We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An
Ranked #90 of 122 Hotels in Hoi An
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Overall up. The rooms are lovely, super clean, comfy beds, and the shower was amazing.
The pool too was fantastic and a great way to start the day.
The breakfast was adequate but not amazing, still if like me you're not fussy then it's fine for free.
The wifi was ok in our room however our friends upstairs couldn't connect.
On arrival the girl who checked us in was really friendly and welcoming and always helpful, there was another girl there sometimes who wasn't quite as friendly but personally I didn't really care.
The concierge guys were really helpful and nice, they helped us hire the hotels bikes.
In terms of location the distance to town didn't bother us at all, it took about 15 minutes to walk into the heart if the old town but there is always the shuttle bus (didn't use it)
On checkout we were offered a lift to denang for 20% cheaper than the taxi we arrived in and had a lovely fellah turn up 10 minutes later in his 4x4. Paid up front at the desk and had no hassles whatsoever.
Well worth a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joner85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    183
    87
    38
    20
See reviews for
68
242
38
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

very nice hotel, but the best thing about the place is the staff, especially a receptionist called Huong, she is very funny and makes it worth coming here! breakfast not too great but head into town for good food, good times all round

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Altoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

On arrival we were shown to our pre-booked room, which backed onto the reception area and was very dark and small. We upgraded to a MUCH bigger room, with a MUCH bigger bathroom and big windows with plenty of light for US$10 extra a night.... well worth it! Breakfast was pretty average. Room was clean and well serviced. Hourly shuttle into town in a dilapidated van, but we sometimes walked (10-15min walk). We hired a bike each for US$2 a day and rode out to Cua Dai beach - recommend that! Great pool, quiet hotel, free computer use. We enjoyed staying here, good value, but would probably stay closer to the Old Quarter next time.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and go for a bigger room. Electric jug, but no tea/coffee supplied in rooms, so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_Aotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Big spacious rooms, clean and well equipped, big bathroom, wifi in some rooms but lobby otherwise. Lovely looking pool! Breakfast has a good choice, pastry, eggs to order, bread and fruit. Not too much of a walk to the main area and some restaurants nearby that are high on TA.

Room Tip: No safe in room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arriving just on dinner time, we checked into two rooms....not happy. Not very clean, exposed wires out of wall, airconditoner didn't work....and then the dinner was not very nice at all. On ground floor and too noisy. Complained (the only time we did so in Vietnam) and were upgraded the following day to adjoining rooms which was not as bad but still the worst accommodation we stayed at in Vietnam. It was a shame but other aspects of Hoi An were great...especially the tailors and shoe makers. Would never stay at that hotel again, nor recommend it.

Room Tip: Dont stay there.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizzlyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was nice, we had room 103, close to the reception and in the morning we woke up early because of all the people coming by our room. The breakfast is ok, not very luxery, but not bad at all! The room was clean, but when we opend a drawer of the desk, there was a earplug in it. The beds were quite hard. The hotel has a very nice swimmingpool! That really is a plus with the hot weather.
Hoi An ancient town is about 15 minutes walk, but there is a shuttle service every hour.
We also had a suit made at the store of the sisters manager. That was really nice done, ready in 24 hours and good service.

Room Tip: Maybe not take room 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterview heights
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel overall was good however it's showing signs of wear and tear, for example, the pool was clean however there were only a limited number of seats and sunbeds, those that were there were damaged. The room we were initially given had the bathroom door hanging off. Otherwise the hotel was OK
The shuttle bus into town was a bonus and gave us the opportunity the explore during the day and evening. Loads of good value places to eat and people watch.
The nearby beach is worth a visit but going by cycle is really for the young!
This was a budget hotel so you get what you pay for, we paid $20 a night so no real complaints.

Room Tip: We looked at 3 rooms and all were fine, it is a compact complex so the pool, breakfast room and lunc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Salute Hotel & Villa
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
#59 of 122 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#66 of 122 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#84 of 122 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Long Life Hotel
Hoi An Long Life Hotel
#89 of 122 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hai Au Hotel
Hai Au Hotel
#39 of 122 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An

Property: Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An
Address: 224 Ly Thai To Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 122 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An is a 3 star hotel . Located just minutes away from the China Beach coast and within walking distance of the world-renowned heritage town center of Hoi An, the Southern Hotel (known as Phuong Nam in Vietnamese) offers guests warm hospitality and well-appointed facilities in a relaxed atmosphere. The Tra Que organic vegetable village and Japanese trader tombs are just steps from the hotel. We take pride in our ability to fulfill your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Hotel & Villa Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Hotel And Villa Hoi An
Southern Hotel Hoi An
Southern Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing