We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Ranked #52 of 148 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This wasn’t the place we originally booked for our 4 night trip as we had stayed here last year and I was keen to try somewhere different, but after a bit of a rough start we walked here to see if they could accommodate us we were after 5 rooms and they had them, excellent, we walked through and came back to pay only to find during that time 2 of the rooms had been booked and we could only stay for 2 not 3 nights. This was fine and we enjoyed our stay, the "market' in the afternoon is such a lovely way to sample some of the different dishes and the rice wine (cough cough)
all of the staff were friendly, and the location is so convenient to the old town and all of the restaurents, it really is a great location. The ladies across the road are lovely too and the hire of bikes and motorbikes is very cheap.
one section of the hotel is currently under going renovations but this was not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearbeeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    502
    120
    33
    14
See reviews for
389
811
60
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

.







Our second stay was as good as the first.Our river facing room was spacious,great to sit on the balcony and watch the boats go by.(although at 4 in the morning they sound more like helicopters,you soon get used to them)Two pools,a large one with swim up bar and great cocktails.A smaller one for a guick quiet dip.An alfresco pool table along side the bar area is good .A new Swiss bar Manager has given this hotel another dimension.Out going and fun and can shake a great cocktail.The market set up at 4.30,a favourite,complimentary local food or even try rice wine.Relax with your food,meet travellers from all corners of the globe.Loved having breakfast on the verandah alfresco dining area overlooking the river,watching the river boats go by.A short ten minute walk into the old town for lots of great food(Morning Glory restaurant a favourite).

Room Tip: River facing villa more private the fishing boats could bother a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hairandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed 5 nights. Even better than I'd expected from reviews & photos. The place is a tropical paradise. Perfect location, easy walk into Ancient Town, can easily go into town several times a day and return to relax or swim in the huge (clean) pool in the heat of the day. Beautiful large room, everything clean and well cared for. Complimentary buffet breakfast had great variety, 2 complimentary bottles of water and fruit in you room (as well as the Vietnamise food at 4.30) each day. Only problem was the amount of complimentary food sort of spoils your appetite for meals in restaurants! This was a last minute booking when our original hotel fell through and we were 100% happy. The setting is gorgeous, have breakfast at the tables outside overlooking the river. Had 1 hour 20 min massages at the spa, very cheap and very good. Safe in room which you set with your own combination.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly1971_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a deluxe riverview suite. We booked direct with them and got a good deal with one night free.

Room is spacious and well equipped. Air con was good. Nice having a balcony that also has access from the outside so we could come and go off the balcony when our little one was asleep. Daily fruit in the room was a nice touch.

Pool was really good and we were right next to it. However, I really cannot understand after all the comments why the tiles have not been fixed. They really are very slippery. We saw a horrible fall of a 7yo girl when we were there - flat on her back and smacked her head. So dangerous.

We were woken up by boats along the river although they do cut their engines when closer. They start very early - like 5am early. It did not wake our little girl so cannot complain too much.

The market in the afternoon with food and drink is a lovely touch.

Breakfasts really are fantastic - an excellent selection and a real credit to the place.

Two of the nights we were disturbed with inconsiderate guests using the pool outside the opening hours (midnight and 0530am). They were not using it quietly either. Although the hotel is not necessarily responsible for inconsiderate guests I do think they needed to be more proactive at enforcing the rules. I went out and there were staff around both times - there is a security guard that wanders around and there was a pool cleaner. I also rang up reception about 6am and did not really get a helpful response.

Some staff are really nice but I feel like the staff in general lack the real Vietnamese charm that we have seen so many other places. They did their jobs but that was it - generally. The bartender (Swiss one) was great and the girls at the spa were also lovely. Reception staff could do with some work. Also the guards/porters who just watched me stuck on some stones with my stroller as I tried to get free. They were sitting in the shade under some trees looking over but not moving. Yes not part of their job - but everywhere else in Vietnam we found people so much more helpful.

I had a treatment at the spa and it was nice. However, no air con did not make for a comfortable experience.

You can get laundry done outside the front gate but be aware that there are now several places. The scales at the one we went to already weighed 500g before clothes went on so that needs to be taken off. Also they will try to get you to pay in dong even though it is 1US per kilo and the exchange rate was a rip off. I know - minor money we are talking here but it is another cocktail you can have!

Hotel does exchange US dollars at a good rate.

It is a short, easy, stroller friendly walk into town. It was lovely and quiet apart from the boats and the night swimmers!

We would stay here again but I think there are some things they could work on.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeandlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I thought the hotel was good. It was clean, decent service and the pool was nice. I think this may be the best option in Hoi An, if you are looking for a resort type of place near the city. The location was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great place for families and for a retreat in Hoi An. Big rooms and fantastic facilities. A little dated however the staff were great.

Breakfast was only ok however food market daily was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This hotel was in a great location. It is only about 5 mins walk into town, or you can take the boat if you really want. The rooms were big enough, and the fresh flowers and petals lef ton the bed every day was a nice touch. I stayed here for 5 nights, and this was a nice and confortable place to stay, The beds may be a bit firm for some people. The aircon in the rooms took a bit to cool down, but this was a minor complaint. they hotel put on some taste testing of local delicacies every afternoon which was great, and gave you an idea of what to order when in town. the staff were very friendly, and helpful. you could hire a scooter from just outside the hotel for a few dollars and head to the beach, or just go for a ride. I could also reccomend http://www.motorbiketours-hoian.com/ . if you want an organised motorbike tour - great tour to have see some of the real vietnam. all in all a pretty good place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0na76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#17 of 148 in Hoi An
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#64 of 148 in Hoi An
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Riverside Resort

Property: Vinh Hung Riverside Resort
Address: 111 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total 17 keys. All rooms have either private balcony or veranda or terrace with the view of garden, lotus pond, pastoral scenery, or paddy fields. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinh Hung Hotel Hoi An
Vinh Hung Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing