We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a very Poor Hotel”
Review of Van Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Van Loi Hotel
Ranked #86 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Oz
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a very Poor Hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was our second time at the Van Loi hotel and our family (two adults, two teenage children) was very disappointed. We really enjoyed our previous stay two years ago which is why we returned. However, the hotel seems to have dropped to backpacker status but they are still charging 3 star prices, $A58 per room per night. For 3 nights out of 4 nights we were woken by noisy drunks returning from bars in the early hours of the morning. There was yelling and girls screeching in the corridors, a late night swimming pool party, TV sets blaring. The staff seemed unwilling or unable to do anything about it. The staff at reception were fairly indifferent except when trying to sell tours or direct us to their shop in town. Breakfast was very poor. Limited selection, no juice only cordial, the “hot” food was at best warm and often cold and the cereal was soggy.
About the only good comment we could make about the hotel is that there is a very nice outdoor pool.
There are many hotels of all standards in Hoi An and we strongly recommend avoiding the Van Loi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    214
    64
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
151
66
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Reading some other reviews I wonder where people had the problem as we certainly did not. The hotel is old fashioned but its Hoi An, you're mainly there to see the ancient Vietnam life. The room we had was very spacious and very clean, although the bathroom was a little old fashioned - I dont care how clean it is, a shower thats better than a dribble really would of been appreciated!
Yes the beds are harder than in other areas - but I did not find this nearly as hard as I was expecting - it was fine!
We used the pool which was great and regularly saw it being maintained and anything like leaves or the odd lizard being fished out.
Breakfast was ok , nothing too grand but the roof terrace setting is really nice.
Doors are a bit awkward to use and we accidently broke our key off in the lock (well, the partner did!), we went to reception and they smiled, took the key and got us a new one by time we came back from dinner. We were not charged and they were really nice about it.

The location is just over the bridge so not quite in the centre but very easy to walk and we didnt mind walking around at night at all.

In our time in Vietnam this was one of our favourite hotels, it had a nice feel to it. Would of been nice to have a safe in the room though? not sure why there wasnt. We just left important things with the reception desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights after my sister recommended it when she stayed here. Thought it was ok, bit old fashioned if you like that thing, stayed at much more modern hotels elsewhere in Vietnam and you get a much higher spec hotel.

The problem was after we left. We were travelling with an Aussie who left his wallet in the internet room. To their credit they did phone us but we were on the bus to Quy Nhon. We asked them to send it on the next bus and the receptionist said she would. Then followed half a dozen calls and delays in sending the wallet. We advised we were moving onto Nha Trang shortly. The receptionist told us she had a friend travelling down and he would pick us up and take us to Nha Trang as well as giving us the wallet. We agree as we were getting quiet worried.

More delays and eventually we were told the wallet was on its way. Then the killer call came. We would have to pay $150 for the lift to Nha Trang. When we spoke to a taxi driver he only wanted $80 - we were pretty much being forced into a corner as the Aussie guy had no cash.

We did get the wallet. A guy turned up in a van at 10pm and was giving people a lift to the hotel. We gave him a $20 tip and told him we had changed our mind and were staying another night. He handed me his phone and the receptionist said we had booked him to take us to Nha Trang! I said 'thanks' for the safe return for the wallet.

We then got that taxi for $80! - very disappointed tho at how the staff tried to make some cash on the side!

Room Tip: old fashioned, if you like it like that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group. The hotel looks nice on the surface, the Libby has lots of Asian laquered furniture and a nice pool. The rooms are large and also feature nice balconies and good size bathrooms in good condition.
Two major complaints. The beds are hard, my sheet was torn, my room did not have a bedcover, and the pillows are tiny and musty, like they have been used for years.
Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, even though you see the signal. Very frustrating. It wad also broken invite lobby when we arrived and they only fixed it the next day.

There are a lit on Vietnamese families staying at this hotel, they all get up by 6 am and the kids are very loud by the pool early in the morning.

There must be better options to stay in this lovely little town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilbucofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel was AMAZING!!!! We had two nights here as part of our Contiki tour and it was definately one of my favourite hotels.

It is located across the bridge, only a short walk (5 mins) into Hoi An, or you can hire bicycles from Mr Giao (who also provides a laundry service).

We had a lovely room, with a balcony over looking the pool. Our room was huge with 2x queen beds, sitting area and large bathroom.

The pool is lovely and big, a really nice area to relax after shopping up a storm in Hoi An!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel is heavily influenced by french architecture so it is a very nice building. It is walking distance to the market and the centre of Hoi An which is it's best feature. The breakfast is ok, it was a bit cold by the time we went up so maybe they need to get new warmers. The pool is lovely, although doesn;t get much sun during the day but the beach is just a $4 taxi ride away and you can get a sun lounger for free if you buy a drink from one of the bars. We really love Hoi An because of the chilled out atmosphere and amount of bars and coffee shops. If you are looking for a suit, dress or shoes made this is the place to go!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We loved Hoi An, and the Van Loi did well to compliment our stay! The hotel is decorated in an authentic Asian style with a great pool in the centre to add to the overall look! We stayed in a room on the lower floor and found the room to be quite adequate in size! The beds however are extremely hard and it would probably be more comfortable sleeping on the floor, although we did find this to be a typical Asian trait for the beds, these were exceptionally hard!!! The breakfast was nice on the too floor with great views! Overall we loved our stay in Hoi an and the hotel was just as good' I would recommend the cooking school at morning glory and a night row boat ride in the canal! The lights are magical!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#67 of 152 in Hoi An
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#55 of 152 in Hoi An
867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#65 of 152 in Hoi An
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 152 in Hoi An
1,184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
Bach Dang Hoi An Hotel
#103 of 152 in Hoi An
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Loi Hotel

Property: Van Loi Hotel
Address: 54 Nguyen Tri Phuong | Cam Nam, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Loi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Van Loi Hotel is located in the centre of the Hoian market with all the attractions offered by the ancient town. Our terraces offer breathtaking views of Hoi An, marble mountains, Cua Dai Beach, Cham Island and the Thu Bon River. Completed in March 2004, Van Loi is rated 3 star hotel with 82 international standard rooms in a good combination of ancient and modern architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Loi Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing