We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem, total relaxation”
Review of Ha An Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ha An Hotel
Ranked #44 of 148 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What a gem, total relaxation”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at the Ha An hotel for three nights after reading reviews on tripadvisor. We had a deluxe non garden view room. The room was immaculate with a lovely high ceiling and high quality decor and furnishings. The bathroom was luxury with everything you would expect, giant towels and toiletries in little stone pots.

We were on the first floor with a balcony (altho not private, you didn't feel like anyone was intruding on you). The balcony and gardens were full of orchids and beautiful chinese lanterns.

The breakfast was included and was probably the best we had in Vietnam. A wide range of choice from omlettes, continental, traditional vietnamese, fresh fruit etc. The food was buffet style kept in a seperate room which meant it stayed fresh. We ate in their restaurant in the evening and sat under the chinese lanterns in the garden. The food was great and the setting was beautiful.

The staff were all friendly if a little shy compared to other places we stayed. This hotel certainly deserves it's number one spot. As it stands it is good value for the standard and service. I just hope that it doesn't start to price itself out as it gains popularity. At $70 per night it was one of the more expensive we stayed in and for the standard and setting it was certainly worth it but as we have seen in Vietnam you can get a lot for your money so they will need to maintain their edge and value for money to stay number one.

We used the hotels Spa and had their signature massage which was 80 minutes of heaven for $22 each.

We used the tailor recommended by the hotel, A dong silk for our clothes. They were more expensive than many others but the quality and service was good. My husband got a Hugo boss copy suit for $250 and the fit was amazing. In all they made us 5 dresses, 3 shirts and a suit in 24 hours. We also bought gifts from Reaching Out which helps disabled children get work and training.

We ate lunch at Green Moss (near the hotel) which was good and Treat Treat which did good burgers and cheap beer and Cargo which had good views of the river from the first floor, mango room for cocktails. Evening meals at Brothers cafe (lovely gardens but very expensive) and good morning vietnam (good italian food, nice clean setting) and the Hotels own restaurant which was great value for money and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckthechimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    335
    74
    22
    9
See reviews for
155
906
104
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We also wanted to stay at Ha An Hotel based on the favourable postings on this website. The rate available on agoda.com was $55.00 per night. On arrival without notice, we were offered a rate significantly higher. This was at 6 pm, with little hope of many more "walk-ins". We bought the internet rate to their attention, but they would not budge. We could have found a computer and booked online but that seemed rather ridiculous as we were standing there!. We were happy to go down the road (50 metres) to the An Huy for lot less and also a very clean, friendly, comfortable hotel.

This does not in any way detract from the class of hotel the Ha An clearly is, it just means that they are getting greedy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allwests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Notwithstanding the last negative review re price blow out we stayed in April 2010 and paid $60 to $70 per night depending on room position with a trully magnificent western style breakfast. The place is a true boutique hotel with lots of personal touches that make it a real delight. Staff are sensational and it is 300 metres from the mayhem in the markets but in a lovely quite street.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenno20june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My husband and I have used Tripadvisor as so many of you reading this review do.
It allows us to not only track down those great little finds in places around the world... but also lets the little hotel or B&B owner work hard and actually become successful without being in a travel brochure or be a huge company..
Thankfully most hotels are happy to be appreciated and get good ratings on tripadvisor and therefore end up making a really nice living.. as long as they keep providing the service....
Which brings me to the lowpoint of us using the tripadvisor system to promote good places....and to the greedy operaters at the Ha An Hotel - yep theyve hit number one and guess what they have done!??? I checked their website - looks good - send off an email only to be told the rate per night has increased by $30USD above the website price.
$30 USD in Vietnam as a rate rise is outrageous....They sent me a quote for a double for $104USD a night!!!
If we the members of tripadvisors allow high rating accomm jack up their prices like this when they hit the top then we only have ourselves to blame when it spreads right thru the recommended hotels and eventuates in all "little gems" just taking us for a ride...
As to us.. weve gone elsewhere in HoiAn for this holiday - no way is HaAn getting any of our dollars.
I hope they read this and realise that greed doesnt pay in the long run! - Hopefully their occupancy rate plumments until they bring their prices back to what is fair and reasonable - not what they think they can get due to us tripadvisors giving it a recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

what an absolutely beautiful little hotel! The rooms are luxurious: they have thought of everything- flowers, teas, fruit, awsome bathroom, the most confortable beds in the whole of Vietnam- makes you not want to leave your room! Restaurant is really good too- the spring rolls are deliicous. They light up the gardens at night and it is just gorgeous for dinner. Staff are firendly and helpful tho a little shy. Free bike hire which is a real bonus for Hoi an which was just one of the highlights of our trip- what a lovely little town- great for shopping, clothes (tailors) and beach- food is good too. Be sure to go to Ha an's 626 Spa to be pampered- quite reasonable and I highly recommend their signiature massage- blissful!
lady across the road at Dung Laundry will wash your clothes for really cheap and also hires motor bikes if youre game!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidaysSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Just round the corner from the old town, the Ha An has a lovely, relaxed setting where one can sit in the shady courtyard or on the room veranda away from the hustle and bustle of the shop lined streets. Great breakfasts, big fresh fruit bowls, water and internet are included in the price (most rooms seem to have internet in them). Bikes can be obtained from the hotel. Although the hotel does evening meals, we ate at several of Hoi An's great restaurants. Hotel can also arrange tours (tip: haggle the price) and try to go for a private tour of My Son (its far less tiring so you can enjoy the sight itself).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HestorHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Just stayed in Ha An for 2 nights and what can I say, amazing! I arrived from Danang where I picked up a stomach upset so didnt really feel like doing much. On arrival was taken into the restaurant and given welcome drink. Room was ready so could go straight in. Room itself was fantastic. Cosy without being too small with just me in there. Petals on the bed and in the bathroom, lovely and quiet, comfy bed with plenty of pillows. 32 inch LCD TV with DVD player and selection of DVD's for own use.

Hotel itself exudes charm, courtyard hotel with lovely green area at front with a couple of hammocks.

Breakfast was amazing buffet (although I had no appetite). Fellow guests were all nice. Service very good.

It is very close to centre without being right in the centre therefore quiet. Service was excellent from all the staff, always a friendly smile and hello

So in all, although I was ill, it was a great place to chill out, sleep.

Word of warning, I could only stay for 2 nights as was totally booked for 3rd night. I would strongly advise to book in advance to avoid disappointment and/or would not be suprised if prices go up. I paid 50USD a night and that is outstanding value for money!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.8 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#57 of 148 in Hoi An
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 148 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Property: Ha An Hotel
Address: 6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 051038, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just in the distance of a 5-minute walking from Hoi An Old Town, Ha An Hotel with colonial style serves a daily buffet breakfast and provides free bike rentals. It features 2 dining options, a spa and complimentary Wi-Fi access. The Hotel also offers a nice swimming pool right in the garden area and next to Memory Restaurant & Bar. This Restaurant serves Asian and Western delights, while the snack bar offers a selection of refreshing cocktails, wines and soft drinks. Both are open from 06:30 to 22:00. The hotel is a 20-minute bike ride to Cua Dai Beach and a 30-minute drive from Da Nang International airport. The property is also rated for the best value in Hoi An and great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing