We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! Ladies across the road was the best thing!”
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #97 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Horrible hotel. Can hear every single noise made is this place. Very noisy staff and the pool area created a lot of noise that travelled up into our room. You can hear every door being opened or closed and don't expect a good nights Sleep at all. They didn't get our booking so chucked us into a dirty room with no hot water for our first night. Then moved us the second day. Staff seem ok but limited English for reception staff. Security doesn't seem very secure. Found staff laying on guests beds watching tv while they where meant to be cleaning them. Breakfast was very basic, I suggest eating in town. Female manager seemed nice. Floors outside of rooms around hotel were extremely dirty. Best thing about this hotel is the lovely ladies renting out bikes and doing laundry across the road! They were lovely and very kind!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 552 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

RATS are just not my thing and to see them running around the pool/bar area is just a vision I cannot get out of my head. I do not understand some of the reviews on TA about this place. As we were leaving the hotel I did find it interesting the staff came up to me and was asking me to write a 'glowing' review on the hotel on trip advisor and bookings.com. So I have left this review for a few months to try and be as objective and honest about this hotel as I can. We were part of an organised tour and I'm very disappointed in the travel agent booking this hotel for us. I have visited Hoi An 3 times and there is much better quality and standards of hotels available in this price bracket. The hotel did not feel safe, the security was inconsistent and many locals not staying in the hotel were walking in and out and around the hotel. We were short a room and needed a room for part of our tour group and despite availability for a room being available on expedia, bookings.com, agoda etc they front reception would not sell a room. I had to 'store' luggage at my expense at a hotel near by and come back to the hotel at 6 pm to try and get a room. Which by this point had become available. VERY stressful when you are travelling with a group and this hotel obviously specialises in group tours. I also found it extremely frustrating a room was available to sell but even though I was standing at reception in the hotel they would not sell a walk in room for the night, despite 7 other rooms being booked in the hotel with our tour group. Interestingly enough the staff seemed to have many of the rooms for their own space at least 2-3 rooms which in High season could be used as guest rooms. Finally the room I received stunk of cigarette smoke (not good if you are an asthmatic), had no electrical points that worked and the existing ones there were burnt out. None of the bedside lamps worked. The next day I asked reception to move rooms and they just starred at me blankly. I asked for the manager-they asked why and denied a manager being on site. I basically begged, the manager came. I got to move rooms. The manager seemed nice and was willing to help. Unlike front desk staff. The second room was better it had one electrical point that worked, the shower didn't- I was there only one more night I'd live. I agree with one of the previous reviews that I found it strange that staff would sleep in blankets on the floor in the corridors. Breakfast was very average and had just enough to start you off for the day but was nothing substantial. Overall I have travelled in budget accommodation before but this was the poorest standard of any hotel I have experienced in Asia. The final guest appearances of Rats around the pool area just highlighted to be the type of hotel we were in and as said previously the Melbourne based travel agency we used could really offer alternatives to tour groups in Hoi An.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had an excellent night at this hotel. It was very peaceful, staff were helpful and spoke English. We had a spacious and comfortable room with an excellent bathroom. Check out was 12 pm. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. We had a lovely room with a balcony which got amazing afternoon sun.
Good buffet breakfast with eggs cooked your way when you want them.
Miss Ly is amazing. She recommended a tailor to us and we are so happy with the quality and the price was fair.

Would definitely stay here when we return to Hoi An in the future.

Tip - get a room on the front side of the hotel because the wireless signal is better there. We could only get wireless in our bathroom!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ambebich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Writer,

Ms Ly and all staff of Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Van Loi as home away from home..

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four nights it was perfect for many reason being away from the market area was a bonus. it was quiet throughout the day breakfast was amazing, great selection. We were invited to the local New Years celebration which was very entertaining with a great range of food. I must make special mention for Mrs Ly the front desk manager who was very helpful from the very start she was always at the front desk happy to arrange private tours for great prices. Nothing seemed to much always greater you with a smile and never required a room number when you collected the key. I arrived after traveling on a sleeping bus for 24 hours at 0800 Ms Ly took care of my bags should us up to breakfast and had room ready for check in by the time we had finished for no extra cost great start to our holiday thank you so much

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 400Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Writer,

Ms Ly and all staff of Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Van Loi as home away from home..

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If it wasn't for my lousy neighbors, it would have been perfect. I had a room with a balcony and pool view. Regrettably, these rooms have connecting doors, so you ear all the noise from the adjacent room, but other than that the hotel is perfect ! Well located, not in the "busy area" so you do not get bothered by all the honking noise, yet close enough to benefit from all the advantages of the old town. And the staff is just wonderful, especially Miss Ly ! So I recommend it highly !

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are very nice but depending on neighbors, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Writer,

Ms Ly and all staff of Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Van Loi as home away from home..

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The last review i find unbelievable. I stayed at Van Loi at the same time,still here and i am loving it. The peoplr who wrote that review seem crazy to me... they want cheap accommodation but expect 10*. Yes there has been a bit of noise, but it is the OFF season and they are working hard on improvements which is good to see. The rooms are big and spacious and with flat tv with satellite if you are bored. Tuyen has such a lovely smile ...Ly is always helpful and Hong presides over reception with knowledgable authority. Nothing is too much for them. The cleaning staff are so friendly. Breakfast on the top floor is wide and varied.Fron pho to cornflakes (and even cocopops for the kids).
I highly recommend this hotel.... ignore the bah humbugs who wrote and thankfully left before.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisinviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Writer,

Ly ,Tuyen ,Hong and all staff of Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comments on everything during your recent stay with us and we can't be complacent, but still have a long way to go and our aim is to make any single guests who select our Van Loi as home away from home..

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel
Long Life Riverside Hotel
#145 of 163 in Hoi An
933 reviews
1.1 mi away
Venus Hotel and Spa
Venus Hotel and Spa
#10 of 163 in Hoi An
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
#100 of 163 in Hoi An
705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Botanic Garden Villas
Botanic Garden Villas
#110 of 163 in Hoi An
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing