We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time just as good as the 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hoi An Trails Resort
Ranked #61 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“second time just as good as the 1st”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was our second trip to this area of Vietnam this hotel is great. Just out of the town 3km a nice walk in the evening to town, and the staff were great. I would stay here again no worries as we stayed here 2years ago it still did not disapoint.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    372
    94
    40
    17
See reviews for
225
436
57
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We were confirmed to stay at the River Beach Hotel but due to error either by the hotel or booking. com there was no room available on arrival. The staff were very apologetic and suggested we stay at Hoi An trails and called them to book a room.

First impressions of Hoi An trails were very positive. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and the resort had lovely gardens around the pool and a very relaxing feel. Rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. Not so relaxing was our first night with very noisy families in our block who shouted, slammed doors and ran around during the night, combined with cockerels at 3am and a chainsaw starting up at 7am. Staff understood that we were hoping for a relaxing 4 days and switched our room to a much quieter area of the hotel (had to live with the cockerel at 3am but this is Vietnam afterall ;)

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and tasty bar/pool food although didn't have dinner in the hotel. The trails roof top cafe didn't ever seem to be open nor were there staff at the pool bar or the riverside cafe which seemed strange but you could order food at the main bar to be brought to you.

The hotel is not in the centre of town but there are several shuttles a day and only $2 in a taxi. Sun loungers at the beach were a bonus but don't bother trying to eat at their beach restaurant - there was never any fruit juices/shakes and the service was lousy. Next door was great though and highly recommend their grilled prawns and fresh fish & chips.

Would definitely go back to the Hoi An Trails and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orangegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

After having read several scathing reviews, we were a little sceptical about this place. Howvever, this was soon dispelled. We had a nice room in the Oleander block with its own balcony overlooking the pool. The rooms in the main block facing the road would be noisier because of the busy road from Hoi An to the beach and one of the lovely staff told us that there were a couple of barking dogs as well. We had a quiet nights sleep each night.
The breakfast each morning was good with a good choice, the fresh fruit being the highlight. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We did not eat here much but found that their Pho Bo was as good as we had anywhere in Hoi An, albeit a little expensive. There is a couple of restaurants within walking distance, I wouldnt recommend Cocos which is just up the road.
It is a good idea to book the complementary bikes the day before as there is a limited number. The regular shuttle bus to town and the beach is good (and reliable) but dont be afraid to catch a cab as it only costs $Au2 and a motorbike is less.
Al in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Last year we stayed at Hoi An Trail with our three teenage daughters, this time we stayed with friends. Both times we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and have plenty of space. The breakfast is good, nice selection, but the same each day. The pool is great surrounded by lush green gardens. However the internet access is poor. I will certainly return to Hoi An Trails it is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We arrived at night and had no trouble with booking in. Our rooms (4) were all on the ground level near the bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We stayed for 7 nights and ate at different restaurants, keen to try lots of local food. We spent a lot of time in the pool and although the pool was a little old is was very refreshing, especially after a few hours shoppoing in town. Take a trip to the beach and make use of the bikes from the hotel. Used both Mis Lan and Miss Van from across the road, both were very friendly and laundry service was good value. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Adorable hotel, all staff very friendly. They have a complimentary shuttle to the beach and bus which is great and very helpful and the driver is fantastic, really sweet and kind. breakfast is great with a lot of choice and variety. Rooms are huge, although request one that isn’t overlooking the neighbour’s yard with the cockerel and the fighting dogs at three in the morning. Really lovely bath room with a huge bath and separate stand up open power shower unit, which was really great and powerful.
It really is a beautiful hotel, the pool is really relaxing and refreshing after a hard days shopping.
The welcome drink and fruit in the room is a really nice additional touch and I would certainly stay here again if I am ever in Hoi An again- which I hope will be soon.
There are two laundry services across the road Miss Lan and Miss Van. We used Miss Van-I think (the first one on the left with the smaller space). She was half the price of her neighbour $1 a kilo and very sweet, even if she shrunk our clothes a little (or maybe that was the noodles)
There is a great place for dinner the other side of the river called the riverside restaurant with amazing food and fantastic wine, it is also very clean which is not always the case.
Yaly is a must!!! Just watch out for the shark that tries to accost you on your way out and drag you to his mothers shop (who then becomes his sister after 10mins; we fell for it and were so unhappy with the stuff we got from him. Once he has your money forget about customer service.

But Hoi An Trails is a must for anyone visiting Hoi An and a trip to My Son is well worth it but take plenty of water...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmanova, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

It has a huge pool and the food and service are great. An extensive and delicious breakfast buffet was included in my $55 USD/night booking though Agoda. My "Tamarind" room was large, clean and well appointed with a pool view. Ly and Lan are most helpful at reception, and Linh is the dining room is a sweetheart. I like that the hotel is situated in a quiet spot on the beach road, Cua Dai, Mango Rooms features pan Asian cuisine with a spicy latin twist. The street food was fantastic: cau lau, a local noodle salad dish, with the best version available in the market; Hoi An pancake and crispy Banh My sandwiches with their contrasting flavors. Thank you Anthony Bourdain for your recommendations! Don't be afraid to interact with the girls selling trinkets on the beach, you'll enjoy surprisingly interesting conversations. The highlight of my trip was hanging out with Ha, a talented young tailor who works at Minh Phuong, 69 Phan Boi Chau Street, at the four corners in front of the bridge to Cam Nam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dchodongdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#83 of 152 in Hoi An
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Trails Resort

Property: Hoi An Trails Resort
Address: 276 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#39 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Trails Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Trails Countryside Resort provides a new approach of taking care of the requirements of guests. Whatever you want or need, we are there to ensure that everything is taken care of right down to the smallest details. Hoi An Trails Resort brings you to the local culture, the natural environment and particularly the normal life of Hoi An people, that you can feel in every facet of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hoi An Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Trails Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing