We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Betel Garden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #67 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Country Victoria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could stay longer. I was initally worried about how far out of the centre of Hoi An it was located but this ended up being a blessing in disguise as we had no noise and were able to fully relax while onsite. The staff were so helpful. We were greeted on arrival by Tuon with a cold fresh juice. He took us through check in quickly and gave us some suggestions on things to do while in Hoi An. He also booked our cooking class, organised taxis and had a private car to take us to the airport in Danang when we left. The gardens are magnificent and the pool was a life saver at the end of a busy day. The breakfast menu is extensive and offers both Western and Asian fare - and lots of it. The room was quite spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable. Sleeping under the mosquito net was nice and as my partner and I like fresh air was our saving grace from attack as we left the door to our room open til dusk. We used the complementary bikes as it is only a 5 minute ride into town and you can use them all day as they keep enough for every guest. We loved Hoi An and this accommodation was a big part of that. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    136
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
187
377
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hai Phong, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very nice staff and comfortable room, the room are large and clean.The homestay is a little but the Garden area is very wellcoming and good at muting outside noises, the pool is very nice too and always available and much utilised by us. Everything worked beautiffully, we looking forward to returning here next holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Clearn and Modern room and so Friendly helpful staff, it's good when we had free bicycle rentals and nice health breakfast, just lovely and would love to go back.
if you temp you can go for a walk in the village around the hotel is very nice too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonkinoise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and was amazed at the hospitality and beautiful surroundings. Tuon and Hinh could not do enough for us... Nothing was ever too much trouble from borrowing bikes to ride the short distance to town, to booking motorbikes and onward train travels. We were always greeted with big smiles and were even treated to a free dinner with the other guests. Seriously, if you are unsure where to stay in Hoi An, book Betel Gardens... You will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Noarlunga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The two boys were fantastic, great with our teenage children. Bang bang (win) made our day every after noon when he arrived. Banana flower salad, passionfruit juice, baguettes and tiger were all wonderful. We got two family dinners, a boat ride and great service to hire motor scooters. The pool was wonderful between tours to cool down. All seven off us miss you all, we hope you didn't get a lot of damage from the typhoon. We will be back one day soon. Ps people that complain about mozzies need to wear rid and understand that it is not the workers fault. I usually get eaten alive but put rid on as it was getting dark and didn't get one bite. We missed song and teams smiling faces. Aussie, Aussie aussie.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We planned to stay at Betel Garden for five nights but had to leave after one. This was actually the first hotel from which we've ever checked out early.

The primary problem was the mosquito swarm in our room. Ten minutes after getting into the room I had five new bites, despite spending the whole ten minutes waging (a losing) battle against the blood suckers. These mosquitoes were far nimbler than others we've encountered and somehow always evaded our swats. We told the manager about the problem, and he said he'd spray while we were in town. But the mosquitos were no better upon our return that night. Fortunately, there was a mosquito net over the bed, so we could at least sleep in relative peace.

There were other issues, too (though not ones that would have forced us to leave early): The room was shabby, with peeling paint, unpleasant floors, and dim lights. Also, the hotel is a ways from the center of Hoi An--at least 30 minutes walking, not 10 as the website says. (The website also says the laundry is free, when it's in fact $2/kg.)

It's too bad that the room was so unbearable, because the people were very good. The manager was friendly, the welcome drinks were delicious, and the breakfast was good. The owner even made the early checkout relatively painless. But for $50/night, you can do much better in Hoi An--our current hotel at the same price point is delightful with no mosquito problem at all.

Room Tip: Not room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masha720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault the location, service, rooms or value for money. Dong and Tran who do turnabout days run an efficient set up. The free bikes are a plus and Betel Garden is a wonderful place from which to explore. The pool has lovely surrounds and a great place to relax after a day out. Breakfast is included in the price - you choose what you like from the menu, far less wasteful than a buffet and things are prepared to order. The passion fruit juice is to die for! There is a reasonable selection of lunch and evening dishes too and local Dalat wine very reasonably priced. Tours, taxis and transport were all organised without a hitch. Laundry is done at a per kilo rate and returned the same day. Will definitely return next time we are in Vietnam!
Mosquitos can be kept at bay by spraying your room and using the nets!

Room Tip: We had room 101, a double near the pool. It had large en suite with a shower and a bath, large doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank april f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.3 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Ruby  Villa
Ruby Villa
#129 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#62 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing