We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic and bare hotel, but fine.”
Review of Sea and Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea and Sand Hotel
Ranked #139 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed August 31, 2012

this is hotel was chosen as cheap option for a few nights, just to be near the beach. while technically there wasn't anything wrong it, it is very bare and basic.

the hotel lobby is cold and sterile, with tiled floors and bare wooden chairs and benches. breakfast we skipped!

The rooms have what you need - a comfortable double bed, cupboard, desk and chair, mini bar, and even a TV and air con - and the furniture is all traditional in style. It was pretty spacious and kept very clean. The bathroom was similar - clean, with everything you need (a hairdryer was a bonus) and surprisingly - very thick luxurious fluffy towels.

We were lucky to have a few over the river and gardens out the back. I think if you were facing the street it would be that great. Its just at the beach though, so super convenient and really you should only be staying there for the beach. It's not a super convenient location for the old town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is but like a school or hospital building. Cold and sterile. I think there might have even been Lino floors. I regretted booking if, was bad weather when I was there which didn't help but the pool was empty (didn't say that on website either) and the buses into hoi an infrequent. Room large and airy, brek just average. No competition in that price range in area though. Seems more if a place for locals. As a female on my own u actually didn't feel that safe in the area

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kazby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

So close to the beach the pool didn't matter. This hotel really suited us. The shops on Cua Dai Rd. made it a great self contained local area with restaurants, street food, clothing shops, convenience stores and a little market. Back toward the bridge, first St. on the right was a great little coffee shop that opened at 0530 which compensated for no kettle!
The complimentary GoBy beach club pass got used most days as the weather was 30c++.
Sunloungers under thatched umbrellas with a little table for your G&T and lovely seafood lunch.
This part of the beach had lots of locals and near Cua Dai Rd. street food on the beach incl. whole fried crabs and delicious clam dishes.
On lantern festival night we found town to be too hot and crowded so came back to the beach covered with lanterns and locals having a great time

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have balconies to watch the passing parade
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 1960anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fine for a 4 night visit. Very rarely in our rooms so it was OK. Rooms were clean with large, comfy, clean beds. Bathrooms clean enough. Breakfast good. Had a good laugh at our teenage daughters faces when they saw the pool!!!! Ha Ha it is as big as a large bath and on main road next to carpark!! Close to beach but still close enough to walk into town. The restaurant next door (right hand side if you are looking from the front) is beautiful with great service, cheap and delicious food. Loved Hoi An!! Take advantage of the tailors - they are the cheapest and best quality throughout Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed in Sea & Sand hotel in Hoi An, Viet Nam just 2 nights because I booked a tour package from the North to the South and come back to USA.
It is just a 3 star hotel but made me really amazed with what they serviced...I loved all...the view, the bancony, the private beach, the buffet breakfast, the staff etc.
I don't intend to say so much. I just shared my experiences with you when I traveled...
I will recomend this hotel to my friends if they plan to travel to Vietnam.

Room Tip: cheap room rate but fully services. You can get anything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is well located if you want to go to the beach and do not want to stay in expensive resorts. Although this hotel needs refurbishing and an overall good cleaning, our room and sheets were clean. Staff is very nice. The pool is very small and located next to the hotel parking. We were given beach vouchers to get free towels, chairs on the beach at the Go By restaurant which is a very nice. The hotel has not really an ocean view because you can see a bit of the ocean trough the palm treas, you will see a moto parking space instead. We recommed it for a short stay but don't expect too much. Also Hoi An is too commercial for us we preferred our stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel in Danand which was great.

Sea and Sand has free shuttle to go downtown about 4 times a day. The Sandy Beach also has free shuttles to go to dowtown Danang and to Hoi An.

Room Tip: Sea and Sand has free shuttle to go downtown about 4 times a day. The Sandy Beach also has free shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Disclaimer: We stayed in the best room (405) for about $40/night. That room is on the corner of the top floor. We stayed from 8/3 -11/3.

As long as you don't expect luxury standard, this hotel is excellent with very clean rooms and close to beach. Yes, you will see marks on the walls or ceiling, and the bathroom is old but it is very clean and NOT dusty (we had to move out of another hotel in Hoi An town due to a dusty and unclean room). The room was cleaned daily. The hotel itself is old, but it has charm.

Staff are extremely friendly even though they have limited English. They helped us with any inquiry.

They have a shuttle bus to the town every two hours, four times a day. Last one leaves the hotel at 430pm. Taxi costs about $4.

Balcony is spacious and clean. A nice place to read a book if you're beached out.

Breakfast was average but sufficient.

Tip: Pay a bit more and book a room with balcony facing the main street as this would give you seaview. If Breakfast is optional, I would skip it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Viet Long Hoi An Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Villa Hoi An
The Villa Hoi An
#126 of 159 in Hoi An
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ally Boutique Hotel
Ally Boutique Hotel
#121 of 159 in Hoi An
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachside Boutique Resort Hoi An
0.5 mi away
Silk Sense Hoi An River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea and Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Hotel

Address: 15 Cua Dai | Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $26 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea and Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea and Sand Hotel is located on the edge of Cua Dai Beach. It offers light rooms with private balconies and free Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool.Each room at Hotel Sea and Sand is decorated with fresh decor and tiled floors. They feature satellite TV, daily fresh fruit baskets and free mineral water.At the Sea and Sand, drinks can be ordered from the Sun Bar and delivered to the pool. There is also a relaxing spa, which offers a range of beauty and body treatments.Hotel Rooms: 36 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea and Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing