We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Ranked #113 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our room was full of insects and the beds were to hard to sleep on. This was for the management however, no reason to give us any discount or compensation. On top of that, the breakfast was terrible.
Don't go here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 262JorisL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    150
    100
    54
    67
See reviews for
113
162
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Pho hoi before. It is close to everything, but out of the hustle and bustle. We stayed in a Bungalow and it was roomy enough and clean. Unfortunately the beds were extremely hard and I had to order extra quilts to try to put some padding on the bed. They really need to learn to put the chlorine in to the pool at night instead of the morning and maybe put a little bit of cold water in to cool it down or find a way to cover it for part of the day so it doesn't get so hot. Breakfast was average for Vietnam. The staff were very helpful (although our friends did have some issues with room changes). The manager is only relatively new and is slowly implementing changes to this hotel. Of course if they do too much then they need to put their prices up.... Value-wise this hotel is great value for money. The manager was very helpful on a number of occasions and we would certainly stay at this hotel again. Our previous visit we stayed in the main hotel rooms and they were certainly not on the same level as the bungalows. Spend the extra - It is well worth it!!!!! Whilst in Hoi an we did the day trip out to the island. We had a lovely day. Lunch was okay. Beach was lovely. Hoi an is fabulous for shopping and relaxing on their beautiful Palm Tree shaded beaches!!

Room Tip: Go the Bungalow!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel has all it needs to be a good resort (swimming pool, nice location, spa, etc). Unfortunately it is not very well managed and maintained. Rooms are not very clean and look old-fashioned. Personnel doesn't seem very efficient. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaLizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are sad to be leaving the Pho Hoi Riverside Resort today - although excited at the adventure of the rest of our trip. The Management and staff of the Pho Hoi Riverside Resort in Hoi An have provided us with the best possible service and attention during our 5 day stay.
I took ill in Saigon - and had it not been for the Consierge finding an English speaking Doctor to come to our hotel room to treat me - I doubt I would have been able to continue the trip.
We cannot speak more highly of this hotel - clean rooms - excellent service - highly recommended to any travellers looking for moderately priced accommodation with 5 star attention from staff .... Thank you Pho Hoi - we will always hold happy memories of our trip here.
From married couple in their 60s.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel should be shut down. The service is awful the staff try to rip you off and when they're not doing that they're doing nothing but sitting all around the hotel looking somber.
The air con didn't work properly in my room and it was unbearable! I didn't sleep for 3 nights and no option to change rooms.
The food was disgusting and I never saw anyone eat there. The staff didn't know how to open a bottle of wine and asked if I could open it for them.
Rude service, dirty rooms (I had a gecko and a mangey cat in my room) and terrible food.
Do not stay here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyShay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is a little old & run down, however its location is pretty awesome. You can walk to the old town in less than 5 mins. We rented a few bikes & rode around the area, that was probably the highlight of our trip.
Breakfast is ok, not a huge variety but definitely better than the places in Da Nang.
The beds are really hard & curtains are so thin we were woken by daylight around 6am everyday.
I'll probably stay here again if I come back to Hoi An.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuTieuGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinchang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

hotel is very near to the ancient old town. try as much food as you can when you are visiting the old town. rent a bike and explore the beach area as well. you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: choose the room with the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#58 of 156 in Hoi An
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#120 of 156 in Hoi An
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#145 of 156 in Hoi An
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Huy Hotel
An Huy Hotel
#123 of 156 in Hoi An
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pho Hoi Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pho Hoi Riverside Resort

Property: Pho Hoi Riverside Resort
Address: Hamlet 1, Cam An Ward Town, Quang Nam, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#69 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pho Hoi Riverside Resort is ideally located on Cam Nam Islet. Access to the center of Hoi An ancient town is by a beautiful bridge across the Hoi An River. It is in a very convenient location, close to trade centers, the post office, hospital and bank. Guests can come to the resort by road or waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pho Hoi Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pho Hoi Riverside Hotel Hoi An
Pho Hoi Riverside An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing