We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“relaxing and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

kind staff, close to old town. we had a very nice time here and can't complain about anything. we enjoyed the fruit plate on arrival. and even though the weather wasn't very hot while we were there, our toddler enjoyed swimming in the pool

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    448
    110
    33
    9
See reviews for
162
672
177
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

First day when we stepped into the room, it was certainly a surprise as the bed has been decorated with two swans and roses around. It reminds us our honeymoon in Bali island. Fresh fruit plate, computer and DVD etc in the room which are convenient. Wall paper is not frequent in Vietnam but this hotel does have it. The bed and towel are soft and comfortable. Overall, we like our stay in Hai Au hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at 304, room is a little bit smaller than the opposite ones but okay for a couple. Downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanwu_SHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

When you enter the hotel the smiles of the ladies at the reception welcome you. It’s a pleasure when in the morning you arrive at breakfast or in the evening when you return at the hotel to see these ever smiling, joyful and pleasant crazy ladies.

The rooms are rather big with a comfortable bathroom and a big, huge bed. We got lost in it… you can sleep with 5 people in that king sizer. We stayed in 2 different rooms, the only difference was the one had a PC with internet, the other one not.

The rooms can have some small hick ups though. In the first room the soap of the previous guests was still in the bad. And in the second room the water tap in the bathroom was leaking below the sink. So when you opened the crane, your feet got wet from the dripping water.

Breakfast is good and is served in buffet form (not often done in Vietnam, mostly you pick from a menu): fruit, different kinds of breads, pancakes, cakes, marmalades, peanut butter, Vietnamese soup, eggs (made on the spot upon your request),…. Every day there were also some different things. Funny enough there was even French fries and one day spaghetti served.

In summary: definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
419 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a difficult review to write. As the staff were lovely but the hotel was so noisey. We had dreadful sleep the first night. The hotel is situated next to an outdoor gym and soccer field. shreaks, screams, music and yelling came from the locals til late at night. It also has residential around it so the roosters started crowing at 3am. A busy road is also nearby so toots and vehicles were heard. then we had noise from the room above. .they did change our rooms and staff tried hard. However, ear plugs were necessary at this hotel. However, our children were in a room opposite us and away from the rooster so slept in ok. The pool was surrounded by tall buildings so not a place to relax. it is a good 10 to 15 minute walk into town but it was an interesting walk. The restaurant was very average. We didnt bother with breakfast there the second day and went into town instead. The rooms themselves were good. it was ok for our stay, and because they did change our rooms I gave four stars. I did like the beautiful swans and flowers on the beds. And they were very helpful with tours, ordering taxis and confirming our airline flights. Little things that were helpful. I thought the cleanliness was good in the hotel.

Room Tip: Not a room facing near sports field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and a mate lived here as part of our Thailand and Vietnam trip (2.5 weeks). We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was the best hotel we have lived in considering overall experience.

The staff are super friendly and know you by your name and wish you every time you pass reception. They help you with any stupid questions and queries and are happy to book any tours you want. They charge absolutely no commision on any trips and simply help you book your tour as some travel operators do not understand English. If there are free promotions they shared those with us too.

Breakfast was nice too and the hotel is good value for money.

The location is perfect as the market is a 5 minute walk away. They also offer cheap bicycle and mopeds to rent and this is am even more convenient way to travel around. A massage place is opposite the hotel too!

Rooms had AC so we had good quality sleep at night.

They also offer cheap laundry service. If I ever come to Vietnam again I would definitely live again at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandeesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Hai Au is a three storeyed guesthouse/resort. It is very close to the central market. Also it is walking distance to Tran Family Chapel, which is the starting point to the walking tour. There are about 35-40 rooms. The rooms are nice and large. So a double room came with 2 beds - a queen size and another a bit smaller. Rooms also came with a balcony. The beds had a touch of nice cloth based origami in the shape of a swan, when we arrived. The wifi is the room was fine, though a bit weak. what could be bettered ? - A suitcase rack could be added. 
The baths were fine, quite roomy. The mini bar has prices that were same as that at any department store.
The staff was quite helpful, they gave good recommendations like going to the local bank for currency exchange for a better rate as compared to the hotel. The My Son tour arranged was good. The cab to the airport was arranged at competitive Hoi An rates. The staff was plentiful at the reception area at all times. 
The breakfast buffet spread was quite ok and the attached restaurant had a good Vietnamese menu and was operational through the day

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a triple room. The room was a great size with complementary tea/coffee etc a PC and tv/dvd which was a nice touch if u like to use them.
The staff are VERY friendly as mentioned in other reviews which is not to everyone's taste but better than being unfriendly! They will try and help where possible, always quick to answer requests and offer suggestions. We did feel a little uncomfortable when they assumed we were attending there Xmas party and we had infact made plans, it seemed we had offended them by not attending.
After these good points its a bit down hill. The hotel overall is grubby, dirt and dust on most surfaces, dead insects spotted on the first day were still present when we left. Our room floor didn't seem to have been swept, feet were black after walking around. The bathroom had a mould issue as did the a/c unit which also leaked. The breakfast area was also similarly grubby, quite off putting when it is a buffet and the cutlery or plates aren't clean. The breakfast isn't particularly extensive or exciting.
The hotel is further from the hoi an 'action' than we anticipated after reading the description. For the price I didn't feel it good value for money, I'm sure there are worse places but I'm also sure there are much better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#13 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bell Homestay
Golden Bell Homestay
#16 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#26 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Property: Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing