We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better value that other, more expensive options!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #58 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better value that other, more expensive options!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted warmly upon arrival, and the staff were all very nice, a little unorganized but willing to help. The swimming pool was fantastic and a great incentive, really nice place to chill out and meet other travelers the receptionists will even bring you a beer if you ask nicely. Overall really good value for the money you pay. The hotel has a lot of room in public areas as well as breakfast included my only gripe was the cleaners interrupting an afternoon nap just to put another can of coke in the fridge! If your planning to stay I recommend staying anywhere but the ground floor, it's just way to noisy! Otherwise great :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole279098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    468
    112
    35
    9
See reviews for
170
703
183
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just loved our stay in this hotel. Service is great, we had the best breakfast ever (in comparition with the other hotel/hostel were we stayed and which had breakfast included), you can rent bike for the day, the swimming pool is sooooo great and it is not too far from downtown and from the beach. Just perfect!

Room Tip: We had a private room on last floor. It was perfect with private bathroom, A/C ultra powerful and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First the good points: the welcome in the hotel is very friendly with well know vietnamese smiles from staff. They always will address to you with your first name during your whole stay. The hotel is not so good placed (4km from beach, 1km from Hoi an center) but no problem for mobility: bicycles and motorbikes can be rent directly at the hotel.
Rooms are spacy, but I recommend always to close the bathroom door to avoid bad smelling in the whole bedroom... Maybe a cleaning of canalisation and sanitary installation might be a good idea. Noice is common and dont be surprised to participate to the early morning skype confirmation of your neighbourhood at 4am. You never will miss any action on the floor, f.ex when your room-neighbours will come back at 2am from their downtown trip or when the cleaning staff has its first chat on the floor at 8am (...) you will participate or you have a very very deep sleep.
Food is quit good and breakfast as well.
The surprises and (too) long discussions I had with reception for check-out was dissapointing: the transport to the airport was priced for 16dollars (the day before, it was offered for 13). First I asked to correct this, but after long discussion I was tired to loose my time due to 3 dollars, so I said I will pay it as such. Then the receptionists said that they finally agree to change the invoice. All fine, but then, the total amount of the 2nd invoice was even higher then the first! After my remark about that, they told me that they made a mistake with the motorbike rental costs. A long discussion started again.
The worst on all that was the remark from the receptionst saying "calm down, calm down" (i did even not started to argue then).
I finally paid the higher amount but with deep disapointment. i didnt see the information on the desk written "we accept cash payments only". So i had to take a bike ride to the next ATM for cash (fortunatelly i planned time enough, so I didn't miss my airplane). All in all, for sure it is not a problem of price all that but a question of accuracy: maybe the staff made a mistake to inform wrong prices the day before, but this is not a reason to say to the customer "calm down" and much more to say "sorry"
For me this experience is a confirmation for me why I prefere to book at a minimum 3star hotel and pay maybe more, but at least I will have the chance that staff will stay polite even if a problem with a customer happens. Staying respectfull with the customer is a basic in each customer service. So after all, this hotel will stay in a very disapointing memory for me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island-trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a horror night at a hotel 200m further out in the same road - what a relief it was to find Hai Au who have the best staff in Vietnam, the whole group speak wonderful English and are mischievious and funny - know your name and will help with anything and make you feel special. The rooms are super clean, bright and have excellent a/c, the pool is delightful. This is not grand accommodation, but honest and we loved every minute here. Bikes $1/day, town 10min walk max, easy bike ride to paddy fields and beach. Dinner here was really nice and cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

we arrived at 4am from dong hoi and got a free pick-up at
the bus station.
we got breakfast for free and
got an upgrade, because our room
wasn't avaiable yet.
to the ca dai beach it takes 10' (by bike, 1dollar oer day), to the much nicer beach "bach an" 15'.
the staff is very helpfull, we booked our bus tickets to nha trang and a snorkling trip in the hotel, both was great.
it takes a 5'walk to the old town with a lot of good restaurant.
just across the street areany tailors, we even got a reduction because the hotel
has it's own tailor.
we had a great time and spent 2nights more in hoi an as planned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bueschi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is poor, rooms where unclean with stained towels and blood on bed sheets. We did our laundry there which was a mistake as the job was not very well done but at less then $2 a KG couldn't complain. Te location is ok, it's a bit of a walk into town but the walk is fine. The people behind the desk is what makes this place though, very helpful always willing to do anything for you at any point an very knowledgable.

But room was not good, woken up at 7-8am every morning by people moving furniture or something upstairs. The showers are not great either. For the cost there are better places around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilcoop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was one of the best value for for the price accommodations in Vietnam. The pool put it over the top. It was a lovely, clean, colonial style building with spacious rooms, and a really nice breakfast buffet included in the price. We extended our stay here by three additional days because we were so glad to have found it. It's a short walk to all of the main attractions. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is a rooster somewhere nearby out there, so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 152 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 152 in Hoi An
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#28 of 152 in Hoi An
548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#18 of 152 in Hoi An
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#14 of 152 in Hoi An
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing