We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad considering hoi an is ridiculously expensive!”
Review of Hop Yen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hop Yen Hotel
Ranked #141 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
voiron
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not bad considering hoi an is ridiculously expensive!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I spent 1hr asking around for less than 10 dol but that was impossible to find! I spent 5 nights in a 4 dollar tiny room under the roof, so cheap for me was good, it had even a tv! The big con was because it was top floor it was very hot! But still better than the dorm! They even have a 3 dol room that hold just a single bed! Not even room for backpack! Service was good, they changed bedding-towel everyday and it's a busy hotel so showers managed to stay clean, internet easily available, cheap water, friendly staff,good location, safe area. I woUld go back but maybe in a cooler room!

Room Tip: Top floor is cheap but hot! Avoid dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmv38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
3
37
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The hotel looks like it needs maintenance. The room was old and not the cleanest. I felt I could find a better place with the money I paid. Breakfast was not included.
I found ants and cockroaches in my room.
Location was good. Only some staff were friendly and helpful.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiki_april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent there 2 nights this march. I was walking from a bus station down the Hai Ba Trung road and all guesthouses were quite pricey, then someone showed me this place, i had no idea it was mentioned in Lonely planet, which is usually sign that prices go up and quality down. I was shown a single room with shared bathroom for 7$ and dorm for 5$, then there is also a very very small room (just bed fits in) for 4$, it was occupied tho. The 3 bed dorm that i stayed in was at top floor (ants everywhere ofcourse. ), just a shabby attic room, to fit as many beds as possible into the hotel, but it was quiet and small. Then there are really crowded dorms at first floors, but better room quality..just make sure to see more. Staff ok, didn't care much about guests, but no wonder, when people there, come and go so often. No towel provided, room cleaned every day. Anyway its probably as cheap as it gets during season time in Hoi An.

Room Tip: ask to see more, the rooms vary a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czhunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hop Yen is your average hostel, bedrooms are clean and reasonably sized however there were a few ants in our room and the bathroom had some maintenance issues (tiles loose from wall). The price is (as far as I gathered) similar to what you pay in similar hostels nearby. We had no problems with noise in our room. The hostel is a short walk into Hoi An town but it is right opposite loads of cafes which are perfect for breakfast. There's also loads of bike and motorbike hire places right outside. I probably would look for a different hostel if I stayed in Hoi An again but it wasn't bad at all. Desk staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the stairs were a bit of a trek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I arrived very late by motorcycle and even though they were full they put me up on a stretcher in the hall. Great people at the desk. It was the end of Tet so the room rates were just plain unreasonable. Get a room facing the quiet street I had unbearably loud badly sung Karaoke vibrating my windows up until 10pm also breakfast wextra.

Room Tip: Get the quiet non karaoke side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkyStclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We paid $10 a night for a double room with air conditioning and a hot shower. The hotel was clean enough and the beds are what you would expect for $10 a night. The best thin about the Hop Yen is the location, it is about a five minute walk from the centre of Hoi An. For backpackers its perfect for everyone else i would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

if you are travelling solo, this may be one of the cheapest options in town. but a pair can get a better room elsewhere for about 10$/night. their booking prices were quite inflated too. asking 35$ for an open bus ticket that I got for $22 elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradohippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh III Hotel
Thanh Binh III Hotel
#133 of 155 in Hoi An
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#64 of 155 in Hoi An
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
#62 of 155 in Hoi An
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 155 in Hoi An
1,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
3.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Yen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Yen Hotel

Property: Hop Yen Hotel
Address: 694 Hai Ba Trung Street | 103 Ba Trieu Street, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hop Yen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central of Hoi An Old Town. Best value rooms. Travel agency. Competitive prices. Recommended by "Lonely Planet." Friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hop Yen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing