We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Hoi An”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Ranked #55 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

After researching a number of places to stay in Hoi An, I ultimately chose the Vinh Hung Riverside. I was a bit nervous at first, as locally owned hotels can be hit or miss. But I'm pleased to say that this one was definitely a "hit"! The rooms are traditional yet comfortable. The pool was a refreshing retreat in the afternoon after a morning spent walking through the old town or riding bikes to the beach. The location is just a short walk to the old town. The breakfast is standard buffet, with the usual selection of western and local foods, plus an egg and noodle station.

But the great rating is on account of the "extras", such as the very friendly and helpful staff (I was always greeted with a smile and "good morning" from the staff), the daily "Country market" where local foods are on offer gratis, plus the boat from the resort to the old town. The resort really offers tremendous value for money!

Why not a five-star review? The resort doesn't pretend to be such, which would require an infinity pool, pillow menu, the latest tempurpedic mattresses and 660 count bed linens -- all at commensurate rates. The Hoi An area offers plenty of such establishments for those so inclined.

If you're looking for nice place with a staff eager to please and great value for very affordable rates, the Vinh Hung Riverside is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

This resort was a pleasant surprise as the pictures do not fully show how beautiful this place is. The grounds are very extensive and beautifully kept with two pools, one with a swim up bar. The restaurant is beautiful with outdoor seating overlooking the river. The food was amazing and the breakfast buffet outstanding. The rooms are very large and immaculate. The street food market they have every night is very nice and they have a great outdoor bar. You are just steps away from the old town of Hoi An a UNESCO world heritage site where there are many great restaurants to choose from. Looking for a place to veg after the hectic pace of Hanoi or Saigon this Is it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey7359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I echo so many of the other reviews and so wish I could have given 5 stars but have to mark it as I see it. So much about this hotel is perfect and it clearly punches above its 4 star rating in most respects. I would stay again without hesitation but it loses a star because of the thin walls. When next door's phone rings you'll go to answer yours! You can hear the television clearly through the walls and every bit of your neighbour's conversation. The cockerel will ensure you don't miss the day too.

Also worth noting is the (very helpful) Travel Desk will not take card payments. Worth knowing when you ask them to book flights costing more than the daily ATM limit.

Nice touches are the daily food "market" in the garden and the free boat to town, although you can walk there in under 5 minutes.

The Good:
Staff friendliness
Best Location in Hoi An
Large Pool
Beautiful grounds/gardens
Huge rooms
Comfortable beds
Great bathrooms
Awesome breakfasts and great restaurant
Good business centre/computers

Not so Good:
Thin walls/noise
weak wifi
Travel Desk only deals in cash

Overall, take ear plugs and you'll love it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwayslooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Vinh Hung Riverside Resort is the best place we have stayed. The staff treat you like family, the location is perfect, solitude if you wish and typical Vietnam just outside the gate. Have been 3 years and can't wait to make it 4!

Room Tip: Try the riverside rooms, the true Vietnam on the riverside, Greta rate, great staff, great location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We travelled around Vietnam and at last settled at the Vinh Hung Riverside for a week of bliss. The Hotel staff were so gracious, especially Giang (guest relations) they all were so helpful and treated us so well.
The Hotel itself is a delight, 2 swimming pools set in tropical gardens, with afternoon Vietnamese food being served free every day.
The rooms are more than comfortable and kept very clean. Every day we had some little treats left in the room.
The location is also great with the Hotel being just a few minutes walk to get to the main area of Hoi An.
I would go back in a heart beat! It will be our lasting memory of a great time spent in Vietnam.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which was more than adequate. The executive rooms overlook the river but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentisi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

When in Vietnam Hoi An is a must. This World Heritage town is simply the jewel of Vietnam . When in Hoi An give your self a treat and take a few days here in this resort , you will love it . The atmosphere here is simply enchanting and the surroundings are simply thrilling. You will experience both the sun rise and sun set from the beach .While enjoying the " village market " each afternoon you taste a lot of delicious dishes at the beach garden. While having your breakfast in the garden you watch the fishermen coming back to their villages near by and the sound of the boats will take you back to a lot of dreams ... believe me .

Room Tip: Any room with beach view will do .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundaysytmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at resort for our second time with friends for 8 nights ,This would have to be the nicest hotel we have stayed in Vietnam, the staff 10 out of 10,the location 10 out of 10,the resort 10 out of 10,cooking class 10 out of 10, breakfast 9 out of 10.Value for money 10 out of 10. I think anyone would find it very difficult to find a better spot to stay in Hoi An.will come back and stay again.Thanks to Ms Yang ,Tan & duea

Room Tip: riverside rooms are great if you like getting up early in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $64 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing