We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good price, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #63 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Nice, clean hotel which is located at the eastern old city border. The city and main attractions are within walking distance.
When we arrived we were upgraded in a family room with two big king beds and our own computer with internet free of charge.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They tried to remember our names and practiced everytime we talked to them. Also they told us to be careful with our handbags which I thought was nice.
The breakfast is buffet style with enough choices. More than we expected for the price we paid.

Only negative point: We had some laundry which went missing and only parts resurfaced after one day

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suntraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 917 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

This older style family run hotel was fun-as well as being a very comfortable base for our three nights in Hoi An. The staff definitely make the happy atmosphere and welcome everyone with open arms...sometimes literally! Seemingly very laid back , things actually get done in an efficient manner. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, lacking in some amenities (eg room safe, jug kettle) but providing other nice touches, good wifi and boiling water for hot drinks on demand. The hotel has no lift but the stairs are gentle. Breakfast was simple but good and plentiful and other meals taken in the restaurant were tasty and excellent value. Although on the outskirts of the Historic Old Town it was an easy walk to all the attractions, shops and restaurants. If you would enjoy the slightly whacky management style, this is the place for a good value relaxing stay in Hoi An.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Best thing about this hotel was the staff: the nicest and friendliest we've met in all of South-East Asia. Free pick-up from the bus-stop, fast and reliable internet. Only a few minutes walk from the center, with lovely stores on the way, the location was great. Anna spent her 14th birthday here, and the ladies at the desk even made her a cake! Adorable set up for the rooms: rose petals sprinkled on the bed and towels twisted into swans. :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaderrjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed 5 nights and felt very welcome. Staff were very freindly and helpful, nothing was a bother and the rates were very reasonable. The room was quite large and had everything you wanted. Thanks to all the staff for our time at the Hai Au.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This was by far the most 'authentic' hotel we stayed at in terms of room quality and hotel operation. It's located only a couple of blocks from the centre of Hoi An, and has bicycles for hire, its about a 15min ride out to the beach. The rooms are basic but clean, not much soundproofing and the bathroom fans vent directly out into the corridor. Internet is available in the lobby, and the restaurant is slightly detached. What it lacked in creature comforts, it well and truely made up for in service! Each time we entered the lobby, we were greeted by a chorus of our names, and the girls were always more than willing to answer our questions. It is in a much better location than any others on the way out to the beach (I wouldn't stay any further out of town than this ... some hotels I rode past on the way to the beach are literally in the middle of nowhere!), and overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_in_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Hotel was clean and nice and located perhaps halfway between the town centre and beach (long walk or quick cycle or cheap cab from both). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful but - their suggested and nearby tailor not such great quality or price for goods received. I suggest shopping around.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelworldaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Good quality hotel, nice big rooms, decent breakfast, but I wouldn't rave about it like some. The girls on the front desk can be a little overwhelming saying hello everytime they see you - I know that might sound weird, but there it is - but the flip of that is that they obviously couldn't be more helpful.

My only real criticism of this hotel is the cleaning staff in the morning. the bedroom door gets opened to check if they can clean the room about every 20-30 minutes from 7am - not conducive toa relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#54 of 163 in Hoi An
1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#24 of 163 in Hoi An
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#59 of 163 in Hoi An
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
0.9 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#43 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $27 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing