We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hai Au Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hai Au Hotel
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Staff amazingly friendly! Room was amazing. Lovely decoration with the beds. Room clean. Free water daily. Air con good. Breakfast very nice. Close to old quarter, walking distance. Restaurant had good cheap food. Room for double $28. Offered airport transport for us $15 (about 40mins). I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocopops89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    422
    107
    28
    8
See reviews for
150
625
159
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hai Au in May this year and really enjoyed it here. The staff were very helpful, providing a great service, plus there's a pool which was really welcome. They do an excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has been great for a number of reasons. I will list out some pros and cons (with the pros outweighing the cons, hence the 4 star rating):

1) Service - I thought service was excellent and I've stayed at many 4.5 tripadvisor rated hotels during my month-long vacation in Asia. They greet you by name each time you pass by the front desk, and are very helpful when it comes to questions about the area, or how best to travel. (i.e. Biking is the best way when traveling to Cua Dai beach or An Bang beach, approx 15 minute bike ride)

2) Breakfast - They have a great breakfast....serving a main breakfast (i.e. baguette with choice of butter/jam, omelette, fried eggs, etc) plus "dessert" (i.e. banana pancakes, mango pancakes, pineapple pancakes, or fresh fruit plate) and drink of choice (i.e. coffee, fresh squeezed juices, tea). I definitely made sure I ate enough each and every day.

3) Room comfort - The room is one of the bigger size rooms that you'll see when staying at a "comfort budget" hotel in Asia (i.e. my definition of comfort budget is $20 - $35/room/night). Yes, the room is priced at low $30's which is on the higher end of what I've been paying hotel-wise, but I thought the beds were very comfortable (i.e. premium bedding). They also have a welcome plate of fresh fruit in the fridge for you, along with complimentary bottled water each day.

Cons (during my stay) -

1) A/C noise - The a/c works great, it's just the noise that is quite loud.

2) TV broken - The TV had no reception, and we couldn't watch a single channel.

3) Water - Water from the faucet had a slightly funny smell, but not sure if it's the hotel or Hoi-An water in general.

TIP: Book your bus tickets from Hoi-An to Hue directly online (i.e. I used Sinh tourist). Booking online you will be charged 85,000 VND, whereas booking through them is 145,000 VND+. Long story how I found out, and I don't think the hotel is being shady (i.e. it might be the sinh tourist booking office). But just book online.

Overall, I was still happy with my stay and would definitely recommend this place to family and friends. I listed cons just so there are no surprises whatsoever. The building is a bit on the older side, but clean will always trump slightly older. Plus, the hotel is currently going through some renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel was a bit of a walk from the center of town. The rooms were nice, but the service was a bit overbearing. We entered the room to find the beds covered with rose petals, which we then had to clean up to be able to sleep. We could not enter or exit the hotel without being accosted by several different girls at the front desk, whose English was good enough for them to ask questions, but not good enough to understand our answers. The one time we needed them to do something to arrange our airport transfer, the car was late.

The breakfast at the hotel was adequate. The rooms themselves were nice and we had a room safe. You will want to use the mosquito nets when you sleep.

The hotel would be OK if it were cheaper. Overall, for the amount you pay, you can do much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is lovely and the staff, particularly the front desk staff and manager are incredible. We were met at the door and welcomed by our names. The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful, informative, and booked some excursions for us. You will not regret staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstinMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very good hotel in a good location. I highly recommend to rent a bike from the hotel and to take the ride to the beaches nearby. This way you can also easily get to the town centre, which without bike is a bit of a walk.
Staff is friendly, breakfast is good, there is even a pool on the premises, and the prices are good, this is Vietnam after all. This hotel can definitely be recommended, the only reason the fifth star is missing is the fact that the hotel is a little bit run down and you get better value for money in most other cities in the country,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Our say here was good. Friendly staff and breakfast included. Only downside was the construction on the hotel which is loud and the rooster and dog who go off at 6 am every morning. Otherwise nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverstopeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#33 of 122 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Salute Hotel & Villa
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 122 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Ruby Villa
Hoi An Ruby Villa
#17 of 122 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#32 of 122 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
0.9 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#65 of 122 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Hotel

Property: Hai Au Hotel
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hai Au Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hai Au Hotel is located in Cua Dai street, a short distance from Cua Dai Beach and not far from the Hoi An historical Old Town – a World Heritage listed site. We have a spacious and peaceful atmosphere. All rooms are roomy with a well appointed bathroom, and big balconies that have nice views. Each room has individual temperature control, IDD telephone, cable television with international channels, Mini-bar; wake up call and 24 hour room service. The sunny, spacious swimming pool is outside. We also have free internet in the lobby and Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hai Au Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing