We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and Superb Location”
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea and Sand Hotel
Ranked #144 of 167 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed February 23, 2011

When we arrived, our receptionist was very helpful in having us relax as soon as possible. Our bed was huge and our bathroom was very clean. Had we had more time, we would've used the bath. Our "cockpit" of switches next to the bed made for an interesting lucky dip experience.

We were intially disappointed that our balcony faced the road and not the river, however when we inspected the view that we were missing out on, we didn't mind so much. Traffic noise wasn't a problem as this town shuts down early. We decided to use the Laundry Service here and had approximately 30 garments washed for $8USD. There is something amazing about the detergent they used as the smell is still noticable now, even after our clothes have been washed again.

We paid $30 p/night and compared to the hotels nearby, this was a steal. The Cua Dai Beach is a 1 minute walk and the centre of town a 10 minute bike ride. We were approximately 6 kms from the centre of Hoi An, so we hired bikes from next door ($7USD for a full day - we may have gotten cheaper if we bargained) and had a leisurely ride in to town both days we were there. The ride in to town is flat and very scenic.

If you like a lot of bread then the breakfast options are for you. We ate our first breakfast here - it was very adequate - however we walked across the road to MR MYs restaurant for his Pineapple Pancake speciality the next morning. In fact we had 3 meals here during our stay as it was very cheap, delicious and MR MY himself was very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

The facilities mentioned on wotif.com doesn´t match the reality; no gym, spa, heated pool etc.
Outside the hotel, electricity and scooters makes it very noisy...
The rooms are badly isolated which gave a powerful draught/draft
In general the hotel hasn´t been renovated in a loong time
only 70% of the breakfast menu is available
The staff was friendly

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielStephansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Once again 'wotif' had all the listed features incorrect (probably the motels fault though).

This was excellent value when compared to say a 4 star hotel at a half price special on the gold coast in Australia.

Sauna was NOT there
There WERE no tea and coffee making facilities,
and the 'free shuttle bus' cost $2!

Thanks again wotif for listing services that didn't exist.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Room was clean and ok;
Breakfast was ok
5:00AM radio was loud, but I suppose you should get accustomed to noise in Vietnam
Reception, especially when we checked out was bad; most of the times you had to be careful, they simply lied.
- cars they cared for were twice as much
- bicylcle offered for 20us$ for two hours (Rent, not buy)
- checkout: although otherwise announced and agreed, they simply did not accept CreditCards (and short time before flight departure and withholding passports till you had cash that is not really fun)
- day of checkout: when we emptied out our room, they asked for our key (they told they wanted help us) the real reason was, we did not get the key back! although not even 10:00 AM and we wanted just to brush teeth ... they key was withhold. Why? They are not supposed to tell us!
So really mixed experience: room, breakfast, close to the beach really ok (yes some terrible noise, but that is a dferent country);

But behaviour of staff mostly terrible and not adaequate.

Just as a remark: yes, we knew the names of the staff, yes we had chats and jokes with everybody. Nevertheless this was a bad exerience (the only one of a lot of hotels in Vietnam).
And even if we had no jokes with the reception, I simply except in both ways respectful behaviour.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed at the Sea and Sand just before Tet. We'd been in another hotel in Hoi An and we were paying quite a lot for an adequate room. We wanted to be nearer the beach and some one told us about the S&S. So I checked out the reviews on tripadvisor. We nearly didn't stay at the hotel because of the bad reviews. What a shame that would have been because Cua Dai was a lovely little town with great food and a fab beach.

For the size of the room with a balcony, the proximity to the beach and the price, this was a real bargain. About a third of the cost of the hotel next door. Now as far as the problems cited by other reviewers here's what I think.

1) Breakfast. OK it wasn't great. Eat what you like from what is served, Tang, fresh bread and jam, bacon and eggs and then if you're still hungry go to the local restaurant and spend $2 and get another breakfast. You will still be saving money.

2) The loudspeaker. Guess what, the hotel has no control over that. It's run by the local government. The expensive hotel next door has the same problem. If it bothers you ask for a rear facing room, problem solved. We just decided to get up and enjoy the day.

3) Staff. You must be joking. The staff were great. I have a hint for you. Get to know them and their names and you will get better service. We stopped and talked and joked with the desk staff and got to know the room staff, we were even invited to a pre Tet staff party. I find that if you treat people well you will get treated well in return. The owner Mr Tho was very hands on and everything we wanted was there for us.

4) Distance to the beach. No it wasn't right on the beach. How lazy do you have to be to complain about walking 200 meters to a beautiful beach. Plus, there were no hotels on the beach, S&S was the second closest to the beach.

5) Power outages, shuttle bus service, bugs. Guys, this is Vietnam. These kinds of thing happens from time to time. A taxi from Cua Dai to Hoi An is $2.50. Your TV didn't work? Take a walk. We had bugs in a $75. a night hotel in HCMC. We saw no bug in the S&S. Oh and how could I forget the swimming pool. Sure it was tiny but come on, you're beside the beach. The only time we used it was to cool down after walking around town and to wash off the salt after swimming in the ocean.

I seriously think that some people should not travel. The reason we travel is to see the country and meet the people. If you want perfect, stay in the Hilton and avoid this hotel at all costs. If you want a great little hotel close to the beach you can't beat the Sea and Sand.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank torontocanucklehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Not a bad hotel overall. But if you like getting up at 5 every morning than this is the place to be, since a loud speaker from over the road goes off every morning and afternoon at 5 o'clock for an hour. Other than that no more complaints and the free shuttle bus into town was nice.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiggy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 6, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
congthanhkscatbien, Public Relations Manager at Sea and Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.1 mi away
Vy Hoa Hoi An Villas
Vy Hoa Hoi An Villas
#107 of 167 in Hoi An
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Villa Hoi An
The Villa Hoi An
#128 of 167 in Hoi An
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#87 of 167 in Hoi An
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 167 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing