We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #63 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Besides the location there isn't too much to like about this place. We were on the bottom level which was a weird set up right in front of the pool, staff were a little awkward and not overly helpful or friendly. Breakfast was below average..we've had much better stays in Vietnam for less money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    235
    86
    41
    19
See reviews for
64
277
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We tried to book in to Hotel 1 but they were full so we managed to get a "basement " room at Van 2 for $20 a night (the top price we were willing to pay) and we were really happy we did. The breakfast was sensational, free shuttle bus to Van 1 was a bonus and the room and general public areas were sooo clean. Another bonus was the full bath. The room had a king sized bed and another single bed so we had plenty of space.
On the slightly negative side, the room didn't have good ventilation although there were windows above ground level and some power points were a bit dodgy.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.over our 3 night stay.
We'd definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

To be honest I didn't like Hoi an that much, but Thanh Van 2 makes me wanna go back.
4 nights for $70 with a big air-con double room, ensuite, really nice breakfast buffet and a lovely pool. Also they have free bike hire so we used that to get around the town!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharpShooterENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thanh Van Hotel was the first hotel we checked after arriving in Hanoi and didn't bother checking any others.
We got a triple room ($30 night) on the ground floor, right in front of the pool.
It was clean with a buffet breakfast included. The staff, especially Ms Ha, were extremely friendly.
I did discover not all rooms were the same and the cheaper ones have bad aircons and get really hot during the day, so you do need to check before deciding to stay.
Out the front, they have bike rental for $1 a day but you need to haggle to get the full day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We had originally booked for 3 nights at Thanh Van Hotel and ended staying for an extra 5! They were so friendly, welcoming us with big smiles and great service. The room we stayed in was very clean and the complimentary water bottles were appreciated. We had a great balcony overlooking the indoor pool (which was incredibly refreshing after long walks around the old town) and big windows to let the light in. We were so pleased to have a bathtub with a shower so we didn't have water everywhere in the bathroom (its the small things!) the breakfast spread was amazing, especially the fresh fruit and coffee with fresh milk. The hotel is a stones throw from the old town, which is very handy and there's a couple of nice and cheap little restaurants across the street. The girls are more than happy to help with booking tours or transport for the next part of your journey. We took their advice (and 20% discount) and went to Thanh Van Cloth Shop for our tailored clothing which was a great experience (see review!) We even got a little lantern as a gift when we left! Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenely1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would come back here for sure! Nicest and funiest staff we had during our Vietnam trip. Rooms clean and big, swimming pool available and great buffet breakfast. Very close to town centre and even has a good tailor shop next to it where you can make clothes (with discount when you stay at the hotel). Possibility to rent bikes and bicycles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_rene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location as it is perfect for walking around the town. The room was ok, but expensive considering the window had a brick wall outside it. They also used strip lighting in the rooms which was very harsh. The beds were comfortable and the room not to noisy, we were at the back of the hotel and I can imagine the front was very noisy. Bathroom was a good size but hot water did not last long. Breakfast was good if you got there early enough but after about 8am some items had run out and we found the coffee to be cold. The staff were pushy on arrival about us using their services for taxis / onward travel etc. We made it clear we were not interested and they seemed ok after the first day. I would avoid booking anything through them as they massively inflate prices. Would I return? Probably not...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzie_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#49 of 142 in Hoi An
1,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#40 of 142 in Hoi An
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#72 of 142 in Hoi An
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.4 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#45 of 142 in Hoi An
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing