We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #78 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights & loved our stay. The room was basic but nice with lovely french doors that opened to a nice balcony to sit & watch the world go by. The buffet breakfast had a good variety of food on offer & a cooked to order egg station, with the added bonus of lovely views of the river. The pool area was great to have a swim & relax, it has a pool table and bar located here as well. Just keep in mind that alot of tour group companies use this hotel, therefore it can be a bit rowdy at times. Also next to the pool area was a day spa to have a nice massage.The location of this hotel is very good. Just a short walk across the bridge to the Old Town & right opposite the hotel is a shop to get laundry done, buy drinks, hire bikes etc. Overall, if your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a great location that won't break the bank, then this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    210
    62
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
151
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Recommend this hotel, great value, very clean and well maintained. Friendly, helpful and professional staff. Great pool for cooling off, fantastic for our 3 year old. Short walk to Old Town across bridge. Bike rental, cheap laundry and cheap beer all available on the street outside hotel. Organised trip to My Son and airport transport/transfer to Danang. Some noise from pool bar in evening but quiet after 9pm.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room on the upper floor if possible with balcony facing away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a good hotel for a couple of day stay, but it wouldn't be a place I jump to recommend though I don't know the competition in the area. Rooms are comfortable enough and there's nothing special about the bathroom, though at least the shower pressure is good. There is a good pool and a pool table, plus there's bar food available and a spa, none of which I tried, but it all looked good. Location is near the town, but it's quite a small place so I don't know where others would be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We recommend! Take the cooking class with Ly, swim in the pool and enjoy the morning sun. The staff are so friendly. The hotel is not far from the old city. It's in walking distance or you can rent a bike from across the street. Very easy to get around. We had a great time here:)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank youarethebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Van loi has been a great choice for us. The pool is clean and refreshing with a pool bar at its side. The food was great! We also had the chance to take a cooking class right from the hotel. Our cooking teacher Ly brought us to the market in the morning. She explained the different foods at the market. From the market we went back to our hotel to cook the food. We had a great experience. We will make these dishes again.
All the staff at the hotel have been so accommodating. We would come back again. I recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late evening and were greeted by two green-eyed dragons guarding the front entrance. The foyer was reminiscent of a pagoda, with lovely dark wood carvings and furniture. Instantly impressive!
We had 2 adjoining rooms on the 4th floor that we asked to be linked. The rooms were large enough with outside balconies facing towards the countryside and river.
The airco was a little erratic and the bathroom a little dated, but this did not detract from the charm and friendliness of the hotel and its staff.
The staff like to help with anything, and provide drinks if you are waiting in reception for more than a few minutes!
Breakfast buffet was nice and fresh; the accompanying views were spectacular.
The pool was a welcome relief after a hot day in the old town; watch out for the dragon!
It's a short walk over the bridge to the old town and market, and this keeps it nice and quiet at the hotel.
Very happy with our stay; would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HelenGHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire.
Level Contributor
273 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My first impression was not good but, in fact, it is a lovely place to stay. Large bedroom, clean with a balcony. Lovely pool area and very good breakfast served in the restaurant on the top floor with great views. My only gripe would be that the bathroom is in need of updating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#130 of 141 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
#5 of 141 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
#68 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing