We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OKish”
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #87 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“OKish”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel was OK, I was not too happy about the location, as you need to walk back trough a dark,desserted alley. They have a lovely pool, however there was a lack of towels when I was there. I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast, but that was compensated by the amazing view we had from the restaurant. As for the rooms they were ok. The view from the balkony was not great and I have seen cleaner bathrooms. All and all it was ok but I have sene better in Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibabever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    214
    64
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
151
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a trip to Hoi An. The hotel is located approx 5-10mins walk from the town so it is relatively quiet. Although this is an older hotel the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious and the room I stayed in had a balcony overlooking a lovely swimming pool. The staff were fantastic - very friendly, helpful and attentive. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of fresh, tasty food and a nice dining area on the 5th floor overlooking surrounding rice paddies. The laundry service at the hotel was cheap and efficient. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Melz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff were lovely and attentive. Well situated for the old part of the town, a good value hotel with traditional style dark wooden furniture, pretty dresser with carved birds. Breakfast was good, delicious pho Bo and lovely hotel top views as you eat.

Outdoor swimming pool was very refreshing; there's free pool and excellent cocktails at the bar. Mr tho directly over the road does laundry for 1usd per kg, and his wife is very friendly and cheerful - highly recommended.

Bathroom a little worn but clean, sheets were nice, beds very comfy. Overall very good value and makes a change from the usual hotel rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A lovely change from your typical hotel. Loved the character and lay out. Much nicer to stay close to the old town. Everything within walking distance. Much nicer to be able to travel out to the beaches during the day and be close to the best restaurants and night life at night.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor. Couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 4* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had the most amazing holliday my stay at the VAN LOI was one of the high lights the staff are just fantastic, so verry helpful, from the reception to the cleaners they can't do enough to help you, went out for tea & coffee late one night with three of them, you must try the massage the lady her name is Har & her friend cheeky are wonderful, loved the food loved the hotel loved the staff

Room Tip: pool view up the top I have found is the best, in my 5 stays at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank COLIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our room was really worn down and not pleasant. It was spaceous and had a high ceiling and a nice balcony - but the general feeling was that it was long overdue for a renovation. Especially the bathroom which was terrible. It was probably clean, but it did not look like it. We were unfortunate too have a room close to the stairs down to the lobby, and all noise from downstairs could easily be heard in the room. The location was not optimal either, as one has to walk in a quite dark and not too nice street and cross a bridge to get to the centre. I would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EiB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a really great time there! We would definitely recommend this place. Rooms were super clean, the hotel is well maintained. The staff was so, so helpful, especially Mrs Ly. She is simply adorable!!! Always willing to help and she knows everything about the area!
Thanks for everything :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 156 in Hoi An
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.9 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#55 of 156 in Hoi An
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#64 of 156 in Hoi An
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
#11 of 156 in Hoi An
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#78 of 156 in Hoi An
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing