We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Ranked #76 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed.....”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel facilities were ok but the rooms had no heating in winter and staff would only offer extras blankets.

Worse was that reception staff were always trying to overcharge you for tours and buses and transfers. A word of advice, do your research first before booking anything with them.

Also there is a bar/restaurant next door that woke us up at 7.30 every morning.

Like most places the beds are hard.

Apart from that it's ok and the breakfast was good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Hoi An and thank you for your feed back about your stay. On behalf of the hotel manager and all our staff we would like to send our sincere gratitude to you about some thing was not clearly when you booked your tour at our tour desk which it make you unhappy for that, we make sure we did not overcharge you any money because we are alwals flexible and guideline on price policy of every our services. Once again, thank you very much for your truly comments towards our Hotel, we are moving forward to fine the hotel and new facilities to offer soon to enjoy and would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

My best regards
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front office manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    211
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
242
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The buffet breakfast was nice, staff friendly (but didn't mention cheaper travel options at front desk.) rooms large and clean.

BUT do not stay here if you are a light sleeper, the hotel is noisy!!! (Old fashioned locks on doors, single glazed windows, noise from the breakfast area and pop music playing from 6am from a neighbouring cafe )I hardly slept at all in me three nights here.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicefoodnowplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Hoi An and thank you for your feed back about your stay. On behalf of the hotel manager and all our staff we would like to send our sincere gratitude to you about some thing make noisy for you, we understood for your feed back, that is the problem for our hotel which it need surmounted as soon as possible, so we will going to set up the soundproof for every room., we administered price policy are flexible for every our service as well after your feed back. Once again, thank you very much for your truly comments towards our Hotel We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel.
Hope you everything are the best!
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front office manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Good clean hotel that is walking distance to the old town.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rates a reasonable for the quality but get a room with a balcony.
I did not try the pool but it looked clean,

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tairl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear value guest,
Thanks a lot to spend time with us and your valuable comments about our staff, the room and breakfast as well, We were thrilled to read that your stay. we will forward it to our hotel manager and every our staffs, it is very encouraging for our young team. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at Hoi An Lantern Hotel in the nearest future.
Hopefully you all the very best
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front office manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a beautiful, comfortable hotel with very helpful staff. I stayed at the Hoi An Lantern Hotel for 3 nights in November and enjoyed my stay. The staff are very sweet and always make sure that you are enjoying your stay.

My room was spacious and stylish. Every evening as part of turn down service the hotel staff hand delivers scrolls of local lore and history and wishes for a good night's sleep. A very nice touch!

The hotel is just a few minute's walk to the Old Town-not a bad walk at all!

The breakfast buffet was one of the best that I had in Vietnam. It included Vietnamese and Western options +the BEST bacon I've had in ages.

The swimming pool was a nice bonus too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for having chosen Hoi An Lantern Hotel as your address of choice for your holiday. We enjoyed reading that you felt well looked after by our staff and particularly liked our breakfast buffet and turn down service. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Wish you all the best.
My best regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were greeted at the door on arrival with smiles, a chilled cloth and refreshing cool fruit drink.check in was simple and we were quickly shown to our room, which overlooked the pool and local housing. There were renovations taking place on the top area of hotel but this did not detract from our most pleasant stay. Breakfast is buffet style with an egg chef available to create egg based dishes to your liking.local dishes such as pho and rice noodle soup are also available.the pastry selection was very good, all freshly baked on the premises, ranging from croissants to rye bread with fruit preserves to compliment. There was a good selection of fresh fruits, cold meats and salad items, yoghurt and hot food items such as fried rice with egg, noodles with veg and meat-something to suit everyone.cold juices are cordials,and tea,coffee and water is available.the restaurant is very pleasant, with open side giving great views of the city. Bedroom was a good size, with comfortable foam bed.slippers and toiletries are provided,a fridge with minibar items,tea n coffee items, kettle and information pack. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel.Pool area is nice and relaxing, with beds, parasols and towels provided at no extra cost. Front office staff are very efficient and helpful, confirming our flight and transfer with airline and agent was no trouble at all.We were up early and out each day, packing a lot into our short 3 night stay,with long bike rides and visits to all the tourist sights leaving us exhausted at the end of each day. One thing I would point out is the noise from the surrounding housing - a local bar of some kind I think, with music, chatter and bikes leaving the area late at night, and dogs barking early morning - this is unavoidable with buildings so close to each other, but if you are a light sleeper and its quiet you are looking for, this may not suit. The location is superb, a short walk to the busy old quarter tailor,cobbler and market area, but far enough to get relief from the seemingly endless requests from tailor shops to come inside. There are a few eating places immediately nearby, with loads a short walk away.fresh fruit smoothies are available from an old lady with a stall nearbythe lady directly opposite the hotel is lovely and fun, and that's where we hired the bikes from.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to stay at this lovely, charming,well presented hotel with wonderful staff when in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs_n_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear value guests from United kingdom,

Thanks a lot for spending time with us and your valuable comments about Hoi An Lantern Hotel, your feed backs were the background for us to improve and develop our hotel service. We really appreciate your comments about us and we will forward it to every our staffs, on behalf of general manager and all our staff of Hoi An Lantern Hotel we would like to thank you for your staying with us on your trip to Hoi An. From our honestly heart we’re always warmly welcome you come back with us on your next holiday.
With my kindest regards,

Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front office manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lantern Hotel for three weeks and have no complaints, the staff there are loverly, friendly and fun group of people. We enjoyed their company so much, each night when we return back their smiling faces were waiting for us. They were always willing to help in anyway they could and enjoyed to have you there. We have stayed in other accommodation in Hoi An but this was our most enjoyable stay. The room over looked the pool and houses at the rear, room size was good and the bed better than most hard beds in Vietnam. The cleaning staff did a good job and where good to have a laugh with. The CEO had breakfast with us one morning to welcome us and to check everything was ok, all the staff are the same they just want to please you. At the end of our stay it was hard to say good by because these people had become our friends, they even organised a afternoon tea on the day we left. The cost at this hotel is low which allowed us to stay longer, its not 5 star but its good. We will be returning to the Lantern Hotel because we had such a great time there with the staff and the location is so handy. PS. give the cooking and lantern making a try, the trip to the market to buy supplies( including coffee) and boat ride back are good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
Thank you very much for your long visit and for taking the time to compose a review about your experiences at Hoi An Lantern Hotel. We enjoy having you stay with us and more happy than with your truly comments about our staffs, the room and breakfast buffet we would like to thank you for your joining cooking class, lantern making as well which you were happy after having it, almost we had good feedback about cooking class, lantern making and vietnamese language teaching like you, we are training more staffs whose are responsible for each class, we always want to meet all travelers like you, from our honestly heart we want to send you our sincere gratitude to you and wish you have a beautiful life. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit Hoi An.
Take care all,
With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front office manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We came during wet time. The roads were flooded, the staff were efficient, always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast were good, lunch good but the dinner not so good. Not sure why.
Currenlty under renovation, but once it's all finished things will be very good. If you have a problem jsut let the staff know and it'll be sorted in no time. The staff are trained well in customer service and friendliness. Language can be a barrier at times but be patient you are in their home and they will do everything to accomodate you. My main requirement is good service so I focus on that aspect, once the renovations are completed there will a higher competition with the more expensive hotels. The price for the friendly faces, excellent service and assistance is above excellent. The rooms are always clean and attention to detail. You get a nice little surprise on your pillow each evening which is a beautiful touch. Totally recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyjj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Hoi An Lantern Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear value guests from Australia,
Thank you for your visit Hoi An Lantern Hotel on your vocation and for posting a review. We were very pleased to read your kind comments about our staff and are taking your constructive feedback regarding strategy of the hotel’s development in future. We were particularly happy to learn that and will retraining our staff, all of them certified in hotel’ serve standard. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

With my kindest regards,
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Front Office Manager
Nguyen Duc Tai/ Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#56 of 147 in Hoi An
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#45 of 147 in Hoi An
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.8 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#69 of 147 in Hoi An
643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#44 of 147 in Hoi An
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Lantern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Lantern Hotel

Property: Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Address: 288 Nguyen Duy Hieu | Son Phong, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam (Formerly An Phu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#47 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoi An Lantern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the impression designed in the style of the people of Hoi An. Hoi An Lantern Hotel always gives you a warm experience feeling as the real people of the ancient town of Hoi An. You can enjoy your own eyes the charming landscape of the Hoi An ancient city, the river flows into the sea, the green rice fields along the trails or the bright sunrise in the morning and romantic sunset on the way down through the telescopes at the Observation of Lantern restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Lantern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Phu Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing