We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a palace for a margin of the price”
Review of Nhi Nhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Ranked #80 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had this place recommended to us by the place we stayed in Hue, and when we got there our hearts sank - they served us with tea before we even looked at the rooms, and we knew then that for 2 young backpackers it was going to be far outside our price range. Which was disappointing, because it looked SO lovely surrounding a swimming pool. However, we were able to haggle the price down to the very top end of our budget, and were given a ground room floor next to the pool.

Now i've read on here that people on the ground around the pool had problems with mould - we didn't. The bathroom drain smelled a little bit, but we kept the door closed and it wasn't a major issue.

The beds were super comfy, the curtains were nice and heavy so the room was dark, and despite being right next to the pool I never heard a peep!! It was the best quality sleep I had in all of Vietnam. We intended to stay only 2 days, but we loved it and Hoi An in general so much for stayed for 5.

It is only a 5 minute walk to the old city - ask the staff to point out the short-cut over the Japanese Bridge (which you really do NOT need to pay for, no matter what anyone tells you).

The place has a restaurant and will deliver to your room if you're feeling lazy, and the staff are so lovely and friendly. They can direct you anywhere you want to go, organise any tours, provide maps etc... Also, our rooms were cleaned every day. Always a lovely way to come home after a day of exploring.

The hotel has free internet, hires bicycles (a MUST DO in Hoi An because it's so lovely and flat, and there's no traffic in the old city) and they also have the usual laundry facilities.

As I said, it was at the very top end of our very small budget, but we loved it so much we couldn't leave.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobi_jae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 887 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

I booked to stay at Nhi Nhi around August/September mainly because of the reviews saying that it was quieter and the staff were good. Despite booking a long way in advance and requesting quiet rooms at the back of the hotel we were given two of the worst rooms in the hotel. The two rooms were on the ground floor around the pool and smelt like a truly horrible concoction of mould and strong disinfectant/air freshener, used in a vain attempt to mask the mouldy smell. The staff were exceptionally nice and spent some time talking to us before showing us the rooms which made it difficult for me to feel like I could complain but I eventually did and was told that there were no other rooms "until tomorrow".

I have since read this excuse on other reviews and feel now that staff book customers in and try and get at least one night out of them before having to find you another room so I was left feeling a bit duped. I talked to the staff about the room being awful and they said that they do their best to clean it but do not admit that it smells really terrible. My daughter could not stand her room to the extent that she took a really noisy room upstairs at the front of the hotel. As they were unable to find us a room too I asked for a discount and was told that the Manager or owner were not answering the phone! By the morning they had still not answered and when I pressed them they said that she had rung and offered $5 discount. At this point I said that I did not want to stay another night and that I wanted them to tell the owner that it is not okay to expect guests to stay in the ground floor rooms. I also said that I had read about the state of the rooms on trip advisor, after I arrived, and they must know what they are doing putting guests in the rooms. They were apologetic, while not owning up to knowing what they were doing, and I felt for them but they also know what they are doing. Anyway we ended up staying at the Riverside Longlife hotel whic was so lovely and $15 less a night per room! One final thing that annoyed me was the Nhi Nhi airport transfer was $25 and the Riverside was $15 so I felt a bit ripped off again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenstreetpearl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

An unforgettable superb service from Nhi Nhi hotel staff, very customer service focus and yet still friendly. The decorations of the room is also very nice, artistic. Daily fruits are supplied. Can not fault them. Staff is so friendly, not pushing and showed that they cared, not just want to get your money.
During our 3 weeks travel Hong Kong, Viet Nam, we found the service here is the best of all. They even have a swimming pool. The facilities are clean and true to their photos.
Highly recommend if you are looking for a 2-3 stars hotel in Hoi An.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tea008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The Nhi Nhi is a lovely hotel. There is a winding wooden staiway in the lobby going to the upper floors. We were greeted with a glass of fresh juice before being taken to our room. We had a huge triple bed room with french door and shutters that opened onto the courtyard pool. Fabulous staff that was so kind to our 10 year old daughter, always speaking to her be name and genuinely sad to see her go. The breakfast had a nice selection. It was about a 7 minute walk to town centre. The front desk booked us on a bike tour and cooking class,, as well as, a great spa.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

first we were given a room on the first floor the mould and musty smell in the room was unbearable!!! we got moved to the second floor room 208 city view no smell and much cleaner. although the room is noiser its worth it no smell at all. the hotel has a nice size pool, wifi and tv worth the stay just avoid level one rooms its unbearable and surely not good for your health

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lala6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The outstanding things about this hotel for sure are the friendly, helpful staff and excellent service. Look back to what we have been through, it is certainly one of our nice stay during our Vietnam tour. Hotel got what we need and reached our expectation. Excellent choice!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmurphyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The one thing which stands out for this hotel is the friendly and attentive staff who often go out of their way to make your stay a comfortable one despite the large number of guests they have to tend to. Most of them can understand and speak English well, and they are not pushy when introducing tours or other services. I have stayed there twice this year and it has been a relaxing and cosy experience both times.

The hotel is only a five to ten minute walk to the Japanese bridge. A market and numerous eateries/shops are located nearby. It is also close to a church and a large Confucian temple which many tourists miss but are definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zerk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.4 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#54 of 163 in Hoi An
1,221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
1.7 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Aurora Riverside Hotel
Aurora Riverside Hotel
#46 of 163 in Hoi An
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhi Nhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Nhi Hotel

Address: 60 Hung Vuong Street, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $30 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nhi Nhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nhi Nhi Hotel is located near to the Old Quarter and near all major tourist attractions in the area of Hoi An Ancient town. Situated in the old street area, Nhi Nhi Hotel offers affordable, the best accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighborhood. Only few minutes for shopping not only in Hoi An market but also in clothing shop which attracted most of guest And easy to enjoy local food and Vietnamese food also. Nhi Nhi hotel was designed by ancient architecture. And moreover, the rooms are lovely and convenient. There are 24 well equipped guestrooms. Besides, taking a seat at private balcony, guest see a panoramic view of the swimming pool which is beautiful with French technology and blue in colour, cool water is encompassed by row of room like sky well, sunshine streams through the window creates a feeling more comfortable. Here feel what is called relaxation. Fresh flowers placed in beautiful flower vases aid in creating the good ambiance for a romantic stay. You not only feel an ancient architecture but also friendly of the staff. All staff are helpful and ready to extend their service whenever you need their assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nhi Nhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing