We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #68 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ever accommodation!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This must be the best place to stay in Hoi An! Everyone is friendly and helpful. The accommodation is beautiful - it is like the pictures on the internet, only better when you experience the atmosphere of the place. My room was gorgeous; the beds are comfortable; the bathroom (complete with bath) was huge; fresh tropical fruit each day; the pool is lovely; the gardens are superb. It's not far from town - walk 15 minutes, ride a bicycle (supplied free) or pay less than $2 in a taxi. It's lovely and quiet away from the bustle of town. The breakfasts are delicious. They host a welcome dinner for all the guests (I was there for nearly 2 weeks and enjoyed 3 of them!) which is always convivial and interesting hearing of people's travels. I cannot rate Betel Garden Homestay any higher. I will be returning as soon as I can.

Room Tip: Had the twin room with two huge beds in it. Luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    138
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
395
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our first time to Hoi An, we picked Betel Gardens Homestay based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were NOT disappointed. Two staff members stand out Tuong and Dong. Tuong remembered EVERYBODIES name and greeted us each time he saw us. He is very outgoing and personable. The breakfasts (included) were amazing, huge fruit plates, good coffee/tea, bread, eggs etc. Free use of their bikes. Coordination of any extras such as massages, bike trips, tours, etc. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. In the room bar prices were extremely reasonable. Every 4th day there is a wonderful 'free' dinner for all the guests complete with beer.
Highly recommended. Several of the guests were staying there for there 2nd or 3rd time.
Please note there are mosquitoes and 'no see ums' in Hoi An, bring Deet!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed 5 nights here and wished we didn't have to check out just before Tet, after seeing all their preparations for celebrating with guests. Excellent location, just outside Hoi An so easy to reach the centre of town or the beach, particularly if you take their free bikes. Helpful and attentive staff made this a real relaxing place to stay after hectic Hanoi and Hue.

Room Tip: Find your way to the river and cycle along the track into Hue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this place.....firstly I like to thank all the staff who were the most helpful, friendly people we've had over all of our travels. This place is definitely going to be hard to top, Tuan, Hien and Dong always ready to help at the drop of a hat, and never once did they make us feel as if we were putting them out at all! Also like to thank the Gardeners who play soccer with us my eldest really loved that.
The dinners that were put on weekly to bring the little betel garden community together was amazing, being served a small banquet and the bier larue flowing. Meeting people from around the world over dinner is a great idea and something you definitely would not get staying at a resort, which we have on other visits but will not be again!
Our rooms which was the family room was always well kept, which would have been hard for the cleaners as we have three kids 7,4,2. We loved the whole feel of the place beautiful trees, pool area which the kids loved and all the little ponds around was great.
I know I've probably missed a lot of things but I'd just like to say that there isn't a day that goes by that I don't think about going back there and I will definitely go back in the near future!
If your travelling with kids I hope they get to meet cheeky little Bella who lives across the street our kids became great friends and she has a very special place in our heart!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank seeknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We only checked out 24 hours ago, but already dreaming of our return. This is the perfect spot for people who want something more than a generic hotel. The staff are extremely attentive and kind. As there are only a handful of guests they always greet you by your name and quickly learn your habits, such as knowing my breakfast order each morning. The place also makes it easy and natural to meet the fellow guests particularly at the two family style dinners they host each week. Trading travel stories with other travelers and learning about Vietnam from our hosts while enjoying bountiful amounts of food and beer was one of the highlights of our trip.

We, I was traveling with my wife and 13 year old son, also loved the ever so slightly remote location. It is a simple 15 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride to the old Town. During the day we'd bike in, and lock-up the bikes and walk around. The bikes, locks, and helmets are free. At night we'd walk as the bikes didn't have lights. Biking to the beach was also quick and easy. 15 minutes to cau dai and about 25 minutes to an bang. Both beaches have allegedly required bike parking lots that charged us .25 a bike. We also enjoyed just relaxing at betel gardens. It was pretty, calming and the beers were less than a dollar. We passed hours reading on our porch or playing cards at our outside table.

As we were there just prior to Tet, we were also invited to see how and help make traditional Tet cakes, and, of course, got to try them all. We really felt like we were being welcomed as family, with them as proud to share their traditions as we were to learn. I know it can't always be Tet, but I am certain that madam le, toung, van and dong convey that feeling too guests all year round.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have stayed in so many hotels and not many compare to this place. The staff are great and very helpful with any tours and transport requirements, the rooms are immaculate and the grounds are kept very well. You have free bikes to town which is only 5 mins away. The pool is a complete surprise, it's really clean and looks amazing. The food was great and the mini bar was extremely cheap. I recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are huge and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalatheadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay.If you ever need a Santa Clause,Dongs your man!
Free bikes,talking birds,singing staff.....what else do you need dudes?
We stopped here for 3 nights culminating on Xmas Eve when the owner provided a great free gala dinner and entertainment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 152 in Hoi An
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.1 mi away
Ruby River Villa Hoi An
Ruby River Villa Hoi An
#20 of 152 in Hoi An
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#46 of 152 in Hoi An
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing