We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest staff ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendliest staff ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Hoi An. I recommend renting a bike for $1/day to ride into Old Town, 5 min. Staff was incredibly friendly and knew everyone's name. Attached to restaurant, great breakfast! Staff gave great info and good recommendations. Very nice big rooms, AC, hot showers with tub, TV, big closet, fruit and water upon arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gldeignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    448
    110
    33
    9
See reviews for
162
672
177
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

After staying at the Hai Au Hotel we made a very good decision. The price is right and so is the location of the hotel as it is a short walk to the center of town. The service is excellent as they provide welcome fruit and cold water. The staff were very polite and welcoming, attentive put not pushy like many places in Vietnam. Next time we're in Hoi An we will for sure being coming back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Hai Au, we were greeted so friendly and shown straight to our room. Presented very nicely with rose petals and origami towels. The bathroom was a little dated and the shower leaked onto the floor but this didn't ruin our stay by any means.
It was a lovely personal touch that all staff knew us by name - I understand some people don't appreciate this but we did.
Arranged t/f to Danang airport without a hassle.
We thought the location was great and we appreciated the 10-15 minute walk into old town or 5 minute bike ride. We hired bikes from the hotel for $1 and rode everywhere, it was great fun.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFNM555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I booked for 3 nights. Check in was efficient,welcome tea and fresh fruit. We had room 302. On seeing the room we booked another 2 nights. Large room with very large bed,small balcony,2 small bottles of complimentary water every day,heater for hot water.House keeping excellent. Staff always had a smile. Buffett breakfast very good. Had stir fry on our last night which was one of the best so far in Vietnam and cheaper than in town. Do not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Reception booked our onward over night soft sleeper train tickets to Nha Trang $33 dollars each.A word of warning re the train, we had difficulty getting our births as other people were in them, got sorted eventually. Toilet not good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hai Au was recommended to us by another traveller and although slightly more expensive than our budget, we are delighted we stayed there. The staff are wonderful; they treat you as their friends and make every effort to learn your name. We arrived early in the morning, having been on the night bus from Nha Trang and they welcomed us with open arms, fed us breakfast and got our room ready for us before check-in as they could see how tired we were.

The hotel is well-located and within a 10 minute walk of old town and approx 4km from the beach. The rooms are large and clean, and they provide a computer in every one for internet access. The complimentary fruit platter on arrival was a nice touch.

After we had finished all our tailoring, we rented bikes for one day and cycled down to the beach which I would recommend.

We had initially booked for 2 nights and decided on the second day we wanted to extend. When we enquired in the morning they told us there was a room available for us, however, when we returned in the evening we discovered that they had inadvertently double-booked and there was not a room. We were really disappointed about this and more so because we did not find out until late evening leaving us little time to find a room elsewhere. They secured a room for us at Hai Yen hotel next door but this was horrible in comparison and really poor value for money. However, the staff genuinely felt so bad about their error and really tried to compensate for it, offering us breakfast at Hai Au whilst we stayed next door and moving all our luggage for us.

We went to the spa that they recommended but we don't recommend this. Although the therapists giving the massage were good, they talked to each other throughout the massage, stopping the massage to talk and my therapist left her phone by my legs during the massage so I could feel it vibrate and then her move to check it (and attempt to continue to massage with one hand). They finished the massages 15 minutes earlier than they should have, and also opened all the curtains whilst I was still in my underwear so the whole street could see me. I was really annoyed with her lack of professionalism.

On the whole we were really happy with Hai Au and will gladly return and stay there next time we are in Hoi An. The staff are lovely and will go out of their way to please you and make sure you have a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Another excellent review to Hai Au Hotel. Our group of 27 stayed here for 2 nights in 13 different rooms. Every room was very clean and comfortable. A bit dated which added characters to this hotel. It took a while for our bus driver to locate the hotel. Entrance and lobby were not impressive but services were great. Breakfast was simple but fresh and sufficient. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked after reading reviews on TA and am very glad I did. I arranged airport pick up and it was so easy. From the moment we stepped foot inside hai au, we were treated like long lost relatives. The staff went above and beyond for us and always greeted us by name. We also took advantage of Anna's spa service (30% off deal) and were thrilled with our treatments inc manicure, pedicure, Thai massage, hair cut. We also hired bicycles and had a wonderful time riding all around town to the beach, market and ancient town. Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kte25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#45 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#14 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#16 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing