything you wish and happy to recommend and arrange any services you require. It was our third stay at Betel Garden and we were welcomed like long lost friends. What helps make this place so special is the atmosphere in the restaurant and the family dinners. Guests from all over the world are easily able to chat and share experiences. We had lovely conversations with the staff and other guests. The food is great, fresh Vietnamese flavours and amongst some of the best we have had in our 3 visits to Vietnam. We highly recommend Betel Garden and will stay there in the future when we return to Hoi An.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapipem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My partner and I cannot rate this place highly enough, it is perfect if you want a relaxed romantic and peaceful location, chilled but close by to all the action too, free bikes in good condition, and AMAZING food! I loved the breakfasts - a massive bowl of gorgeous fresh fruit, yoghurt and warm breads, banana smoothie, fresh eggs and gorgeous Vietnamese iced coffees, as much as you want each day and lots of other choices! It was great to be invited to a shared meal and meet fellow travellers, and the 5 course Vietnamese meal and freely flowing beer were out of this world! The rooms are gorgeous and bed sooooh comfy, lovely experience all round and all the staff are helpful and friendly, do book here, amazing value for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hully13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

When we arrived at Betel Garden we were greeted by staff and given a cold drink while registering. We were then shown our room which was very large with its own veranda. On the veranda was a table with chairs and 2 outdoor lounge chairs as well. The ensuite was huge with not only a shower but a full sized bath as well. The rooms were cleaned beautifully each day and a complimentary plate of tropical fruit provided as well. Prices for the drinks in the mini bar were very reasonable-the same as in the shops.
We really enjoyed the pool and it was a treat to come back after wandering around Hoian and surroudings to a cool dip. The pool was lovely and a tranquil place to relax.
The staff at this Homestay were fabulous. Friendly, helpful and kind and always went the extra mile. On the last night of our stay we were treated to dinner free of charge along with 16 other guests. A great way to meet other guests and to chat informally with the staff. Donhg (hope spelling is correct) was a great host and we enjoyed a fabulous meal with drinkd provided as well. AMAZING hospitality!
Bicycles were provided free as well and we had great fun exploring and riding into town.
breakfast was also provided with the room rate and what a breakfast it was. Such a choice and all delicious and always looked after so beautifully by the delightful Tonhg (spelling again )
I highly recommend this Homestay and we will definitely be back.
Thanks to all the staff who made it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I think every positive thing to say about the Betel Garden Homestay has already been said. I would simply like to agree with all of it. My family stayed 4 nights but most of the other guests we met there were staying longer, and many were on return visits, which says it all.
We got adjoining rooms in a garden villa. The rooms were excellent in every respect. Our children loved this place, which goes a long way to making a happy stay.
We used the pool every day: all of the activities we did in Hoi An were relatively early start and finish so we were usually recovering in the pool by 4 o'clock, comparing notes with other guests. Despite being full the place never seemed crowded.
The gardens are beautiful and I have to give special mention to the mini-bar: beer for 50 cents a bottle on your own veranda is hard to resist!
We were invited for the free evening meal on our last night. Great food and great company.
Staff were super helpful and friendly without getting in your face. They asked us whether we had any plans or ideas and when we told them they made the arrangements for us, including a 5am taxi the day we (reluctantly) left.
The location is maybe 15 minutes on foot from downtown, but bikes are available free so this was never a problem for us.
On a minor note, we did a food tour in Hoi An with Neville Dean, an Australian living and working in Hoi An, and he was very positive about Betel Garden. By this time we already knew how good it was, but it was nice to get confirmation from an independent knowledgeable source.
Like Arnold Schwarzenegger - we will be back.

Room Tip: It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NameIWantedWasTaken7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 153 in Hoi An
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ruby River Villa Hoi An
Ruby River Villa Hoi An
#18 of 153 in Hoi An
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#39 of 153 in Hoi An
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing