We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking class at Van Loi Hotel”
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #85 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cooking class at Van Loi Hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Value for money this was the best cooking class that we have been to. We began with a boat ride to the markets for fresh produce and a tour of the markets. Fresh vegetables, meat and seafood were purchased for our cooking class. What a magic experience!! We thoroughly enjoyed walking through the markets and seeing how fresh our ingredients were. While we waited for a boat to the hotel we were given a sugar cane drink. Back at the hotel we were taught how to chop and slice the ingredients for our meals. Spring rolls were first on the list. They were easy to make under the expert chefs. We then prepared Braised Pork, Banh Xeo, vietnamese pancakes which were delicious. We finished with Bo, an avocado based drink which was very unique and invigorating. All this for $25.00! The cooking class was very hands on and the chef had a wonderful sense of humour. Miss Ly and Miss Vy were most helpful at the market and during the class. We would thoroughly recommend the cooking class.
Note - you do not have to stay at the hotel to do this cooking class.
Reg and Cheryl - 29 March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    214
    64
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
151
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have spent two nights in Van Loi Hotel. The friendly staff is very helpful and supportive. Restaraunt has a great view. Food is not too expensive either. But be prepared to wait a little longer for food to arrive just like anywhere else in Vietnam.

My room was right above the pool and the bar. Since the room was not noise proof, I had a little difficulty in getting some quiet time till about 12am. It is a family friendly hotel and very much closer to the market, bank, other eating places.

Can't forget the small tailoring shop next to it. I got two dresses made and it is much cheaper and good quality compared to the shops in the town. The owners are very helpful and oblidge to your requests.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and the bar might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhavi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked for three nights and ended up staying for two weeks because we were so happy at this hotel. The staff were consistently polite, friendly and helpful - they found us a kettle because the one from our room was missing and they found us an extension lead so that we could both use our laptops at the same time, all within minutes of arriving.

The room was well decorated, clean and had a pleasant view over the pool and a nice balcony. We were well supplied with toiletries and drinking water and the staff cleaned our room efficiently every day.

The breakfast was buffet style including fresh fruit daily and a mixture of Western and Asian food including eggs cooked on demand. Unlimited tea and coffee, and all served in a spacious rooftop restaurant with lovely views across the island and river.

The location is convenient for all the ancient sights and monuments, the main shopping streets, restaurants and across the road from a bike hire. The pool is clean and well maintained.

I definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again if we visit Hoi An again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 125Kaithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra-Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I Stayed here on a contiki tour. The rooms are everything you need with a small balcony. Clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely and the attaching eight ball table was welcomed by myself and friends along with the bar. I spent some time with Lilly at the day spa. Please go say hello! one of the nicest ladies I've meet whilst being in Viet Nam. The hotel is very convenient to town. Just rent a bicycle and you'll be there in 2 minutes. Hoi An is beautiful and i have the fondest memories from this hotel, spa and town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeekkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights during a Contiki trip in which we spent time in Hoi An, which has now become one of my favorite visited cities on the planet. Without going on a diatribe about how perfect this city is, I have to attribute much of my dream-like stay in this town to the hotel as well.

Check in was straight forward. My room had a beautiful balcony view of the swimming pool and the room itself was quite spacious, very clean, and had ice cold air conditioning which was a must for Hoi An at the time of year I went (April). The room came with a safe, as well as the usual Vietbnamese hotel accoutrements of a toothbrush, toothpaste, etc. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was updated and very clean.

One small complaint - my key never worked. I had to always ask a worker to unlock my door for me because there was some sort of trick to turning the key the right way. Can't say that was enjoyable when I was in a rush to go to the bathroom! But overall, this is a small point.

The breakfast is included and is on the rooftop deck, which gives you a splendid view of the lush, green countryside. The food selection itself was surprisingly vast and included your standard toast, to an omelet station. I was impressed and satisfied. The location of the hotel is quite good as well, mind you, everything is walking distance. This hotel is just across the bridge from the main small town which is super rustic and which makes you feel like you literally stepped back in time, about 100 years back in time, the moment you walk across the bridge.

There is a great and cheap laundry service down the street as well as a moped rental. I won't even get into how gorgeous the city is. For those who don't like stairs, which this hotel has a lot of, fortunately there is an elevator. It is a very rustic and romantic hotel and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with a group. Myself and one of the other girls had to get our room changed bc of the strong smell of mold. Definitely do not stay in rooms 101 and 102 by the pool. Wifi doesn't work in room. Walking distance to everything. Has an on site spa. Breakfast was ok. Outside of hotel was nice but rooms were very old. Wouldn't recommend

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love coming to this Hotel, were the staff treat you like there family, everthing is first class they even gave me a birthday cake, have been out to dinner with them, miss Lee at the reception is the warmist person you will ever meety my wife & I went out with her & her family, we have been to there homes for dinner everthing you will love these people, they ring me when I go back to Australia to make sure I had e safe trip

Room Tip: stay as long as you can & savor every moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#66 of 152 in Hoi An
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#56 of 152 in Hoi An
867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#64 of 152 in Hoi An
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 152 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
#102 of 152 in Hoi An
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing