We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed with Over-Hyped Hotel”
Review of Nhi Nhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Ranked #44 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unimpressed with Over-Hyped Hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We booked a room at the Nhi Nhi hotel due to the recommendations on TA and were extremely disappointed. Our room has no room. We can barely turn around without bumping into each other. There is no place to put our bags. There is no desk for our computer (no computer in the room but a couple in the lobby). The only place to use the laptop close to a plug-in is sitting on the edge of the bed. The lighting in the room is inadequate for reading. There is no safety deposit box in the room. The double bed is large (perhaps a queen) and comfortable but the quilts don’t have a cover over them and I wonder how frequently they are laundered.

The bathroom is TINY and OLD. When we arrived it was soaking wet EVERYWHERE. Apparently they had sprayed all the walls, door, and fixtures to “clean” them, and then just left everything wet – hence the bath mat was wet too. The first day I asked them to dry the bathroom, which they did, but they used the bath mat and left it soaking wet for us to use. The bath/shower combination leaks so the floor gets wet anyway. On our first day the towels were old, stained, and frayed, but improved after that. The water pressure in the shower is poor. The shower head is at an okay height if you are under five feet tall. The hot water heater is above the shower head, so you can’t even stretch your arm up to wash without hitting it. The lighting in the bathroom is inadequate.

When we arrived we thought we’d grab a quick lunch at the restaurant by the pool, but it took 45 minutes to get a bowl of soup so it wasn’t quick. The shrimp were old and scary. The breakfast bar has several choices of fresh fruit and we appreciated the fresh pineapple juice (most places just have drinks made from crystals). There was no cheese for the bread or for the omelets. A lady will make you eggs to order but be sure to ask for less oil if you don’t want them deep fried. There are no cups, only glasses, for the coffee, which I found awkward and hot. The first morning, we were the only people having breakfast (and possibly the first to arrive) and they washed the floor twice while we were there. Not that pleasant to have a mop running around the floor while you’re eating, plus it made the floor very slippery for us to walk on. It seemed strange.

If you want your room tidied up on the second or third day of your stay you MUST put out the “Please make up room” card or it won’t happen.

The staff is friendly and helpful but rather “clingy” and only a couple of the ladies speak English, although it seems like there are always half a dozen of them around the lobby. We had no internet connection for a day, but they worked hard to re-establish it for us.
They offer tours so we signed up for the My Son bus tour with Camel Travel. That was the only rip-off we have encountered during the three weeks we’ve been in Vietnam. You should avoid them!

In summary: it’s a funky looking hotel with balconies overlooking the pool, with tiny, old, uncomfortable, and disappointing rooms. We paid $38US per night and thought it was far too much for what we got. I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    233
    59
    31
    13
See reviews for
119
359
140
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I can really recomend a stay at Nhi Nhi hotel. Staff are very helpful and kind. Nice and clean rooms, breakfast is ok. Really good value for not so much money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innerskidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed at Nhi Nhi for five nights. My biggest tip is don't book on last minute etc. Book direclty through the hotel. We paid US$30 a night on line but when we arrived they had the prices displayed and it was only US$18 a night. Perhaps email the hotel direct. We still felt $30 was still extremely reasonable. The staff were adorable and so accommodating. Even bought my partner a surprise birthday cake and spoilt him for the day. The breakfast wasn't the greatest but for the price I'm certainly not complaining. Room very clean, fresh fruit every day, balcony overlooking the central swimming pool. The building was very oriental looking & beautiful. The rooms basic but very clean and cool with split system a/c. Bicycles were free from the hotel and rather than walking into the ancient town we'd hop on the bikes every where we went (about a 3 minute bike ride to the japanse bridge). Felt safe bicycling and it was cooler than walking anywhere. The ride to the beach was about half hour (we are not the fittest however) and it was extremely hot so took it easy. Hoi An was one of the best places we visited in Vietnam, would go back for a 2 week long holiday. Whilst your in Vietnam however don't miss out on Halong Bay - we paid $100 for a beautiful overnight boat - very cheap - again much cheaper than the online prices. Only slight downside, if you could call it that, was that there wasn't much room around the pool to laze around for hours if that's what you're looking for but it was good for a quick dip when you got home after a long day. It rates in aussie terms about a 3 start immaculate hotel. If you're semi budget concious and want very clean and friendly it's a winner !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaRood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, South Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

As described in most of the other reviews of this hotel, the staff are really friendly and genuinly interested in you. Dung, Ly & Lien were all good company and very helpful.
They were extra friendly to our children and looked out for them.

We had booked 2 family rooms, for our 2 familes, but I suspect they only have 1 family room, as the other was 2 adjoining rooms. The catch being that the adjoining bit was over the balcony divider! This just added to the quirkiness of the hotel and the kids had a great time jumping the fence. It was convenient to have the extra bathroom and extra space.

We tried to wash and dry our own clothes, however the humidity made this tricky and the $1 per kg laundry service is too good to refuse!

We found the breakfast buffet to have enough of a selection. The do make an effort to not waste food, so don't expect the plates to be refilled until they have been emptied. The banana pancakes and dragon fruit were delicious.

Everywhere is within the town is walking distance.
We hired scooters for US$7 per day and took the kids to the beach. This was a great day and the kids had a ball! Getting amongst the traffic is a hoot!

The kids also used the pool a lot. It was a good size and in good view, so it made it easy to keep an eye on them.

The hotel is surprisingly quiet, considering the noisy road outside. However, if you do get at room at the back, there is a rooster living behind and will wake you up at dawn!

As recommended by a previous review, we went about 20m down the road to Pho 29 and fed 5 people for under 60 000d (about $4 !!). The beef Pho was delicious and filling.

The Nhi Nhi also has wi-fi, as well as internet connected pc's in some rooms and in the foyer.

The Nhi Nhi hotel was a home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and the staff are very cheerful, gave lots of useful advice on tours and where to buy clothes. Hoi An can be visited on foot though we did hire a motorbike to visit marble mountains which was a great experience. The hotel has a swimming pool with all rooms having a balcony overlooking the pool. The breakfast was buffet and was fab and though we were only there 2 nights they gave us breakfast for 3 mornings (had arrived v early in the morning and given a room despite waking them up at 5am and no extra charge).

I dont really want to be negative but on the first night both me and my wife were scratching all over and on the second night the sheets had large yellow stains though these were changed quickly. Also the shower had hot water but came out v slowly.

The location was fine, being a 10minute walk from the old town and was still a great experience despite the above.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

What can we say.....the lovely ladies at this fantastic hotel could not do enough for us from the minute we contacted them to say we were coming to stay.
Numerous emails from them confirming our details in the weeks before our visit gave us a sense of comfort in knowing everything was in safe hands, and as expected, the transfer was waiting for us at the airport to whisk us down to Nhi Nhi.
On entering the foyer for the first time, we were ushered to a sofa and given cool drinks and a cold towel - something we've only experienced in much dearer accommodation in our past travels. All the staff were there to greet us, and we felt so very welcomed - their wonderful, caring attitude towards us and other guests has remained a highlight of our trip.
Our room at Nhi Nhi was lovely - large enough for the two of us, with TV, free in-room internet, a balcony overlooking the swimming pool, and a shower bath in the ensuite.
I had a quick look inside the larger rooms (one double, two single beds) and they looked very nice too.
We had three nights/four days in Hoi An, and it was an absolute highlight. Every morning, we started with the hotels gratis breakfast - numerous options were on the menu. My wife highly recommends the banana pancakes!!
The walk into town is pleasant and interesting - perhaps ten minutes if you dawdle in the shops on the way. The staff are only too happy to organise any trip or excursion for you, and are able to recommend tailors from the 404 currently operating in Hoi An - it is a clothes shoppers paradise!!
We used Nhi Nhi's laundry service and it was fast , thorough and cheap.
The hotel also rents bikes - something we will keep in mind for next time as the city is fairly easy to navigate around, and has far less traffic than other Vietnamese locations. We walked to the beach one day too - this is a 5 km stroll which can be a little taxing in the heat...the 70,000d ride back in the cab was a relief!!
The hotel was clean, quiet, located in a very interesting little street just outside of the old town, and provided us with what we believe was superb value for money.
But as previously mentioned, the icing on the cake was the staff - we will be visiting again in the near future and will not consider any other hotel.
We wish the Nhi Nhi and it's staff all the best, and can't wait to see them again.
GD

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed longer than we planned as the staff and quiet, quality hotel was so inviting. We had a balcony room which was large enough for two with all the comforts needed. The room was very clean and staff friendly, many speak english well. The pool was always clean,cool and refreshing. They offer a nice buffet breakfast, always willing to accomodate all tastes. Reception staff are the happiest we have encountered in Vietnam and will give you sound adviseon anything you require. A pleasure to stay here. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MermaidOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#42 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.4 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#49 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#68 of 144 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nhi Nhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhi Nhi Hotel

Property: Nhi Nhi Hotel
Address: 60 Hung Vuong Street, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nhi Nhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nhi Nhi Hotel is located near to the Old Quarter and near all major tourist attractions in the area of Hoi An Ancient town. Situated in the old street area, Nhi Nhi Hotel offers affordable, the best accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighborhood. Only few minutes for shopping not only in Hoi An market but also in clothing shop which attracted most of guest And easy to enjoy local food and Vietnamese food also. Nhi Nhi hotel was designed by ancient architecture. And moreover, the rooms are lovely and convenient. There are 24 well equipped guestrooms. Besides, taking a seat at private balcony, guest see a panoramic view of the swimming pool which is beautiful with French technology and blue in colour, cool water is encompassed by row of room like sky well, sunshine streams through the window creates a feeling more comfortable. Here feel what is called relaxation. Fresh flowers placed in beautiful flower vases aid in creating the good ambiance for a romantic stay. You not only feel an ancient architecture but also friendly of the staff. All staff are helpful and ready to extend their service whenever you need their assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nhi Nhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing