We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hoi An!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Betel Garden Villas
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed August 11, 2011

What a lovely place to stay in Hoi An. Warm, friendly hosts, who organised whatever we asked for including private car trip to My Son, a three-hour boat trip with our very own boat, free bicycles every day, delicious pho for breakfast and an invitation to a family dinner one evening where we met other guests and enjoyed a wonderful dinner with delicious Vietnamese home cooking and enough beer to sink a ship. The room was large, comfortably furnished, with an ensuite bathroom clean and equipped with shower and bath. Extras like free laundry and wifi really make Betel Garden a special place to stay. It was easy to get taxis in and out of the old town at night and during the day we rode bicycles to and fro. A gentle 5-10 minute ride got us to the heart of everything in Hoi An. If we ever return to Hoi An, we will stay at the Betel Garden.

Room Tip: The family room 108 is huge and private, tucked away in a corner of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kren2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 774 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We only left Betel Garden this morning and already we miss it. It has been our favorite accommodation so far on our trip to Vietnam and would highly recommend it to all our friends and family. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The meals the best and cheapest we have has so far. The food was very fresh and tasty. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The swimming pool very welcoming after a hot days shopping.
Betel Garden is a pleasant 15 mins walk into town and we always felt safe wherever we went. Hoi An in general is an amazing place. We will definitely be back and we will be staying at Betel Garden home stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul_and_Marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This past July my wife and I stayed at this home-stay for six days. It was undoubtedly one of the highlights of our trip to Viet Nam. The entire staff of Vuon Trau were friendly, kind and courteous. The rooms are quite spacious and meticulously kept. The food was definitely a high point. We never had a meal we didn't like - the food was delicious and the service friendly! Airport pick-up and drop-off were easily arranged (as were the flights themselves). We were looking for a tailor in Hoi An and they recommended us one that we were quite satisfied with. Overall, it was great to be a little outside the hustle and bustle of Hoi An (15min walk) in a quiet oasis of lush vegetation after a long day touring/shopping et cetera.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevinM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are large and individually spaced apart in a lovely garden. The bed was comfy with a good net and the ensuite bathroom OK. The hosts are professional, very used to dealing with tourists and very friendly and hospitable.They invited us to a delicious dinner with them one night. This was a lovely thought and gave us a chance to meet the other people staying. I really enjoyed it here and I'd recommend it, but be aware it's a short taxi ride out of town (too far to walk in the sun). You will be able to find slightly cheaper places in town. Breakfast is very good here too. They offer trips, but they looked like you were just subcontracted out to larger operators. The trips we did were fine, but again, you may be able to find cheaper in town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon_Whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is basically a hotel rather than a homestay but the staff were extra friendly. The rooms were dated but perfectly clean and adequate with air-con, tv, internet etc. It also had a better swimming pool than we were expecting which was a bonus. However it was slightly more out of town than we were expecting, about a 15minute walk which can be a bit scary at night as the homestay is off the beaten track however they provide free bikes which we used to ride to the beach one day. The breakfast was ok but nothing special and the airport pick up from Danang was overpriced. We also asked them to book us tickets for a bus to Hue which they said would be non-stop and for tourists but it was actually a bus for locals that had lots of stops and was dirty and hot - not worth the money we paid for the tickets!
Overall, a nice place to stay however you may consider somewhere closer to the town. We absolutely loved Hoi An, it is beautiful at night with lanterns and great restaurants, we also got some great tailoring made in less than 24hours!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MU28traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Betel Garden Homestay for 4 nights in July, and we found it to be one of the best hotel experiences ever. Tuan, Dong, Vang and Hien were the most hospitible and cheery bunch of hotel staff we've ever met. From the moment of arrival, we felt like we were staying with family; the staff all spent so much time getting to know us and we were privilidged to also be able to get to know them.

Our first experience with the homestay was Vang's helpfulness over email helping us to organise suitable accommodation for our whole family which required 4 rooms and had to accommodate 3 children from a small baby to 7 year olds. Arrangements were also made for airport collection and also a car to Hue at the end of our trip for very reasonable prices.

On arrival, Tuan and Hien were standing right in front of the car door as it opening with huge smiles and delicious passionfruit juice to greet us and get us inducted to the homestay.

The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, well-appointed and, while a bit chintsy and twee for my normal taste, suit the image of the homestay. The rooms are quite dark and while I would normally complain about this, it kept them cool and was also useful for getting our baby to sleep for her midday naps. And because the homestay is very sociable, we spent most of our time on our front porch, in the garden, in their restaurant, and in their pool anyway rather than in our rooms.

The new swimming pool (completed only 2 weeks before we arrived) was an added bonus, especially for the kids. While the water is a bit bath-like in terms of temperature (I prefer my pool water a little cooler, especially in the summer temperatures of Vietnam), the location of the pool means that it is in the shade and so is a great place to hang out with the kids and babies without risk of burning and overheating.

The food at the homestay is delicious, authentic, and has all the regional specialities. Breakfast was made to order and is included in the room rate. The only minor complaint was, because of the style of coffee-making in Vietnam (ie slow drip), it often arrived warm at best and required a bit of a microwave to get it hot again. We were fortunate enough to be invited by the owner of the homestay for a free dinner with her, the staff and the other guests who were also staying for a minimum of 3 nights (the requirement to be invited to the free dinner). It was a wonderful event, with over 20 people chatting in to the wee hours.

As I already mentioned, we had a young baby with us (8.5 months old). She immediately warmed to the staff at the homestay, who frequently took her on walks around the garden and played with her at their own will. We felt so comfortable with the staff that they offered to do a couple of nights baby sitting while we went to a couple of restaurants in the evening after our baby went to sleep. They were extremely loving and responsible and let us know when she had woken up (she had a slight cold while we were there and so wasn't sleeping well) so we could come home. When we got back to the homestay, she was sitting smiling with all the staff in the reception area. She was well taken care of.

When we left, I am not embarrassed to say that the entire family of 8 were all a bit teary as we drove away. We miss Betel Garden Homestay and we will definitely be back. I fortunately live in Saigon so it is just a short flight away!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HongKongMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for 15 nights in July and it was amazing. The staff (Mrs Le, Ms Vang, Ms Hien, Mr Tuan, Mr Dong) treated us like their own family members. Nothing was too much.

The gardens were very peaceful and welcoming. The restuarant food was very tasty and reasonably priced. We ended up eating here half the time. The two free family dinners that we attended were a chance to meet all other guests and to talk with the staff and family in a comfortable setting.

The rooms / bungalows (only eight) are all comfortable and roomy with fresh fruit provided daily.

The free push bikes come in handy to get to the beach and into town.

Nothing was too much for the staff and they arranged a river cruise, cooking lessons and motor bike hire for us at more than reasonable prices.

We look forward to returning to Betel Garden Homestay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendyandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#58 of 162 in Hoi An
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
Maison Vui Villa Hoi An
#23 of 162 in Hoi An
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aurora Riverside Hotel
Aurora Riverside Hotel
#44 of 162 in Hoi An
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#15 of 162 in Hoi An
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#53 of 162 in Hoi An
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betel Garden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Villas

Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $32 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Betel Garden Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betel Garden Homestay - Villas is an exclusive villa retreat encompassed within a 3000 square meter tropical landscape in a small village, near the city center of Hoi An. This boutique property consists of 10 stylish villas and rooms that have been inspired by the Vietnamese concept of unity between man and his environment. The Homestay - Villas is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hoi An and a 20 minute bicycle ride from the beach. And there are also some restaurants and coffee shops like The Balance Cafe nearby. Bicycles can be borrowed for free . If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Betel Garden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing