We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solo trip”
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #87 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“solo trip”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had the most amazing holliday my stay at the VAN LOI was one of the high lights the staff are just fantastic, so verry helpful, from the reception to the cleaners they can't do enough to help you, went out for tea & coffee late one night with three of them, you must try the massage the lady her name is Har & her friend cheeky are wonderful, loved the food loved the hotel loved the staff

Room Tip: pool view up the top I have found is the best, in my 5 stays at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank COLIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    214
    64
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
151
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our room was really worn down and not pleasant. It was spaceous and had a high ceiling and a nice balcony - but the general feeling was that it was long overdue for a renovation. Especially the bathroom which was terrible. It was probably clean, but it did not look like it. We were unfortunate too have a room close to the stairs down to the lobby, and all noise from downstairs could easily be heard in the room. The location was not optimal either, as one has to walk in a quite dark and not too nice street and cross a bridge to get to the centre. I would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EiB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a really great time there! We would definitely recommend this place. Rooms were super clean, the hotel is well maintained. The staff was so, so helpful, especially Mrs Ly. She is simply adorable!!! Always willing to help and she knows everything about the area!
Thanks for everything :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of an Intrepid trip. It is a walkable distance into town, but why walk when you can ride a bike and be there in one minute :) I loved this hotel - breakfast is on the roof with an amazing view, and the food is really good as well. It is nice and quiet, and the rooms are gorgeous. The pool is great and the staff were nice. I would definitely stay here again if I came back on my own.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedeypie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Writer,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that for your kind voting us as “ the hotel is value for 5* " .

Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013. This was a great little hotel. Location isn't that good, but that was fine because just down the road we could hire a bike all day for just $1. If you dont like riding bikes then I probably wouldnt stay here. Even though it isn't really that far to town, taxis are hard to come by if you need one and after looking around and shopping sometimes the walk back is long in the hot weather. I would have given a 4 rating for the hotel, however the beds are SO hard and uncomfortable. I was sick one night unfortunatley and the bed here made my experience even worse. The hotel does have a nice pool though and we did use the room sevice once and that was fast and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you are the tourist trail then this hotel is ideal. Visit Mr T next to the hotel to have all your linen expertly cleaned and pressed. He also rents out bikes too for touring the area. Across the street are 2 friendly bars which sell cheap 333 and tiger beers. The pool in the hotel is also good.
It's a 5-10 min walk into town across the bridge.
Say hello to Mr T for me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located across the river from the busy part of Hoi An so very quiet at night. Around a 10 minute walk to the centre of Hoi An, via the Cam Nam bridge, so easy to remember how to get back.
Tidy well sized rooms. Polite and friendly staff.
Breakfast had a decent variety compared to other hotels in Vietnam.
A couple of shops conveniently located directly across the road for laundry and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spiros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Writer ,

We enjoyed reading your review about your recent stay at Van Loi, in particular your comments about polite and friendly staff. Furthermore, it was a pleasure to learn that you liked our breakfast buffet.Once again, thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#64 of 155 in Hoi An
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.9 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 155 in Hoi An
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#65 of 155 in Hoi An
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
#9 of 155 in Hoi An
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#79 of 155 in Hoi An
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing