We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes Friendly, sometimes surley staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

What I look for in a hotel is clean, safe, and affordable. This hotel had all of this, but based on reviews I was expecting super friendly staff, but one staff member in particular often was surely towards us and others. Thought this was a bit annoying, I would stay here again. The location isn't super close to the main area of town, but still plenty close for a easy walk.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 906 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We loved our stay at the Hai Au hotel. The hotel is very close to all the sights in the old town which can be easily walked around. Our room was large with a balcony, a Telly and PC and was very clean. The staff definitely make this place. Everyone was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to Cheery and Towe who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. For the price this is a great place to stay in Hoi An, which is a great town. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Peter and Becky.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As many other reviewers have stated, the rooms in this hotel are huge and comes with a PC and even a balcony. However, the photos provided on the website are NOT what the hotel rooms are actually like (well not the ones we stayed in on the 4th floor anyway!) The rooms are dated, as are the facilities - our TV didn't work, the bathroom sink/shower clogged and the bath leaked. Staff were sympathetic and fixed issues quickly where possible.
The staff policy of learning everyone's name is a nice idea/gesture but perhaps coming from a western country it did seem a little much. Having said that though we didn't think staff were pushy with selling their spa treatments/sister tailoring shop/tours. We bought suits from A Dong and got a tour to My Son with an independent agent in town for VND80,000 as it was cheaper than what the hotel offered.
The breakfast buffet selection was good, eggs and noodles were cooked to order.
We also hired bikes from the hotel at USD$1 a day - they are single speed and quite heavy/cumbersome to maneuver but far quicker to get to Cua Dai beach than walking (it's at least 3km).
It was a good hotel, but we have stayed in better quality for the price over the past 2 weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights would of stay longer but we booked our flight earlier. Staff very friendly, yummy breakfast and generally good place to stay if you are on the budget. Hotel offers bike and motorbike hire , free wifi and pc at the lobby. Recommend bike tour around city for a 1 dollar a day

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seba1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Cheap, clean and convenient. They did a good buffet breakfast, for the price, with a good selection of fresh fruits, cakes and breads, eggs freshly cooked or traditional Vietnamese rice or noodles. The hotel was just close enough to walk in to the main town or a short taxi ride to one of the two beaches. I did try and walk to the beach on Cửa Đại as it was only 3k away but it was far too hot and the last 1k was open road with no shade.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, they seemed quite laid-back and didn't try to push us into doing anything and were happy for us to keep extending our stay on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

While the overall value was good, we found the staff to be a bit invasive. We were interrogated several times about how long we were going to be in town, how we were planning to get from place to place, and why we weren't extending our stay with them. All of it seemed to be attempts to get us to stay at their hotel longer or buy commission-based travel from them. There are better places to stay that are closer to Old Town for just a bit more a night (check out the Vinh Hung properties).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A conveniently situated relaxing, relatively quiet hotel with good clean large bedrooms & pleasant staff. The rooms are attended to each day & fresh towels & bottled water provided by good & attentive staff. No security box within the rooms but valuables can be put in a sealed envelope & secured within the safe at Reception. A desktop computer is provided within each bedroom which is rare & a very good plus. The food provided is wide ranging & very good & also an excellent choice is available for the inclusive buffet style breakfast. The kitchen staff will prepare additional breakfast dishes ~ scrambled/poached/fried eggs,etc. New multi sliced toasters are urgently required as the single 2 slice toaster was way past its best & could not cope with the busy demands of the many guests during breakfast. As mentioned, all the staff were very pleasant. We did however find that the Reception staff were somewhat over familiar from the start & this became quite irritating. It was difficult to come & go past Reception with just a smile but instead were drawn in to pleasant but over familiar comments. A very good place to stay however with just a tad more professionalism required at Frontline Reception/Manager level.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 159 in Hoi An
1,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Earth Villa
The Earth Villa
#23 of 159 in Hoi An
569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#57 of 159 in Hoi An
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
1.1 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#17 of 159 in Hoi An
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa

Address: 576 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#38 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $26 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Hoi An's historical Old Town, Hai Au offers modern rooms with free WiFi. The hotel features an outdoor pool, a restaurant, and a travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hai Au
Hai Au Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing