We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice hotel with overwhelmingly friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #44 of 135 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with overwhelmingly friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

We just stayed at "Hai Au" Hotel for one night in April 2010. Having arrived at "Danang" Airport, we were picked up by the hotel's driver (we prearranged this via phone the day before) and directly taken to the hotel. This hotel is very popular with foreigners and about a 5 minutes walk to the city center of old Hoi An. The room was very nice with an efficient aircon and OK bathroom. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and very helpful. Arranged a train ticket for the trip to Hue for us without any trouble. If you want to rent a motorbike (which makes perfect sense for trips outside of Hoi An such as "My Son") just inquire at the reception. They will get one for you.

The hotel also features a nice swimming pool in case you need a short dip.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grungtheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    430
    108
    28
    9
See reviews for
154
645
168
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Austalia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

The Hai Au is a gorgeous hotel with lots of authentic decor and spotlessly clean rooms. We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by two beautiful smiling girls called Yummy and Sau. They made us feel at home immediately. Our room was huge with 2 very large beds and a sitting area. The beds were sprinkled with rose petals and had swan sculptures made out of towels. A very nice touch! There was also fresh fruit.
The hotel had a small pool which was great for a refreshing dip after our days of exploring Hoi An. Breakfast was a fairly basic buffet in the hotel restaurant but enough to fill you up ready for another day of exploring.
The location of the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the old city and about a 20 minute bike ride to the beach. The hotel has bikes for hire for about $1 a day which we made use of. There are shoe makers and tailors everywhere. I had a pair of long black leather boots make in 2 hours which cost me $60. Great value.
Overall, our experience a the Hai Au was excellent. All the staff were outstanding. Special thanks to Sau and Yummy who were always there with a smile, a hug for the kids, and to answer our many questions about Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieKear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

great stay, bikes to hire easy to get around, great lococation, quiet sleeping, breakfast ok, would have liked cereal choice and a toaster to cook toast, instead of bagettes to have with eggs.
staff are so so friendly and always speak to you by name, very personal. great to be able to use computers in foyer.
pool nice and clean. rooms good, perhaps a ceiling fan would be good.
thanks girls in reception, had a great stay. sunscreen geoff
arranges great tours for us as well, jack the fishing tour great, worth doing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worsnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We are a family of four and we had a very large room with two very big beds. The room also had a reasonable sized fridge, tv and dvd player, it also had a computer but we had problems with it but that was ok as they had four computers downstairs and there was always one available. All of the ladies at reception were very friendly and helpful, the hotel doesn't have a lift but that was o.k as the staff took your bags up to your room. The buffet breakfast was very nice and served in the restaurant attached to the hotel.
This room cost us $45USD per night and was very good value considering they had a pool much to the delight of our children.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel has an old world charm with big rooms, high ceilings, big shuttered windows and big bathrooms. Yummy, Minh, Kim and all the staff are wonderful. They are so friendly, attentive, cheerful and fun loving it's infectious and everyone feels the good vibes. Guests chat and share travel stories in the foyer in the relaxed surroundings. The rooms have air conditioning, cable tv including HBO and Star movies, lock up wardrobe, tiled floor and big bath tub in bathroom. Flowers and fruit are a welcome addition and towel "swans" and rose petals decorate bed on arrival. I found the pillows too hard so they were quickly replaced with soft pillows. The pool is cool, refreshing and private after a hot day out riding bikes to the beach or ordering tailor made shoes and clothes. Poolside there are comfortable sun loungers to relax on and check emails with free wi fi throughout the 4 floors of the hotel. Breakfast is plentiful with tropical fruits, juices, western and asian food and eggs made to order. The staf organised a cooking class for us at the Red Bridge Cooking School. Nothing is too much trouble. We have had the best time at this hotel and can recommend it to anyone who wants excellent value and service in Hoi An.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

There are some places that just work and Hai Au is one of them. From the time we phoned to book in to the time we left we were made to feel welcome and the staff were so helpful and friendly that we really wish we could have extended our stay. They knew us by name, greeted us every morning and have great sense of humour. The tailor they recommended was fantastic, especially for fitted jackets - depsite may other tailor shops warning us about those who are attached to hotels (getting high commission rates etc). We had great weather in Hoi An as well so used the hotels motorbike rental and took to the beach and Marble Mountain - must do's in our opinion. We travelled for a month in total in SE Asia and Hoi An was the top spot - Hai Au had a lot to do with this and we hope we can get back soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Splale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

My partner and I [32yrs old] arrived three days before Tet [February 2010] by unfortunately a noisy, rough bus ride from Ho Chi Minh City. On our arrival to Hoi An we were greeted by one of the many beautiful and friendly staff and driven back to the hotel which is a short walk to the main parts of town. We spent about 5 nights here and had a chilled out adventure over the New Year celebrations, we were able to hire cheap scooters from the hotel for a few dollars and we rode along the local beaches, out to marble mountain with a hand-drawn map and cruised through the old quarters of town.

The staff were very hard working and would help in any way whenever asked. Thanks to Minh and Yummy!! you girls rock!! Free breakfast and quiet, very clean, large rooms with balconies. There was a pool too.. the cliental while we were there ranged from 20 to 50 and all seemed pretty relaxed and adventurous. The weather didn't change from around a warm 32 degrees, tshirts and thongs.. perfect.

I recommend it.. it was neat, helpful and very friendly.. and a decent price. Just a short walk out of town, which was nice due to the groups of - sometimes - annoying tourists wondering around in the centre of town.

Get a [easy-to-ride] scooter, auto or semi auto.. and ride everywhere, such a good way to see much, much more. if you don't know how to ride, get a few lessons before you leave, or get a friend to dink you... or hire a bicycle.

Anyway, the staff at Hai Au Hotel really are the standout of this hotel. I've come across plenty of good hotels, but the staff here were really decent and quite memorable, I wish them all the best.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OSadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#62 of 135 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#10 of 135 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#36 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.1 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#29 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#41 of 135 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star Hai Au Boutique Hotel and Spa is only 1km from the central of Ancient Hoi An Town, and offers a swimming pool. With all its modern rooms come with free Wi-Fi and a welcome fruit platter. Tomato restaurant serves Vietnamese and international dishes and caters for 24-hour room service. Hai Au Boutique Hotel and Spa is 0.7 km from th old town and 6 km from An Bang Public Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing