We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It's all been said before” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Betel Garden Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #63 of 134 Hotels in Hoi An
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“It's all been said before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I don't intend to go over all the fine things mentioned in detail by previous contributions. Please take it as read, everything is first class in all departments.

What I would like to highlight are some of the extras that readers might not have realised. We were unfortunate to be in Hoi An during a rainy week, do not bring umbrellas, every room is provided with them. Don't worry about taxi's and the cost from Da Nang airport, the Betel Homestay will pick you up and take you back for $17 each way, some taxi's will try and charge more. Just email the hotel with the time you want picking up, it is seamless!

When you try their free bikes, instead of turning left at the main road to the town, try turning right, there are numerous Restaurants and little shops that are very walkable. Carry on along the road to the beach, about a 20 minute flat and enjoyable ride.

A pleasant walk in the evening is to turn left immediately out of the hotel road and walk down by the river towards the town, there are numerous cafe's etc.

The food at the hotel is very good, but you may wish to try something else, my reccomendation would definitely be Ganeesh an Indian Restaurant in town, fantastic!

You will not be disappointed at Betel, so friendly so helpful and may I say genuine. Thank you so much to you all, you deserve every good review you have. Will be back and reccomend you to all that ask.

I must also mention the beautiful gardens and birds, thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    134
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
180
371
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place has everything for the perfect family vacation, a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of Vietnam's bigger cities. Beautiful peaceful gardens, large rooms with verandahs and great pool. Food was fabulous in lovely outdoor garden setting. Very helpful and friendly staff that all went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. One of the highlights of our entire to trip to Vietnam was the complimentary dinner with the staff which is provided by the owners. This provided a great opportunity to talk with staff about their lives in Vietnam.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good as there is only 6 or so on the property and all self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gusower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been in Betel Garden in December 2010 for a few days and were so amazed from the location and the friendly atmosphere that we decided to come back in February 2013 for 10 days. After 2 years it was like coming home, almost all the staff was still there, what speaks for itself. During our stay we met a lot of guests coming back like we did.
Coming the fourth time to Vietnam we opted this time for a balance between sightseeing and relax. Therefore Betel Garden was the ideal location: quiet garden, excellent true Vietnamese food, friendly staff and Hoi An or the beaches a few minutes away with the bicycles provided by the house.
We would like to say Thank You to the “Betel Garden Family” for the wonderful time we spend with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tildra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here Feb/March and couldn't have picked a better place. It's about a 25 minute slow walk outside of Hoi An, which suited us well, as the peace after staying in Hanoi was very welcome. Every member of staff would always greet us by name whenever we came back from our wanderings. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and he got a lovely cake aswell as a bouquet of flowers. We also celebrated our wedding anniversary and got a flower arrangement. I think it's these sort of touches that set hotels apart from each other. I had a manicure and pedicure whilst there and the girl doing it made an excellent job.
We used the free bikes a couple of times ,once to go to the beach only got lost once, but mostly walked everywhere. We arranged a river trip through them, which was a fun afternoon out.
We did make the mistake of leaving it too late one night when we wandered out to get a meal, and found most of the restaurants closed, so always go out before 7 if you're looking to eat.

If you want a friendly place to stay , then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy68lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

After some debating we decided to book the Home stay villa – the considerations were a normal hotel ( and expensive one) in the town or this homely place which had so many good reviews
SO wrote a couple of emails to Ms Vang who was very prompt in replying all my concerns and queries. Then finally booked 2 rooms for 4 of us for three nights. I tried to transfer some money for deposit and it would nto go through and Ms Vang was very kind enough to keep the rooms for us without any deposit. They also arranged the airport transfer – which turned out to be a very comfortable seven seater car.
As we were driving towards the Villa through some residential area and dusty small roads my friends first reaction was “we will shift to another place” . They were worried about mosquitoes and insects !
But as we drove into the Villa gardens I felt confident that this was not a mistake
We got a great welcome and a nice long drink of passion fruit as we booked in.
The rooms are comfortable , clean and well kept.
The place is small with beautiful gardens and a swimming pool and the staff are very friendly.
They also organise a complementary dinner ones a week and it gave us a chance to meet the other guests
The breakfast is good enough as well
Overall a comfortable experience but my friends were paranoid about insect bites even though there is a big net over the beds !
I have no complaints
Taxis are arranged very quickly and costs under $2 to the town and bikes are also provided
Stayed FEB 2012

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTrip2India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I traveled to this location in July 2012. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was wonderful...great room with plenty of privacy, quiet pool, bikes for use, close to town and beach, great food and reasonably priced in room massage service. We also enjoyed many cold beers from the in room refrigerator. Took a cab to town at night, which was very easy, and arranged by the hotel. Biked to beach during the day. Wish we had more time, but we were covering a lot of ground and so stayed just one night. Good for families too. When we stayed there were several families also enjoying all the good food and nice gardens and pool. We used the hotel to arrange transport from the train station in Da Nang, so it was turnkey. Ms. Vang was super sweet, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ketel_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Careful not to be too negative as we have not stayed here. We would have liked to however were told upon arrival that we did not have a booking.

Got the impression owner not very good at checking her emails (only way to book), I think this led to our unfortunate misunderstanding. Did try to confirm our booking several times however never got a response, would advise ringing to check bookings. Staff were very friendly and helpful, can't say much for owner.

As the owner kept telling me...no deposit, no booking. If you do make a booking and haven't yet made your deposit, chase it up!



Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#40 of 134 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.3 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#19 of 134 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phuc Thao Villa
Phuc Thao Villa
#75 of 134 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruby Boutique Villa Hoi An
Ruby Boutique Villa Hoi An
#124 of 134 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Property: Betel Garden Villas
Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing