We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“basic and bare hotel, but fine.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea and Sand Hotel
Ranked #104 of 123 Hotels in Hoi An
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
390 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“basic and bare hotel, but fine.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

this is hotel was chosen as cheap option for a few nights, just to be near the beach. while technically there wasn't anything wrong it, it is very bare and basic.

the hotel lobby is cold and sterile, with tiled floors and bare wooden chairs and benches. breakfast we skipped!

The rooms have what you need - a comfortable double bed, cupboard, desk and chair, mini bar, and even a TV and air con - and the furniture is all traditional in style. It was pretty spacious and kept very clean. The bathroom was similar - clean, with everything you need (a hairdryer was a bonus) and surprisingly - very thick luxurious fluffy towels.

We were lucky to have a few over the river and gardens out the back. I think if you were facing the street it would be that great. Its just at the beach though, so super convenient and really you should only be staying there for the beach. It's not a super convenient location for the old town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyageindesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
27
48
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is but like a school or hospital building. Cold and sterile. I think there might have even been Lino floors. I regretted booking if, was bad weather when I was there which didn't help but the pool was empty (didn't say that on website either) and the buses into hoi an infrequent. Room large and airy, brek just average. No competition in that price range in area though. Seems more if a place for locals. As a female on my own u actually didn't feel that safe in the area

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

So close to the beach the pool didn't matter. This hotel really suited us. The shops on Cua Dai Rd. made it a great self contained local area with restaurants, street food, clothing shops, convenience stores and a little market. Back toward the bridge, first St. on the right was a great little coffee shop that opened at 0530 which compensated for no kettle!
The complimentary GoBy beach club pass got used most days as the weather was 30c++.
Sunloungers under thatched umbrellas with a little table for your G&T and lovely seafood lunch.
This part of the beach had lots of locals and near Cua Dai Rd. street food on the beach incl. whole fried crabs and delicious clam dishes.
On lantern festival night we found town to be too hot and crowded so came back to the beach covered with lanterns and locals having a great time

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have balconies to watch the passing parade
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 1960anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.A.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fine for a 4 night visit. Very rarely in our rooms so it was OK. Rooms were clean with large, comfy, clean beds. Bathrooms clean enough. Breakfast good. Had a good laugh at our teenage daughters faces when they saw the pool!!!! Ha Ha it is as big as a large bath and on main road next to carpark!! Close to beach but still close enough to walk into town. The restaurant next door (right hand side if you are looking from the front) is beautiful with great service, cheap and delicious food. Loved Hoi An!! Take advantage of the tailors - they are the cheapest and best quality throughout Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed in Sea & Sand hotel in Hoi An, Viet Nam just 2 nights because I booked a tour package from the North to the South and come back to USA.
It is just a 3 star hotel but made me really amazed with what they serviced...I loved all...the view, the bancony, the private beach, the buffet breakfast, the staff etc.
I don't intend to say so much. I just shared my experiences with you when I traveled...
I will recomend this hotel to my friends if they plan to travel to Vietnam.

Room Tip: cheap room rate but fully services. You can get anything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is well located if you want to go to the beach and do not want to stay in expensive resorts. Although this hotel needs refurbishing and an overall good cleaning, our room and sheets were clean. Staff is very nice. The pool is very small and located next to the hotel parking. We were given beach vouchers to get free towels, chairs on the beach at the Go By restaurant which is a very nice. The hotel has not really an ocean view because you can see a bit of the ocean trough the palm treas, you will see a moto parking space instead. We recommed it for a short stay but don't expect too much. Also Hoi An is too commercial for us we preferred our stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel in Danand which was great.

Sea and Sand has free shuttle to go downtown about 4 times a day. The Sandy Beach also has free shuttles to go to dowtown Danang and to Hoi An.

Room Tip: Sea and Sand has free shuttle to go downtown about 4 times a day. The Sandy Beach also has free shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Disclaimer: We stayed in the best room (405) for about $40/night. That room is on the corner of the top floor. We stayed from 8/3 -11/3.

As long as you don't expect luxury standard, this hotel is excellent with very clean rooms and close to beach. Yes, you will see marks on the walls or ceiling, and the bathroom is old but it is very clean and NOT dusty (we had to move out of another hotel in Hoi An town due to a dusty and unclean room). The room was cleaned daily. The hotel itself is old, but it has charm.

Staff are extremely friendly even though they have limited English. They helped us with any inquiry.

They have a shuttle bus to the town every two hours, four times a day. Last one leaves the hotel at 430pm. Taxi costs about $4.

Balcony is spacious and clean. A nice place to read a book if you're beached out.

Breakfast was average but sufficient.

Tip: Pay a bit more and book a room with balcony facing the main street as this would give you seaview. If Breakfast is optional, I would skip it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
0.3 mi away
Indochine Hotel
Indochine Hotel
#93 of 123 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Beach Resort
River Beach Resort
#75 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hien Hoa Villa
Hien Hoa Villa
#23 of 132 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Binh Yen Homestay
Binh Yen Homestay
#78 of 123 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Property: Sea and Sand Hotel
Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 123 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing