We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base while in Hoi An” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Ranked #100 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good base while in Hoi An”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Just a stroll over the river from the centre of the old town, this was great as when the hustle and bustle of the town centre is getting too much you can wander back over the bridge to your little oasis of (semi) quiet for a dip in the pool. Is just a 2 min walk to the centre of town.

We were in a villa room and had 3 people in there, this was fine, enough room and had a balcony with a table and chairs outside.

Staff on the whole were nice but sometimes a bit pushy, but that is pretty normal for Vietnam really and they certainly didn't deter us from having a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    141
    97
    52
    64
See reviews for
100
159
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

The resort is located just a stroll from the town centre of Hoi Ann. Right on the river, the restaurant, pool and balconies have picturesque views. The pool itself is gorgeous and always pleasent to swim in. The rooms have everything that you need including TV, fridge, safe etc. The free morning buffett was comprised of great food and drinks. The hotels spa facility has excellent service and very reasonable prices. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by hotel management, my partner and I felt so welcomed and valued. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt_affo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

The hotel located on the river overlooks the beautiful town of Hoi An, the sun setting as you cross the bridge back to the hotel is a sight to behold. Breakfast is excellent and very pleasent surroundings. Free internet and free printing is a bonus. Cable TV with films and sports,ESPN for football fans ;)The staff are all very charming and friendly; they take care of you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majorlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mb
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed at the Pho Hoi Riverside Resort in December 2009 for 5 nights and this was one of the highlights of our trip. Location is great...overlooking the River with water buffaloes wandering about....brightly lit lanterns floating down the river at night.....only US$3.00 by taxi to the Hoi An Beach . Peaceful and quiet. The rooms were spacious and well furnished, staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast very good. Overall we found the Riverside a fantastic place to stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank michaela_lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

My friends and I (4 of us all up) have stayed at several other hotels in Vietnam and this is the worst so far and certainly not the cheapest.

If you don't mind not having any hotwater; shower being most difficult; unfriendly staff; overprised restaurant; very little service; etc., etc then maybe this is a place you would not mind staying at.

I would not say I am a fussy traveller but I do expect the basics. For my partner and I it meant carting our own luggage to and from the third floor up and down the step in the rain on slippery tiles - apart from being dangerous that's not what we would have expeced for the price we paid.

Loved Hoi An, got some great clothes and shoes made and this almost made up for the disasterous accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank witzend_4312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Having stayed at two other Vietnamese hotels in the past week, I had expectations of this hotel combined with the official advertising (brochure) from this hotel that unfortunately did not not come up to scratch (false advertising) and at best could be described as below adequate. The room rate (cost) compared to other hotels across vietnam over a two week period was very high for little comfort in return.

Where do I start.. perhaps the biggest warning which I fail to understand is that whilst the resort is situated across the river from the city, there is no mention that you have to carry your luggage your self on arrival across the bridge to the resort as taxis cannot cross the bridge.

Housekeeping can be described as just adequate, service pathetic and unfortunately I wish I had of stayed elsewhere.

My travelling companions agree that it is time that the resortt underwent a makeover as it is tired and badly in need of some attention and management education. You cannot have a decent shower as the shower head positioning on the wall requires you to hold the shower nozzle with one hand and wash with the other. The night prior to departure I had no hot water and it took one hour to establish from management that they had fixed the fault 20 minutes after my reporting however it would be another two hours before I would have hot water.... not good considering a early departure was required.

Hoi An is a culturally enriched township, great tailors and makers of shoes and a town that needs exploring and I would encourage fellow travellers to visit Hoi An but stay somewhere other then this tired and lack lustre facility.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed for a few nights and it was mediocre. The rooms were ok, breakfast ok etc etc. It is in a good location, right across the bridge to the town. On our last night a typhoon occurred and we had booked flights, these were cancelled and it was strongly suggested that we stayed. Our room flooded and so we moved into the hotel part, we woke the next morning and the whole reception area had also flooded overnight. The staff (who were so keen on having us stay the previous night) told us that they were closing the hotel and so we HAD to leave. The restaurant is terrible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#126 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.8 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#48 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#62 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van Loi Hotel
Van Loi Hotel
#77 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Property: Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#60 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing