We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff treat you like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #59 of 148 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Staff treat you like royalty”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hai Au hotel for 11 nights so that we were in Hoi An for the full moon celebrations. The hotel was ideally situated, about a 10 minute walk to the central market, close enough to be handy for the old town but far enough away not to be disturbed by any noise. If you can coincide your stay in Hoi An with a full moon, the atmosphere is wonderful as many of the pedestrianised streets and buildings are illuminated by Chinese lanterns, which adds to the atmosphere of the old town. The Hai Au hotel is also situated about a 4km bike ride from the beach, and bikes can be rented direct from the hotel for $1 a day. All the staff without exception are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. Within a short time of arriving they know your name and always greet you whenever they see you, personally by name, which makes you feel more like friends than guests. Our room was on the top floor, with a large corner balcony, and was very spacious and well-equipped, including a laptop and earphones for Skyping. There are safety deposit boxes newly installed in the rooms. Breakfast was very good, and was served buffet-style with eggs cooked to order and the restaurant also offered a good range of Eastern and Whesbtern food, well cooked and reasonably priced. The one draw back is there is no elevator, although there are only 3 floors and they encourage you to ask for assistance with your bags. We arranged a couple of massages through the hotel, with a local spa, Aloe Vera, which were generously discounted and were extremely good.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    466
    112
    34
    9
See reviews for
168
698
182
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

+ extremely nice staff, even a bit over the top
+ good breakfast
+ you can rent a bike from the woman next to the hotel (better quality and newer bikes than the ones owned by the hotel )

- the incense was a bit too strong

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCZ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in December 2012 and found it to be generally very good.

The room was large with a good size bathroom. The bed sheets did have a number of stains and holes however, as other reviewers have commented on. There was a lot of noise from nearby cockerels on a morning which woke me early every morning, but obviously this isn't the fault of the hotel!

The hotel has a small swimming pool but this is located behind the building and was very cold so I did not use this. The included breakfast was average with toast, jam, fruit and eggs but was sufficient.

The hotel is located around a 10 minute walk from the start of the old town and everything is accessible.

The staff are excellent and very friendly.

Overall everything is more expensive in Hoi An when compared to the rest of Vietnam, but the hotel offers good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room pretty clean with large hard bed and tiny balcony. Bathroom could do with an upgrade and very dark. Breakfast great and lots of choice and nice resturant for a drink at night. Bit of a walk into the centre but that was a bonus as the centre is hectic with hard nosed tat sellers. We paid 99$ on booking.com for 3 nights based on two people sharing, okay value for Hoi An but nothing to write home about!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeblebrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived by bus from Danang and walked from the drop-off place to the hotel (about 10 min). The room was sprinkled with fresh rose petals, had a small corner balcony with a couple of chairs and a coffee table, as well as a bath tub. The hotel itself is a bit funky rather than sleek and modern as some of the boutique hotels, but the staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet extensive. Although we didn't have time to use the pool, it appeared to be very nice and clean. The location of the hotel was good, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants in the old part of town on the river. The lunch of Hue specialties we ate in the open-air restaurant was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntsinthePants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Every single one of the reviews I read on TripAdvisor said this place was great. And it was - friendly staff, clean rooms and bathroom, and centrally located. And all for ~$45. Reckon I could have got it slightly cheaper had I booked it early enough, but can't complain. Spent 2 great nights here, and reckon I'll return again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aravindvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved our stay in Hoi An, partly because the Hai Au hotel was so good. It is in a great location, near the old town and a short bicycle ride away from the beach. The rooms are large and nicely furnished - you can book a room with a computer and internet access. There are also plenty of computers in the lobby.
The staff are very helpful and friendly - a real feature of Vietnam.
The breakfast each morning was great - a good selection of fruit, as well as freshly made omelettes.
This is a great hotel to use as a base for the area and also to just hang out in and relax.
Try the Vetiver restaurant just up the road - the food is very good and the cooking class is well worth it. We had great fun, particularly visiting the markets before the class.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 148 in Hoi An
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 148 in Hoi An
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#27 of 148 in Hoi An
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#15 of 148 in Hoi An
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing