We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel with charm and great atmosphere”
Review of Ha An Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ha An Hotel
Ranked #48 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

From the first time we saw the Ha An Hotel on the Internet we thought it would be a wonderful place to relax and experience Hoi an and we were not disappointed! The staff greeted us with a friendly smile and a map and advice to guide us around the Ancient quarter which was 5 min walk away. The rooms were beautifully appointed all with a safe, water (2 bottles each day), a fruit basket, computer, DVD's and many bathroom extras all complimentary? Rooms were extremely clean with towels changed twice daily. Breakfast was amazing with a large selection to choose from and the restaurant and rooms looked into a courtyard making the surrounds very relaxing. Bicycles were available free of charge for all guests. Staff could speak English quite well and were courteous and always willing to be of assistance. The only complaint would be the rooms were a little small to fit two suitcases. We would highly recommend this motel without a second thought. It was charming and a great place to relax after a hectic week travelling the north.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautifully styled hotel. Great breakfast. Towels get refreshed twice a day and the complimentary fruit basket and water bottles get supplemented daily. Bicycle available for free. The staff was friendly and helpful and their English is adequate. The room is very comfortable, leading to a small private courtyard - very romantic :-)

All in all, highly recommended.

The hotel organised for a car to pick us up from Da Nang airport, and a return ride was $36.

Room Tip: The hotel has two styles of room. The more expensive ones facing the front garden and the cheaper on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimshon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Ha An is a good option in Hoi An because it is located 5 minutes close to the Ancient Quarter. It is a nicer property than other hotels nearby (they tend to be overpriced or ugly). Ha An is visually enticing, rooms are nicely designed. Breakfast is diverse & wide-spread of Vietnamese and Western dishes. My observations since my previous stay 2 years ago: (1) stable group of staff who recognised me after 2 years. Receptionists are nicer and friendlier than waitresses who seem jaded. Even the cook is friendlier than the waitresses. (2) room seems small to me this time, especially if you have two persons with luggage each. (3) room has musty smell, and closets are damp: the papers & money I kept in the locker & closet were moistened even though it was not raining (must be morning dew that enters the room through the walls).
Here is a tip: don't make shoes in Hoi An because I have heard almost every person complaining about poor finishing and discomfort. The shoe proprietor will sweet-talk you into making your personalized pair of shoes, making promises for this and that. When the finished product appears, you will be disappointed, but the shoe proprietor will ignore your complaints and turn on to the next customer/victim. Vietnam does not have a complaints bureau, and many proprietors dont have business ethics. So dont be fooled by them. It's a dog-eat-dog world for a communist country where business people have no qualms to deceive you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. Nice hotel, friendly staff, very clean and peaceful. We did a 3 nights stay. The hotel is located in a nice quiet area and walking distant to all the small shops on the main street of ancient Hoi An. 10 minutes walking to the famous Japanese Bridge. Walking distance to local cuisine.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SandraLaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent five days at Ha An and we had an average stay.

The pick up car we organised at the airport was 15mins late and the hotel didn't inform us so we had to call and chase them to see where our car was. The driver was apologetic and we understand that these things happen but would suggest confirming your booking a day before your arrival.

The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable but are showing a little wear and tear. We did have to be moved from one of our rooms at 10pm because the hot water wasn't working and the shower wouldn't turn off but the staff were very accommodating in this incident. The rooms on the bottom floor do get some internal/external noises but nothing major.

Over the course of our stay, we stayed in three different rooms (101, 104, 103). Would definitely recommend 101 as you have a little more privacy than those backing on to the courtyard. The hotel offers spa services (overpriced and unimpressive), an outdoor pool table, use of their bikes, two hammocks, outdoor table and chairs for each room on the bottom level and a beautiful, colonial style courtyard.

Most of the staff are lovely and went over and beyond. One of the ladies helped us extend our stay in Hoi An - changing our flights and liaising with our hotel in Hanoi to shorten our stay there.

The breakfast was simple but yum! The fresh fruit juices are amazing :) The complementary fruit baskets in our room were always filled with the freshest produce from the market.

The location of the hotel is great too. As you are on the outskirts of the Old Town you get the best prices for clothing, massages etc. The hotel is only a 2 min bike ride to the heart of the Old Town which means you can quickly drop off all your shopping before heading to the many yummy restaurants around the corner.

The only advice I give you is to be careful of where the hotel sends you for tailoring/shoes. It is renowned in Hoi An that hotels get a commission (30%) for recommending certain tailors so do your research before committing to buying anything.

Overall, we left feeling so-so about our stay in Ha An. I would recommend it for a short 2-3 day max stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay on the upper level. If you want a private room, request room 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayfromhome340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous and peaceful, a stone's throw from Old Town, spacious rooms, and freshly squeezed juices for breakfast. To top it all off, across the road is the best $1/kg laundry in Hoi An.

A word of warning for anyone traveling with toddlers though, make sure you request a downstairs room. The doors can't be locked from the inside, and the balcony outside our bedroom has very low balcony with outdoor chairs against it ready-to-climb. I spent the whole stay preventing my two year old toddler from getting out and falling off the steep stairs through one door or off the balcony through the other door.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellygish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Marvellous colonial style hotel on the outskirts of the city center. The best rooms face the courtyard. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Very rich breakfast!!
Complimentary bikes available - one the best way to visit the city and the surroundings.
However:
1. Some details in the room are little diy-made - our shower box floor was decorated with beach-like white stones, clearly difficult to clean or not very hygienic.
2. Internet connection would not work in the room - there is an internet point at the bar of the hotel.
3. 2.5% compulsory tip will be included in your bill but we doubt it went to staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matterz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.8 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.0 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#60 of 159 in Hoi An
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 159 in Hoi An
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha An Hotel

Address: 6-8 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoi An 051038, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#32 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha An Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the oldest road that is the only vestige from French colonial period, Ha An Hotel is probably a special nostalgic destination not only for antique Faifo people but also for travelers who are wishing to explore the serene beauty of Hoi An. A harmonious blench of exquisite Indochina architecture and sophisticated Europe chic, Ha An Hotel seems to be a separated romance of the bygone era right in the heart of old town where inherently overwhelms of artworks. Two of many specialties in Ha An are the Babylon garden and outdoor swimming pool located right in the premises of the hotel. Unwind yourself with a glass of cocktail at the swimming pool while experience the green space with endless wind and birdsong, Ha An is an exclusive miniature paradise for tourists who are into nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ha An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha An Hoi
Hotel Ha An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing