We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel with incredible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

Most likely one of our best stays in Vietnam. The double rooms are spacious, squeaky clean and elegantly decorated in a spa-like fashion. The breakfast and the terrace are great, the personel discrete and attentive. The hotel is situated in a quiet street about 5 minutes' walk from the pedestrian streets and away from the tourist hustle and bustle.

But here is what sets it really apart : upon arriving at the hotel early in the morning, I discovered that I had lost my pouch containing passport and mobile phone (a Nokia E71, not something you're happy to lose). Since my vietnamese is basic, I asked the reception to help me out and they called all over the place, even going so far as to call our pension in Hue to get the name of the bus company which potentially had my pouch. They dispatched their hotel clerc to drive me all around town looking for the bus. To make a long story short, we did find the bus and the pouch ... minus the phone. Well, 12 hours later the phone had reappeared at the hotel. I gather the reception made a huge scandal. And no, there was no extra charge for the service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnhTuParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    179
    78
    43
    42
See reviews for
89
363
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

I did a lot of reading reviews and booked at another property for the first 2 nights in Hoi An . The first property we stayed at was not really what we were looking for so we decided to look around for somewhere else for our last 2 nights.

We found this hotel 2 doors up from our previous accommodation . It was great value at US$47 per night with full breakfast .

We had a high room overlooking the field at the back of the Hotel so it was nice and quiet . I think all rooms in any of the hotels that face the street may be a bit noisy .

The room was nice and cool and very nicely decorated . Compact but had everything we needed . Good aircon , shower and a wooden tub/bath in the bedroom near the window overlooking the field . Tea/coffee/kettle - which our previous place did not have . Bar fridge/cable TV .

Wireless Internet which Zoom ( one of the staff ) helped me at great length to get working . More a problem with my computer then their internet .

A very small verandah in the room , 1.5m x 1m but just enough to squeeze 2 chairs and a small table ....it was fine .

The breakfast was great . Good selection of whatever you wanted with beautiful brewed individual cups of coffee . Nice fruit and juice and made to order omlettes and lots of other Vietnamiese dishes we had not had before . All served near the undercover pool area looking over the field .

It was a great idea to have the pool bult under the building as it keeps it cool . There is a nice deck with some good deck chairs and tables with towels for the pool .

One thing we really noticed about this place was how friendly everyone was . Everytime you went to the pool or breakfast , all the guests were so open and friendly to each other and were very inclusive to everyone . Each had their travel story . It had that sort of feelng to the place . You could keep to yourself or join in and mingle with others . The owners mingled at breakfast and chatted to everyone which was nice .

It is in a good position and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone if you are able to book a room at a good price . I believe the prices do change . We found so many people just arrived in town and went around and got the best price on the day .

Booking in advance on the internet is a great idea so that you know you have secured your room at the hotel you want but is always more expensive then just turning up at the hotel on the day .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrisbaneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

This is a very good hotel in Hoi An. The breakfast buffet is great, the staff is really helpful and the rooms are clean and decorated nice. We paid 42 dollars for a superior room, which is worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anoniemereiziger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at Thien Thanh for 3 nights in August and were very happy. I would describe the hotel as a large wooden house, set on a water spinach field. The backyard is picturesque and serene and the hotel restaurant food is available throughout the day, which is a great option because it's too hot midday to walk around. The room was about a 3 star level- nice dark wood and clean, but the linens were mediocre and the bathroom was nothing special. The handheld shower was disappointing. Also annoying is that you have to have your key in the power to have the ac on so it's not possible to come back to a cold room, but I think that's part of like in Asia and better for the environment anyway. Breakfast was a hilight- delicious fresh banana pancakes, eggs, etc. The public areas are of course not air conditioned so outside the room it was very hot, all the time. The hotel staff are lovely and accomodating. The best part of the hotel is a beautifully done pool, which is located in a shady part of the house and is the perfect size and temperature for cooling off midday. Towels are readily provided poolside and as a whole the hotel felt like we were spending the day at the beautiful home of a wealthy friend- intimate and very pleasurable. I think it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedjamaicany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

While not in the heart of the old town Hoi An (which is about a 5 minute walk) this hotel was great and one of our favorites in Vietnam. What made this place so special for us was the friendliness of the staff. We had a great room overlooking fields with fantastic A/C and everyone went out of their way to help us.

The outdoor breakfast was superb and great way to start the day (try the Vietnamese coffee to wake you up!). Our favorite afternoon activity was the pool! On a hot day there's nothing like a cool refreshing swim, the only thing missing was a pool bar with cocktails.

Our booking was all handled via email and everything was spot on. The only issues I can think of was the shower head being too low (I had to kneel to wash my hair!) and the in-room wireless was flakey (as it is everywhere in Vietnam!), but there are 4 computers for guest use in the lobby area.

Overall we loved this place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotInTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

we stayed here for four days in one of the larger rooms overlooking a field. we arrived just before midday and we were invited to have lunch with the staff which was a lovely gesture. the food was traditional and it was a great experience. the room was comfortable and the staff were great - very friendly. Breakfast was a highlight. It was a bit pricey for $50 but overall we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We paid USD45 for a superior room. We got off to a bad start at this hotel because although we confirmed our room via email, we were told when we got there that we would need 2 rooms (rather than 1) and then we were told we would have to pay extra for the baby cot (when it was supposed to be free). We eventually worked it out by referring to the chain of emails but it set a bad tone for the stay. Of all our hotels across Vietnam this was our least favourite room, due to the small size of both the room and the beds. The shower water was cold for 2 days, the room was not well serviced (eg tea, coffee etc) but things were brought quickly on request. There was no safe in the room. There is no lift in the hotel. The staff did not go out of their way to be friendly or helpful.
The location is slightly out of the way - not in the heart of the old town, which made for a hot walk into town, though taxis could be ordered on request. The pool was refreshing on a hot afternoon. The breakfasts were basic but nice. The hotel should have been quiet due to the location but everything could be heard because one of the windows between the room and the atrium didn't have glass. Overall, if our booking had been honoured from the start this hotel would have been just OK for the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereisthegreensheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#48 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#103 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#44 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#113 of 141 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel

Property: Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street | Hoi An Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Hoi An
Hotel Thien Thanh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing