We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and dirty.”
Review of Indochine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indochine Hotel
Ranked #122 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old and dirty.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The place *smells* old. Imagine your grandma's wardrobe; that smell of mouldy wood and clothes. That's this place. The furniture's wood is almost rotten. The bedclothes are stinky old, and stinky dirty. It gets unpleasant.

Rooms: Uninviting. 1960's mouldy rooms.

Service: I had issues with them, as they tried to put me in the staff's room (no window, and really not livable) for 60 dollars, they had me waiting for almost one hour, and still didn't facilitate a solution. The Hotel usually attends groups and are quite careless about individuals. Breakfast staff was also quite unfriendly.

Location: In the middle of the road from Hoi An City and the Beach. An scooter or bicyle is a must.

Breakfast: Poor cheap vietnamese breakfast, poorly attended by staff, caring more than you eat little and leave soon, that to attend to you.

Value: It is considerably expensive for what they provide. It is a backpacker's standard, for a middle-budget price. There are milliards of other better and cheaper places in Hoi An.

It is my impression that they are milking this place as long as it lasts without spending a dime in maintenance or renovation, until they will put it down and build some kind of high end resort. But at this moment, this hotel does not facilitate any kind of comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    46
    20
    23
See reviews for
37
85
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights, found it last minute on agoda on the day we arrived in Hoi An.
It's a little bit far from town - we hired a motorbike for 24hours to get around, but we preferred being away from the town so we could get some quiet and be away from all the sellers hassling us for money and to visit "their uncle's tailor shop"
It is quite old and run down, the shower was leaking and didn't have a lot of pressure, but it was very big and spacious, room was nice and quiet, Air con worked well, so can't really complain.
Nice room for breakfast, top floor with amazing view of rice paddies, however no air con so got a bit hot while eating. They did have fans though.
The best part was the pool - huge and beautiful, this place would have been amazing 20 years ago. There is a bar next to the pool, make sure you ask if you want drinks as there is no permanent staff member manning the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed there 2 times for 2011 and 2012.
It was very nice time with very helpful staff.
I and my friend stay and enjoy with cool view, easy going to the beach.
he staff give us to borrowed motorcycle to travel around Hoi An.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaPhuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I recently stayed at this Hotel on a Golfing Holiday in Vietnam. Our group stayed for 9 nights and we found all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate any request we had and it was lovely to be greeted by warm smiles whenever we returned to the Hotel. The Hotel is located within walking distance of the beach area in Hoi An and a short taxi ride (less than $4 Aus) into the old town. Dont expect 5 Star in terms of all facilities, but for the price, location and friendliness, it was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed three nights here and enjoyed our stay. As everywhere so far in Vietnam, the staff are friendly and attentive. This is a fairly large hotel catering to groups, so offers a broad range of breakfast options at their buffet in a spacious rooftop setting. The views are enjoyable, but even with all the windows open, it can get a little warm.

Our room was a good size, but lacked an in-room safe. Constantly filling out the paperwork to secure valuables in the hotel safe was a bit of a nuisance. Our computer equipment was never easily accessible. Wifi was unreliable in the rooms, but generally good in the lobby, and on the top floor. Also disappointed with the shower - the head was badly clogged and the little water that did escape sprayed in every direction. Like most hotels in this country, they do not provide a back-up roll of toilet paper, so one must be sought if needed.

Facilities like the large pool and lobby computers were welcome and used regularly. The downtown shuttle is free and runs every three hours with a well air-conditioned van. Beach shops are a five minute walk away, another five gets you to the beach itself. Lots of inexpensive restaurants to choose

One annoying point is that the hotel charges 3.5% surcharge on credit card payments. Prior experiences in Vietnam, including another smaller hotel in Hoi An, ranged from 2.5% to 3%. I understand they are trying to cover the bank processing fees, but I doubt their fees are higher than anywhere else, and if so, tie to change banks. Have to suspect skimming.

This was an acceptable property for the price and I did not experience many of the complaints mentioned by other reviewers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasagadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is really old. the rooms are spacious but durty, full of bugs everywhere. the staff is ok but not really proffessional.
I chose this hotel for the swimmingpool, but the water was all green, so i couldnt use it during my stay, really annoying. The breakfast is a joke, old food.
So just avoid this hotel, in the middle of nowhere, no charm at all, and durty rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Indochine Hotel is disappointing. Its initial appearance (large with an old worldly charm and neo classical features) was let down by sub-standard bathroom, poorly trained staff (potentially un-trustworthy) and a bizarre approach to running a restaurant/room service that rivals Faulty Towers (lack of standards, many menu items often ‘sold out’, even though it’s virtually always empty). The grounds are spacious, and the river location is actually stunning (but pool and bar seem sadly neglected). In terms of the rooms (yes very spacious and good enough for the star rating) but If there’s one thing that I can’t stand it’s a shower head that barely works (literally) and no use of mattress protectors. Even a hostel/roadside motel should ensure these two things are provided. The worst experience though was at checkout when the desk lady tried to add an extra 500,000 dong charge for absolutely nothing. I had to carefully check the statement and draw it to her attention before she giggled and apologised for her ‘mistake’. The hotel clearly markets to large tour groups that arrive on buses and obviously have no choice of where they stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkabout2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea and Sand Hotel
Sea and Sand Hotel
#132 of 152 in Hoi An
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hoi An
The Villa Hoi An
#114 of 152 in Hoi An
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#64 of 152 in Hoi An
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#84 of 152 in Hoi An
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agribank Hoi An Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indochine Hotel

Property: Indochine Hotel
Address: 87 Cua Dai St | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Indochine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoi An Indochine Hotel standards of Three-Star international with 62 Rooms with modern facilities, 2 restaurants, a panorama bar at the fifth floor with over 300 seats for banquet and offering free organ music for over 60 guests, buffet breakfast, welcome drinks, free bicycle for riding around Hoi An Ancient town, ADSL internet, six cars offering professional drivers, free shuttle bus to Center and return, enthusiastic and experienced guide, well trained staff, good services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indochine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indochine Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing