We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lived up to expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #49 of 137 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The girls running it were just lovely and very helpful. Our room was on the bottom floor, close to reception and we didn't ever feel there was any problem with noise, only the odd scrape of a chair above. The room was large, nicely decorated with a good bathroom. The flower petal artistic arrangement on the beds was absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was fine, was surprised fries were there! The hotel is a decent walk to the old town but you know that before you book. We arrived early after an overnight train into Danang. After we checked in the staff said, "help yourself to breakfast, no charge", which I thought was a nice touch to begin our stay. We have stayed in many hotels and my son and I agreed these staff would have to be the friendliest we have had, no question!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    445
    110
    30
    9
See reviews for
161
663
175
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hai Au for 4 nights, when we arrived the staff were super friendly. They gave us a great room with balcony overlooking local football pitch. The room was immaculate with beautiful towel swans on our beds and flower petals. We had a dvd player, free water and a tv that worked. Aircon worked well. The staff remembered our names as per our passports, we tried using our actual names (different to the passport) but obviously they could not actually remember our names! It’s a nice touch but nothing special.
The breakfast was excellent, the best we had in Vietnam in this price range, some Vietnamese dishes, eggs however you like them a range of fruit and juices, bacon, sausage and pastries local and western. Very nice indeed.
The location is excellent. A walk into the old town (15 minutes) and a short bicylce ride to Cau Dai Beach (4 km).

Problem 1: there was a dog outside in the mornings that would bark for hours. No sleep from there onwards. The hotel itself with its high ceilings and marble floors makes the rooms very noisy at night i.e. you can hear people walking up the stairs and doors slamming from inside the room. Sleep was very disturbed.

Problem 2: On day 2 they started drilling and knocking concrete walls out in the room above us. When we asked when it would stop they said it would continue all day. When it became unbearable we asked to be moved to another room. They were helpful in transferring us to another one. This one on the main road and was smaller. TV did not work and no DVD player. So for 3 or our 4 nights we did not have the superior room we were first allocated. Disappointing!

Problem 3: When we were about to check out and needed to get back to Danang to catch a flight to HCMC and I took my credit card out they pointed to a sign stuck to the counter that said no credit cards. I was surprised as booking.com said I could pay by credit card. When I asked them why they had not told me this on arrival they simply responded that we should have noticed the sign ourselves on the counter. Shocking. Ok so under time constraints, in which I was freaking out as we had a flight to catch, they allowed my husband and myself to borrow bicycles from the hotel. We rushed off to the nearest bank 4 km down the road according to the hotel to get cash. My husband noticed they had given him a faulty bicycle with a broken pedal. I had to go ahead while he walked the bicycle back to the hotel. They insisted he pay for breaking their bicycle. They gave it to us like that! We refused to pay for it. I paid the bill and left, at that point the once very friendly staff were quite somber indeed.

My advice is just be aware of the pitfalls. Perhaps we struck it badly. The hotel can be super great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ciotat, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked this hotel after staying in the Hotel Elegance Ruby in Hanoi, which, I'll grant you, is an extraordinarily high standard to live up to, based on reviews I'd read on tripadvisor. I guess sometimes, it's hard to know who is writing and from what perspective. This place is great if you are travelling on a budget and, at the moment, don't care that the entire north side of the building is open and under construction. If you don't mind 20 or more construction workers walking up and down and outside your room, and the mud trail they leave. The room is adequate, but dated. The pretty swan and flowers featured on their homepage, were on the somewhat older bed. The pool is small, and in the middle of the hotel, so all the workers were back and forth, back and forth having a perv or a joke, or both! For the money, there are much better hotels out there.

Room Tip: Go to the Ancient Hotel, lots of perks, the best of which is, off the street, beautiful gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Hai Au Hotel is a slice of magic! The wonderful women behind the counter have such a delightful sense of humour and you immediately feel like an honoured guest. Our room had a beautiful old-world feel, with a small balcony overlooking a quiet side-street. The superb breakfasts in the front courtyard are a perfect way to begin the day, and the staff are always on hand with a smile, or with advice on any local tour. This hotel truly encapsulates the spirit of Hoi An. Pure delight! Perfect in so many ways!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne88_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiwu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've stayed at Hai Au hotel for a week and enjoyed everyday. They are so incredible friendly, remember every one's name, help you with everything! We wanted to buy motorbikes and they provided us a local motorbike shop. I needed to get my bag fixed, their 'handy-man' went to the market for me and fixed it there. Great service! The restaurant is also amazing. Breakfast is perfect, a lot of choice! Rooms are clean, spacious, airconditioning and clean towels. You can also ask for beach towels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudje85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend, and he still his!
Fantastic staff very helpful, they make you feel like you have stayed their many times.
Rooms spacious, clean, breakfast good, we even got breakfast on the morning we arrived.
A good example of hotels should be like.
We arranged airport pick up to save having to haggle at the airport, like wise on the return, we stopped off at marble mountain, no problem for the driver.

Room Tip: its a very pleasant place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubbleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place based on a recommendation from a Canadian family we met in Hanoi and we were not disappointed! The staff are the friendliest we have met so far in our travels of South East Asia; greeting us in the hotel whenever we arrived or departed with "Hi Dave, Hi Jessie!" The rooms were big, clean and spacious with a good TV and aircon. Ontop of that the staff go that extra mile with swans made out of towels on the bed surrounded by rose petals and a plate of welcoming fruit in the fridge (as well as complimentary bottles of water - a very nice touch!) At home we have a kingsize bed but that was dwarfed by the bed at Hai Au! (It was probably the equivalent of two doubles together!). The hotel has a nice quiet pool, bicycles and scooters for rent and 3 PC's free for use in the lobby which is very convenient when planning any onward travels! Breakfast was amazing, a buffet with so much to choose from. Banana pancakes were a favourite washed down with some delicious water melon pineapple and mango! The staff are constantly replenishing the supplies and everything is very fresh. The only negative worth mentioning but not enough to put you off visiting is the noisy neighbours backing onto reception (as mentioned in other reviews). The neighbours have a cockerel a dog and a stereo with some cheesy classics which can be noisy at times but this is not within control of the hotel who still moved us rooms and were very apologetic when we had mentioned we had heard them. Anna and Tammy were just two of the brilliant staff we could mention from reception who couldn't do enough for us. This place was the best part of Hoi An for us and we were sad to leave due to financial constraints of our travelling budget! Since moving to two other hotels (also reviewed - AVOID NHI TRUNG HOTEL!) we find ourselves saying "we miss Hai Au!"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess-Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#44 of 137 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#16 of 137 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#14 of 137 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#9 of 137 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Pham Gia Boutique Homestay Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing