We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #57 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We liked being able to walk into Hoi An and bike to the beach, both easy from this hotel. Staff were lovely, prided themselves on learning our names. We got the hotel to arrange a car to meet us off the train at Danang which was great. Rooms generous size with a balcony. The hotel is set back off a busy road but is actually really quiet, double glazed which helps. Bike hire is $1 per day so can't argue with that. There is a pool but wasn't used while we were there as shady all the time, may be useful at a hotter time of year though.

Room Tip: We were more than happy with a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    468
    112
    35
    9
See reviews for
170
703
183
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Yes, the price was about 25% more than other SE Asia hotels with comparable accommodations; however, we found Hoi An to be a bit more expensive overall. We were warmly greeted by the staff and treated very nicely always. We loved the outdoors restaurant and enjoyed breakfast, coffee, and drinks there many times. We were well within walking distance of several good restaurants, massage spots, and general sightseeing. We rented a scooter from the hotel and had a wonderful day exploring...the beach, the rice paddies, the country, the incredible herb gardens, Old City and the Japanese Covered Bridge...and much of it the drizzling rain, which eventually turned into a fun downpour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Super friendly staff. Large rooms, some with balconies.
Kim the manager is a responsible and friendly lady.
Confortable mattresses and pillows.
Good breakfast, but a small oven to warm up the French bread and the pancakes would be welcomed
Will definitely return
Rey and Sylvia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xrey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights here and loved it. Staff are so friendly and helpful, they learn every guest's name by heart-a nice touch! Buffet style breakfast was one of the best we had on our 6 week trip. Rooms are huge and very clean. Hotel is about 15 mins from Old Town but we rented bikes most days and it was a 5 min cycle, not a big deal. A good budget option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R00thie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The staff couldn't have been friendlier. They all tried to learn your name & after that greeted you by your first name. They always checked to make sure you were enjoying yourself. We arrived earlier than normal check-in time so we ate lunch which wasn't that great. However, the breakfast buffet was great. Our 1st room was room 324 which was nice. We decided to stay another night as we liked Hoi An so much & moved to room 323 which we liked even better as it was larger. Both rooms had a computer. The hotel leaves fresh fruit in the refrig. each day which is complimentary. The bathrooms in both of our rooms had a bathtub which had a shower - unusual for the hotels we stayed in during our visit to Vietnam. T.

Room Tip: rooms 323 & 324 both nice - 323 is larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hai Au for 5 nights - the room was large and spotless and the breakfast was great. The staff were really helpful on a number of occasions. Hai Au is ideally located from the old town, about a 5 min walk away and on the road out to the beach. The staff do tend to try to use your name far more than is necessary as their service and helpfulness is great anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Best service I have ever received in Vietnam

Location - less then 5 minutes walk to the old town and 10 minutes drive to the beaches. Alternatively, you may cycle there.

Staff - After traveling for about 9 hours, we were exhausted upon our arrival. However, this was all worth it when we met the staff. They made us feel so welcome. They were so warm and helpful and most of them greeted us by our names when they meet us. Even at the dinning area, some of the waitress knows us by our name.

Food - Limited choices, but they are delicious. As such, we had our dinner there on both nights that we stayed as the food taste like home cooked food.

Room - Clean and cosy. Mattress was hard though. When we brought this up to Minh, immediate action was taken. They put another layer of comforter on top of the mattress. As such, it was alright then.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the main road as the road is a heavy road; very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memory001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 153 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 153 in Hoi An
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#28 of 153 in Hoi An
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#17 of 153 in Hoi An
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Apple Hotel
Green Apple Hotel
#13 of 153 in Hoi An
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing