We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many good things but also improvement potential” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Grafing
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Many good things but also improvement potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

As a family of 5 we stayed three nights in this hotel. There are some things that we found really good:
- really nice rooms with a lot of space and a balcony (superior rooms)
- the hotel is built around the pool so you can always have look at the pool
- breakfast is served on the top floor with a view to the river
- quiet location
There´s some improvement potential as well mainly regarding the service (it was low season so there weren´t so many guests around)
- the hotel people seem to be very fond of internet and smart phones so were sitting in front of their smart phones almost all the time
- the reception people usually sit in front of the computer doing internet things
- breakfast staff is usually sitting or hanging around instead of filling things up

Room Tip: Take the superior rooms over agoda they cost only a few dollars more and have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Writer ,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better .We are pleased to learn that you really enjoy our rooms and location .

Unfortunately, there are not good problems occured with you . All of your feedback about our Staff will drive us in the utmost attention .

Thank you very much for your thoughtful of us and we look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back with us in the coming time with the surprised improvement.

Yours very truly,

John Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    206
    62
    29
    15
See reviews for
93
148
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location of the Van Loi Hotel, just a short stroll to the markets and old town, is what brought us back for our third stay.

We have always booked a Suite, a bargain AUS$48 per night with a massive teak canopy bed and typical Asian hard as a rock mattress. Friends booked a pool room with balcony, top choice.

The bathroom is simple, large but basic. We had plenty of hot water but frankly it was that hot during out stay, we usually had the water luke warm!

The rooms unfortuantely do have paper thin walls and can be frustrating if you are the type of traveller who stays in your room all day and evening but can also be annoying when travellers leave early in the morning in large groups not be respectful.

Breakfast service and presentation has dropped quite a lot. No staff member seemed to be around on two of the mornings we stayed and there was no checking that the buffet was kept stocked and clean and tidy. The roof top restaurant has great views to sit and start your day with a hearty breakfast but standards need to be lifted.

The pool was nice for a refreshing dip, as it was hot, hot, hot during the day. The Salon attached to the hotel could learn to be a little less pushy when guests are sitting by the pool.

Please visit Miss Hong's little shop across the road and to the left, for nice cold beers, laundry and bike hire. We could also recommend the Tailors right next door also, prompt and good quality without the hassle. The Sleepy Ghecko is also great for a night cap and dip!

Room Tip: Get the pool view rooms though the Suite rooms are lovely and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldricandBaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Writer,

Ms Hong asked me to tell you that "thank you very much for your attention to my shop .All best with for you ".

Our Management is very pleased to hear all feedback from our valued guests like yours who really took your precious time to give us all of your thoughtful & considerate comments and we believe that we have only grown up "bigger" as we have found some great friends like yours who always support us along our professional by giving us the very thoughtful & constructive ideas.

All of your feedback about Rooms ,Restaurant and Spa will give us in the utmost attention and we will remedy the shortage during our daily operation as we would like to be the top-notch service provider in this industry.

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Located 5 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Hoi An ancient town. It's a good hotel that suits it's purpose. A place to sleep and shower etc when on holidays.Furnishing is dated but it didn't bother us. It adds character to the hotel with the ambience it's trying to stay true to- which is traditional. The only thing we faulted with this hotel is that I wished they considered adding fans/vents within their bathrooms just to air out the bathroom as there are no opened windows. House keeping is superb. Rooms made everyday. Staff friendly, fresh fruit given daily. Enjoyed our stay at the Van Loi Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuAndGreggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Writer,

Our Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your great comments on everything during your recent stay with us , but we will try to better and our aim is to make any guests who select our Van Loi Hotel as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back with us in the coming time.
Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Travelling with a group of 6 families, we arrived at this hotel to spend 3 days in Hoi An. The main entrance and the lobby area look quite nice, so the first impression was pretty good. Upon arrival though in our room though, it did not take us long to decide to go back to the reception to ask for another room as the one we were given had no windows. The next room that we were given was much better. The bedroom was decent with a good working air conditioning, but the bathroom clearly needed renovation and was not clean. Three other families we were travelling with had complaints as well. One room was very dirty and had to be cleaned twice. Two families decided to move to another hotel.

The way the hotel is designed with rooms around the pool makes the hotel very noisy. The staff speaks very loud, and this echoes throughout the facilities. Doors are being slammed, furniture is moved around and on top of that there was renovation going on with drilling that woke us up early in the morning.

The hotel has a nice swimming pool, but the area around the pool is too small. The pool is good as a refreshment at the end of the day, but not a place you would like to hang around during the day.

We had to get up at 5am the last day of our stay, but our last night in this hotel was disturbed by our neighbour watching TV all night long. We put up with it until 3am when we called the reception. It turned out to be a staff member of the hotel in the next room who refused to switch off the TV. The receptionist had to intervene twice to convince our neighbour to switch off the TV.

All and all, not such a great experience in this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OmeJuup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Writer,

Our Management is very pleased to hear all feedback from our valued guests like yours who really took your precious time to give us all of your thoughtful & considerate comments and we believe that we have only grown up "bigger" as we have found some great friends like yours who always support us along our professional by giving us the very thoughtful & constructive ideas.

There could be some misunderstanding here as our staff never sleeps in the guest room. Your room is next to 312 room . This is the room of a guest is staying.

Thank you very much for your thoughtful of us and we look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back with us in the coming time with the surprised improvement.

Yours very truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice traditional decoration throughout hotel and rooms, our standard twin room was spacious and had a nice view of farms from the balcony (but no glass windows so you only see it if you open both the wooden shutters and doors, which we only did once because it was summer and extremely hot). Only rooms have aircon because the corridors are like verandahs looking down to the open-air pool in the middle of the pool. Pool is quite pretty and refreshing to dip into, with bathing chairs around it as well as a covered area with tables and chairs as well as a pool table. The spa is decently priced (~$20 for a full body massage), and we easily talked the lady into offering us 30% off, but we ended up going to one of three even cheaper (but very basic) spas just down the road. View from breakfast is spectacular, and it is nice and refreshing to breathe in fresh air during breakfast. Also, breakfast area is spacious and noodle soup and omlettes are cooked to order. As with all hotels that we stayed at in Vietnam (selected by Intrepid Tours), reception spoke English and exchanged our AUD for VND at a good rate. Bike hire for $1/day right next to hotel and laundry right opposite hotel is a bit over $1/kg and is done within 1 day.

However, the bed was covered by a sheet without quilt or blanket (there were blankets in the cupboard but I didn't trust their cleanliness), the pillow was so hard that I slept without it, we could hear people coughing from the room next door, wifi didn't work in our room, there were ants in our bathroom, the bath gel and shampoo bottles were clearly reused and the water coming out of the tap smelled like sewerage!! For these reasons, I would not stay here again, but it's a shame because all these negative points could be fixed by better management. Also the hotel is located on the other side of the river from Hoi An village, so it's a 10min walk to get to the main shopping area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a larger balcony and nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Writer ,

Many thanks for your thoughtful & constructive comments that help us to look at our daily operation for non-stop improving our level of services better & better. We are pleased to learn that you have good comments about our hotels, such as: your standard twin room was spacious and had a nice view of farms from the balcony , Pool is quite pretty ,breakfast is spectacular, breakfast area is spacious , it is nice and refreshing to breathe in fresh air ...

Unfortunately, there are not good problems occured with you . We have arranged a blanket each room, except standard rooms. Your opinion is very great for us to re-arrange all the rooms are covered with blankets. Besides, I'm sure all the clean blankets. You can also ask if you want a soft pillow. hard pillow can be compared to you, but it would be normal for all.

"The bath gel and shampoo bottles were reused profile clearly," This problem did not occur in our hotel. Housekeeping staff were checked before use for customers.

In addition, our wifi works very well, if you encounter any problems, you can ask the support from our IT.

In any rates, since you are not thoroughly satisfied with your stay and that is our mistake due to whatsoever reason. Please accept our sincere apology and we still look forward to welcoming you and your family back with us .

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

About 15 minutes walk from the centre of Hoi An, this hotel has lovely architecture and décor. Rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour group. There is a nice pool to relax in or lounge around. The walk into Hoi An is very pleasant and quite picturesque.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Writer,

Our Van Loi feel very encouraged & motivated with your great comments on everything during your recent stay with us , but we will try to better and our aim is to make any guests who select our Van Loi Hotel as home away from home.

We look forward with pleasure to welcoming you back with us in the coming time.
Sincerely,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel has lovely architecture, is close to the main area of Hoi An - close to tailors, etc. The pool was lovely. The rooms were large and comfortable. However many did not have even a kettle or cup to have a drink. The security safes were not even connected - anyone could pick them up and take off with them. We locked our passports, etc in our cases. When you asked for things like a kettle they often did not turn up and you had to ask again. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful and some were not. One of our group was having a massage in the hotel and a casual staff member came into the room and took money from her bag, whilst another staff member was massaging her. My friend knew exactly how much money she had in her bag and the manager returned her money but it was a horrid experience. Another young couple had an iphone stolen in the foyer, within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel. The massages in Vietnam are wonderful however I suggest to everyone having massages anywhere in Vietnam to only take the amount of money for the massage and any tip you may want to leave - do not take your bag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveladventures2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh_Luong, Manager at Van Loi Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Writer ,

Warmest greeting from Van Loi hotel.

We would like to say thank you for your trip at Van Loi hotel and We really regret about your trouble you had at our hotel

About not having a kettle in your room, all our rooms are arranged a kettle. However, once day before you checked in, a few kettle had broken , including your room. We really apologize because we did not inform and request a new kettle for you.

Regarding the money you lost while being in massage room and Spa manager sent you the money you lost . We are sorry for this problem, and that employee had been fired after that a few days. This is not only you but also we feel very surprised. But one thing I am sure that it will not repeat again.

About young couple lost iphone in 5 minutes at lobby, We are wondering that you have actually witnessed the incident or you just listen to someone told. we really did not hear any guests complaining about this problem. And this problem never happened in our hotel. I hope you edit these issues.

In any rates, since you are not thoroughly satisfied with your stay and that is our mistake due to whatsoever reason. Please accept our sincere apology and we still look forward to welcoming your family back with us .

Yours very truly,

Jonh Luong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.2 mi away
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
Odyssey Hoi An Hotel
#7 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
Hoi An Lantern Hotel
#69 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.1 mi away
Waterside Resort & Spa
Waterside Resort & Spa
#126 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing